hiatus soon tech free

this video has set me thinking and I decide from 18th jan to 18th march my birthday I’m giving up all media I will move my pushkin fortnight back to then .I came late to tech for my first laptop six years ago my first smart phone five years ago and I do wonder if I am to tues to them and to the world they dive me into and only way to see this is too have a long break so from next Saturday I’ll be back in the world of my life for 36 years tech less ,no google ,no checking stats ,no twitter ,no e mails no let’s take pic of this ,no let’s imdb no it will just be good old books reference books and my self oh of course Amanda winston and my family .

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Max Cairnduff
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 21:15:42

    So no blog for three months Stu?

    Seems a bit dramatic, I’d have thought one or two online-free days a week would be more achievable. Full shutdown seems much harder to keep up.

    Good luck anyway!

    Reply

  2. iamamro
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 00:33:04

    Commendable idea, sir.

    I’ve virtually given up on twitter and have deactivated my Facebook. I don’t think anyone will care and maybe I’ll be able to rest a bit. I’ve had a lot of health problems and sadness of the departure of my dear grandmother. So let’s hope 2014 will be good for all of us.

    My best to Amanda and Winston.

    Reply

  3. amanda
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 01:20:54

    I’ve considered partial tech breaks myself, but have yet to commit to anything. It certainly sounds appealing at times. I will miss your posts, but best wishes for your break.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 01:43:55

    I think it’s important to note that the entire video was staged, but I think it’s making an important point, and goodness knows, I’ve seen plenty of people doing exactly what those actors are doing: my pet hate is young mothers gabbling away on their phones while the kid in the pram is completely ignored for 10-20 minutes at a time. My mother gave me one piece of advice about raising my child and that was that they need to believe for a very long time that they are the most important person in your life. Well not only are those kids bereft of that comfort, but they are also growing up to be language deprived – the research proves it and we’re already seeing the consequences in schools.
    But…
    I think that we have created a community of friends here as well as bloggers, and while all of us take a break every now and again, I think that blogging the books we read once or twice a week is quite different to being on FaceBook or Twitter or taking selfies all the time and damaging real and important relationships because of it.
    So while I respect your decision, I will miss you!

    Reply

  5. heatherdpear
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 02:31:22

    Will miss your posts and insights, but I certainly do understand the need for a tech break. Daughter has the same birthday as you. Will look for your thoughts on your break after that date.

    Reply

  6. Maryom
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 09:36:32

    I generally go tech free for holidays – mainly because of lack of signal in the places we go, but i don’t have a smart phone and wouldn’t lug the laptop with me. I don’t think I’d like to switch off ALL tech for long though: now I have a teen instead of a small child, I treat FB and Twitter as a replacement for school-gate chat and phone contact to keep track of comings and goings is vital.

    Reply

  7. whisperinggums
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 11:53:05

    We each have to do what we feel will protect ourselves the best Stu. I admire you for taking such a long break but I reckon it will be good for your soul and you’ll come back refreshed. As Lisa says, though, we’ll miss you.

    Reply

  8. farmlanebooks
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 18:06:41

    I hope you enjoy your break and come back refreshed and with lots of fantastic book recommendations!

    Reply

  9. Scott W.
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 20:30:35

    Stu – I hope the break is both relaxing and rewarding. I look forward to your return. – Scott

    Reply

  10. Richard
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 01:39:53

    Hope you enjoy your break, Stu, although I will naturally miss your posts. Good luck with the experiment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
