Its not reinventing the circle hiatus nonsense !

I am one that tends to think in haste and write a post then sit and wonder if I did the right thing so I spent 36 hours away from the net as a test .What I had see in the video I mention  had  upset me , the other day because I have been guilty of all the things seen ion it at some point .But I spent 36 offline over last two days and hated it .The reason I spent 36 years without tech like my laptop was because I just didn’t know what they could bring to my life  which was a world of booklovers and discovering new books .What rather than avoiding all internet ,social media what I needed  is a new way of thinking and that is to use it less at times and more at other times as we work shifts ,I have a lot of time in our house alone which I don’t use to the best ability , usually reading a bit ,but actually I  mainly watch tv mysteries and Sherlock Holmes films (I brought the complete Rathbone collection and I would watch them every day if I could I love them that much even thou I could quite easily quote every film from start to finish ) .So I need to make more use of this time which I haven’t it has become dead time in my life when it could have been used more usefully than I have .Thus freeing time to spend with my darling wife .So I won’t be disappearing I will be here and I will be using my time very different to before and making use of time I haven’t .I will be back to books later today .Also I have a Pushkin press fortnight to run and the Independent foreign fiction prize starts in February ,what a daft time to disappear my favourite event of the year .

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Max Cairnduff
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:24:45

    I’m a Jeremy Brett man myself.

    I watch sf shows – my equivalent to your tv mysteries. Fringe for example, Haven, Supernatural. Stuff like that. They’re not Proust, but man does not live by Proust alone.

    As an alternative, I’ve seen a few people set an evening aside each week (the same evening generally) where they remain offline and that seems to work well for them.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:29:10

      I love Brett as well but not brought the DVD of them yet because I would watch it all time I know I ll be settin aside times when amanda and I are together just for us

      Reply

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:25:07

    Glad you’re still here Stu! I love the Rathbone films too, and it *is* easy to fritter your time away a bit if you aren’t disciplined. Maybe set yourself a kind of timetable – reading times, TV times etc?

    Reply

  3. Lisa Hill
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:26:53

    Just do what feels right for you Stu:)

    Reply

  4. gaskella
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:57:22

    I’m glad you’ve not gone completely Stu.

    Reply

  5. Lizzy Siddal
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 17:16:44

    So Pushkin Press fortnight – back to second half of Feb?

    Reply

  6. heatherdpear
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 17:45:49

    in front of the tv is when I do my knitting and other handwork, specially when they are repeats of a program. i’ll also listen to audio books when at the sewing machine or when prepping for dinner. What ever works for you Stu. We’ve all done the school work and jobs and earned the choice of how to spend our leisure time. A little shake up is good for me occasionally or I find myself spending too much time flitting from one things to another and not really getting anything done.

    Reply

  7. farmlanebooks
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 19:04:17

    Finding a balance is so hard. I often get it wrong, but hopefully you’ll find something that works for you. Good luck!

    Reply

  8. Maryom
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 22:27:37

    Glad to see you’re back – you’ve pointed me in the direction of a lot of interesting books 🙂

    Reply

  9. whisperinggums
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 10:56:36

    You brought a smile to my face Stu with your “what a daft time of year to disappear” comment. Glad you’re just going to tweak what you do and not disappear!

    Reply

  10. Jacqui (@jacquiwine)
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 08:42:56

    I hope you find a balance that works for you, Stu. Glad to hear that you’ll still be around as I love your recommendations and reviews!

    Reply

  11. Kinna
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 10:05:03

    glad you won’t go anywhere. I’m on an at-home holiday and I’ve spent the better part catching up of TV series. Not read much. It’s about balance and not feeling too guilty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
