Comfort reading what do you do ?

20140409-113423.jpg
Well I’ve been off work sick the last few days hence no iffp shortlist and no reviews .I just can’t face writing a long post at moment .Much is same with books I was reading a Clarice Lispector my darling Amanda had brought me for my birthday but am struggling to find the concentration to get fully into it so luckily I was sent Maigret four and five by someone at penguin and have started number four as it’s not very taxing to read and is like a comfy slipper after read the first three in the series already this year .I tend to do this when not well or if going to hospital with Amanda I always read a Waugh book as his gentle at times satire lifts my mood .Do you have any such habits when you are feeling off colour ?

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andreas Moser
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 10:45:32

    When I am very ill and confined to the bed, I like to read Calvin & Hobbes or Tintin.

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 10:57:23

    Trollope, always Trollope😉

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 11:10:30

    Definitely crime fiction – Christie, Sayers or Maigret will always do the trick!

    Reply

  4. MarinaSofia
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 11:35:44

    Christie, Maigret, Tintin or Asterix are always a good bet. PG Wodehouse perhaps?

    Reply

  5. Travellin' Penguin
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 12:05:34

    Hot cup of tea or coffee, chocolate, pyjamas, clean bedding and Michael Connolly or
    some other crime book. Gosh- I wish I was sick. Sounds nice. Get better soon.

    Reply

  6. Madame Vauquer
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 13:06:06

    I like the light mysteries, preferably those with a lot of comedy. Janet Evanovich and Kinky Friedman always perk me up.

    Reply

  7. Richard
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 13:58:20

    Andrea Camilleri’s mystery stories of Sicily and the gruff Inspector Montalbano make their way to my reading table during sicknesses or if I ever just need a mental holiday. Humorous, humane, and always full of descriptions of good food and a gorgeous locale.

    Reply

  8. Martha
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 14:36:20

    Classic short stories–often ones that I’ve read before. O Henry, Poe, Trollope, and Cheever are good for this. Also light essays. Magazines with mixed content, Short attention span stuff.

    Reply

  9. Guy Savage
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 14:46:17

    Crime and/or Anthony Trollope

    Reply

  10. jacquiwine
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 16:17:18

    I hope you feel better soon, Stu.

    Definitely something fairly light and not too taxing – the Maigret or Montalbano mysteries are good choices. I often crave something noirish if I’m feeling low or as break following a run of ‘heavy’ stuff.

    Reply

  11. Max Cairnduff
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 17:53:25

    Crime or SF as a rule. Usually retro SF – I enjoy some of the contemporary stuff but only where it’s challenging or doing something new, which by definition isn’t comfort reading.

    Hope you feel better soon Stu.

    Reply

  12. Caroline
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 07:19:16

    I read all sorts. Children’s books if I’m really down – crime when I’m still able to peep halfway out of the water . . .
    I liked the comfy slipper analogy.
    Get well soon.

    Reply

  13. Brian Joseph
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 08:34:23

    Sorry to hear that you are not well.

    The problem for me is that I never like to interrupt what I am reading due to my physical or mental trials. Thus i do not usually vary up my reading. When I think about I realize that it is my music listening that changes.

    Reply

  14. Seamus Duggan
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 19:46:45

    When I’m sick in bed I usually take the opportunity to read something that requires more concentration as it is one of the only times I get time and space!

    Reply

  15. BookerTalk
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 20:27:37

    Jane Austen usually works well for me.

    Reply

  16. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 23:44:52

    Stu,
    Do I ever indulge in comfort reading when I’m feeling terrible for whatever reason!
    I go for easy reads first and foremost. No density and no grimness. I like books that I can gobble up, in the following genres:
    Easy reads in Mystery ( often by American writers)
    Gothic suspense
    Historical novels with women as the main characters
    Upbeat memoir
    Upbeat political or celebrity memoir or biography
    There it is! A cleansing palate.
    Judith

    Reply

  17. whisperinggums
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 13:39:51

    It depends … on how off colour, and what I’ve been reading … but if what I’m reading isn’t what I feel like it would most likely be Jane Austen (of course) or short stories because they work well when your concentration span is short.

    Reply

  18. Emma
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 15:37:44

    I’m sorry to hear you’re unwell. I hope you feel better now.

    Comfort read? Jane Austen, crime fiction and writers I know I always like (Philippe Djian for example)
    Comfort read or easy & good reads are important. That’s why I have a Beach & Public Transport category on the blog. It’s for good books that don’t demand a lot of concentration.

    Emma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
