#Bookaday 4 Least favourite book by a favourite writer

The Insufferable Gaucho

Well it isn’t his best book as many of you know from following my blog .I have reviewed a number of books by Roberto Bolano four so far on the blog and I had also read 2666 and Savage detectives just about the time I started blogging (five years later this month ) .Now don’t get me wrong The Insufferable Gaucho isn’t a bad book it has all the Traits of Bolano ,Poets struggling ,Borges inspired prose it just didn’t  bring anything new to the Bolano Cannon to me ,this is also the last but two book from him due in english with A little Lumpen Novelita and Diorama due out (Hope this is it ,I hate it when they drag the barrel of a writers past to out out every piece ever written .)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amateur Reader (Tom)
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 03:25:57

    I was wondering if the continued Bolaño boom was getting to the scraps. No, I was assuming that to be the case. So I am not surprised.

    The worst book by a major writer I have ever come across is William Faulkner’s A Fable, a Christ parable set in the French trenches during WWI. A catastrophe.

    Reply

  2. BookerTalk
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 07:06:45

    Sounds like this is one that has run well beyond its sell by date. Hearing Georges Simenon wrote over 100 Inspector Maigret novels raised my eyebrows – they can’t all of been up to standard can they? I don’t read that many books by the same author so don’t tend to run into the problem much.

    Reply

  3. whisperinggums
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 09:03:25

    Hmm … I’ve been wracking my brain for my least favourite book by a favourite writer – and time is running out! This is a good’s

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
