Shadow IFFP 2014 translation Thursday

20140123-162911.jpg
Well it’s that time of year we are heading in over a month to the 2014 independent foreign fiction longlist coming out .I’ve spoken on twitter about doing the shadow iffp and lots people seem keen and so I decide to chair it again for a third year so anyone interest mention in comments or twitter we will sort out who is doing what I want try and have people read most books if possible this year and there we have a question what do you think will make the longlist ? Krall ,Marias ,Knausgaard ,Luiselli or ? I feel it’s been a quiet year than 2013 for iffp but lots of good books out there and I always find a couple of books I’ve missed out on .So if you want join the shadow team and chat translation come on !!!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jacquiwine
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 18:50:40

    Hi Stu, Just to confirm, I’d love to join in with the IFFP shadow group, so please count me in. I’m interested to see which books make the cut – ‘The Infatuations’ must be in with a good shout and I loved ‘The Parrots’ by Filippo Bologna.

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 20:53:43

    I’m in, of course🙂

    This is a short list I posted on the Mookse forum a few days ago:

    Strange Weather in Tokyo – Hiromi Kawakami
    The Mussel Feast – Birgit Vanderbeke
    The Infatuations – Javier Marías
    70% Acrylic 30% Wool – Viola Di Grado
    The Sorrow of Angels – Jón Kalman Stefánsson
    A Man in Love – Karl Ove Knausgaard
    The Story of a New Name – Elena Ferrante
    Brief Loves that Live Forever – Andreï Makine

    Just a few ideas🙂

    Reply

  3. Messy Tony
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 01:29:39

    And myself, will do as many as possible:
    “My Struggle Book 2 (A Man in Love)” – Karl Ove Knausgaard is one that surely makes the list. I haven’t read any of the ones above, of the ones I did like this year “The Missing Year of Juan Salvatierra” – Pedro Mairal, “All Dogs Are Blue” – Rodrigo De Souza Leao, “A Handful of Sand” – Marinko Koscec and “The Hunger Angel” – Herta Muller (that may be a 2012 one though) are all decent reads.

    Reply

  4. parrish lantern
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 22:18:20

    As stated via twitter, will follow with interest this year

    Reply

  5. Bellezza
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 02:47:09

    Stu, I’d love to join in this ‘shadow’. The Detour was one of my top ten for 2013, and I’d never have found it if it hadn’t been for you and Gary. Let me know what I can do to participate, I’m not on Twitter much as my nose is usually in my book or my blog. You can email me at: bellezza.mjs@gmail.com

    xo

    Reply

  6. David Hebblethwaite
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 13:26:05

    Hi Stu – I know I’ve mentioned it on Twitter, but I’ll say again here that I’d love to take part.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
