Women in translation

I had initially mention doing a best of 2013 ,but have since decide to bring ten female writers in translation I have enjoyed on the blog .I like many others would love to see a few more female writers translated ,I probably do have a slight bias of reading male writers ,but have in recent times tried to add a few more female writers in translation to my reading .As it international women’s day it seem a great time to share some of my favourite female writers and there books from around the world .I will keep trying to add female writers in translation to the blog .

sidewalksValeria Luiselli is a Mexican writer I have reviewed two of her books on the blog .Sidewalks and Faces in the crowd .Sidewalks is a series of essays mainly about cites and walking .Faces in a crowd set in new york is a novel about a women an old poet and writing a wonderful book .Valeria is my favourite female writer in translation .

stones in a landslideIts hard to believe this was one of the first books from Peirene and it is one I still think of a lot ,stones in a landslide is a story of Conxa her life in the small villages of the pyrenees .

The rest is silenceNow top chile and Carla Guelfenbein one of the rising stars of Latin American fiction .We follow Tommy a young boy ,whose mother has died ,as he uncovers what really happened to her .

revenge by Yoko OgawaNow Yoko Ogawa writes dark short stories I have reviewed two of her books on the blog Revenge and diving pool .I loved revenge its clever series of recurring motifs and other worldliness makes it a stunning collection .

Train-to-Budapest-Maraini-DaciaNow Dacia Maraini is a name that wheneveer the Nobel prize betting appears ranks high ,she is an Italian writer I have only reviewed train to Budapest on the blog .But have three more I need to get to over the next year or so including Silent duchess her best known book .

summer bookNow I was a later comer to Tove Jansson I had read a moomin book as a kid but it wasn’t til I started Blogging I discovered her adult books .She wrote two books summer and winter book about her life on a small island both are gems .

hunger angelNow the German writer  Herta Muller has won the Nobel prize and is another of my favourite female writers ,I have reviewed Nadirs ,the passport  and her most recent book The hunger angel .Her books look over the dark past of communism and her use of language is very unique .

Until-Thy-Wrath-Be-PastAsa Larsson is one of the best Nordic crime writers I have review her book Until thy wrath be past one of the series she has written about Rebecca Martinsson .

trieste dasa drndicDasa Drndic book was shortlist for the IFFP last year it is the story of a women born under the lebensborn programm of Nazi regime ,but also the history of the Italian Jews during the war a list of every Jew from Italy that died is a strong reminder of what happened .

ekaterinfrontcover_50b7770928f02I ve lastly picked Marija Knezevic a Serbian writer for her book Ekaterini follows the history of the Balkans but also what it was to be a women during those times .

So there is ten female writers in translation ,I could added lots more maybe if you could suggest some ? that would be great .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. june seghni (@ummlilia)
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 13:15:03

    I enjoy reading translated works from the arab world. I follow a blog which has some nice suggestions here;- http://arablit.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/the-year-of-reading-arab-women/

    Reply

  2. Marie
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 13:17:48

    This is a great list, and some new discoveries for my wishlist. I’m especially interested in reading something by Dacia Maraini and Herta Muller. I am embarrassed to say that the problem I sometimes have with reading women in translation is that, often being unfamiliar with their names, I have assumed that they are men! Asa Larsson, for example – until I read this post I thought that was a man. Saying that, I thought Jo Nesbo was a woman for ages, so I guess it works both ways.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Mar 08, 2014 @ 14:42:58

      Yes it is hard to tell didn’t help with connection on cover saying the new Steig Larsson as we all knew he was a male look forward to your thoughts on Maraini and muller

      Reply

  3. naomifrisby
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 13:43:06

    Great post, Stu. I’ve added some more titles to my wishlist.

    Reply

  4. Brian Joseph
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 14:14:26

    Great idea for a list Stu.

    I really want to read several of these books myself.

    Sidewalks in particular, sounds so very creative.

    Reply

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 16:02:11

    Well, if you want Russians, there’s Ludmilla Petrushevskaya or Tatyana Tolstaya!

    Reply

  6. Lisa Hill
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 22:56:32

    I really enjoyed this post, and as usual Stu, I have added *more* titles to my wishlist!
    I have a few authors to contribute: I won’t add the links to my blog or this comment will go straight into your spambox, but you can find them all if you click the Translations category on my blog. I don’t recommend all of them, but you’ll see that if you read my reviews. I’ve asterisked the ones I really liked.
    *Elena Ferrente, Italian (My Brilliant Friend, The Story of a New Name)
    *Maryam Sachs, French/Iran (The Passenger)
    Ai Mi, China (Under the Hawthorn Tree)
    Elif Shafak, Turkey (Honour)
    **Ludmila Ultiskaya, Russia (Daniel Stein Interpreter; The Funeral Party)
    Hiromi Kawakani, Japan (The Briefcase)
    Ida Jessen Iceland (The Children)
    Hella Hasse, Netherlands (The Tea Lords)
    Judith Hermann, Germany (Alice)
    Banana Yoshimoto, Japan, (The Lake)
    Kyung-Sook Shin, Korea (Please Look after Mother) (I did not like this at all, soppy, sentimental rubbish which is the kind of thing that gives women’s writing a bad name, but it won major prizes so I feel I have to include it here)
    Adania Shibli, Palestine, (Touch)
    Elfrieda Jelenik, Austria (The Piano Teacher) (Nobel Prize winner)
    **Johanna Adorjan, German, (An Exclusive Love)
    *Irene Nemirovsky, French (All Our Worldly Goods, Suite Francaise)
    Cheers, Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
