What is your blogging routine ?

20131223-060121.jpg
Hello all today I’m asking a question of you my fellow bloggers writers and that is what is your blogging routine ? I feel this last year I’ve lost a rhythm I once had and just can’t find it ,with 2014 looming large in the background it is the perfect time to push on and try and improve my posting and writing routine .My question is what time do you write , how many post do you do at a time I.E do you do all your post once a week then just comment through the week or daily .I didn’t go to college etc which may have help me work a way to build a routine as I want to move winstonsdad to the next level of being a constant blog that post regularly and keeps up with the amount of books I read which I have struggled with for the last two years .Any advice will be gratefully received many thanks for following my blog and may I note this is the 800th post on winstonsdad

53 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whisperinggums
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 06:46:29

    I’m afraid I can’t help much Stu. I don’t plan to raise my blog to another level so I’m not really thinking about how to do that.

    However, for what it’s worth, I do one post at a time. I usually write my book reviews straight after I finish the book – mostly within 24 hours. Sometimes I might delay posting it for a day or two, if I’ve just posted something else. My rough aim is to post on Monday (for my regular Monday Musings) and then around Wednesday and Saturday but I almost never keep exactly to these last two. It’s just a rough guide – as I don’t really want to post more frequently than that. My average number of posts per month is around 14.

    I comment on blogs on and off, as I find time, but again have no set pattern. Of course, I am (semi)retired so, although I’m pretty busy, it’s mostly self inflicted and can be a bit flexible.

    I look forward to seeing what others say. (Oh, and congrats on 800 posts. Well done!)

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 06:59:10

    Routine is good. I schedule a minimum of two posts a week (Monday and Thursday), and if I’m going OK, I do a Sunday one as well (in which case, the Monday post moves to Tuesday).

    I don’t write the post up immediately any more, but I often jot notes down in a draft and sort out the grammar/links/pictures later (not sure if you do this, but I have a small piece of paper as a bookmark and make notes as I go along to help!).

    I usually try to write posts on my days off, with occasional bits and pieces in the evening. Motivation can be hard though…

    Finally, I am usually two weeks ahead with my posts. I need that space just in case something comes up (illness, work, social event overload).

    Hope that helps😉

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:47:41

      Thanks tony some great tips there motivation has been hard I just look at backlog and feel dreadful but need get a routine sort rather than just worry and then clear it slowly a few weeks in advance sounds good as I tend to have two hard weeks in every four at work

      Reply

  3. Emma
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 07:04:13

    Congratulations on the 800 posts.

    I can’t help you much. I don’t have a routine. I write my billets when I can, mostly on weekends because I’m often too tired to write something in English after a day at work.
    I read a lot less than you, so it’s easier. I tend to think about what I’m going to write at different moments before I actually sit in front of the computer. I noticed that some reviews just pour out of my head, especially when the book reached me emotionally. Sometimes, I can’t wait to write about it and sometimes I have trouble finding the words. How can you have a routine after that?

    I’ve seen blogs with a fixed structure for posts, with things like the place the book was bought, the questions “what is it about?” and “what did I think?” I find it artificial and a bit like a school assignment.
    Since you read a lot, perhaps you could save time and group in one review the books you didn’t like much and spend time on reviews about books you really want to draw attention to.

    Perhaps Sue has something when she says she writes just after finishing the book. Sometimes I can’t start another one if I haven’t written the billet about the one I’ve just finished.
    That’s my opinion, for what it’s worth…

    Reply

    • whisperinggums
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 07:27:01

      That’s how I often feel Emma – I usually can’t start reading until I’ve written up the book I’ve just finished. I like to keep my head clear.

      I’ve seen some of those posts you talk about and agree with what you say. They tend to feel a bit mechanical. I have a semi-structure, though. Some sort of introduction that may be about the author, the subject matter, how it links to me or what I’ve just read. And then I follow that with a brief summary of the plot (without spoilers of course). After that I’ll talk a bit about the themes and about the language/style, but how I do this depends on what sort of work it is, what stood out the most. That’s my rough rule of thumb, but I hope my posts don’t come across as too structured.

      Reply

      • Emma
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 07:39:43

        I have the same structure as you, in my head. It’s logical and I think most of us do that. I just don’t like it to be written down like questions in a grade-school assignment.

      • whisperinggums
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 07:48:25

        Yes, I guessed they were the sorts you were talking about, Emma – glad we understood each other. I guess for those bloggers it makes it easy for them to get their ideas down, but I don’t find it interesting reading (usually)!

      • winstonsdad
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:49:57

        Doing it straightaway would suit me maybe I need to slow my reading a bit

      • whisperinggums
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 21:16:30

        It’s all about priorities really Stu … If you want to review every book you read you may have to. Then again as one commenter said you could do some posts that contain a few mini reviews. I’ve seen people do that. You could have one mini review post each week or month.

      • winstonsdad
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 21:18:33

        I’m not fan of mini review I think
        Maybe I have to get more in groove post more often but also maybe not review every book I read as I prefer to devote a post to each book

      • whisperinggums
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 21:24:23

        I do too – like to devote a post to a book.

        I’ve seen others not review every book, but list all they’ve read in regular round-ups. Don’t let blogging drive your life! It’s a hobby after all … If it creates too much stress then that’s a shame. Amanda and Winston want a happy Stu!

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:49:18

      Thanks cam agree with tiredness think reason I been struggling is my work has grown quite stressful and tiring this last six months and I feel lot more drained in the evenings when I used write a lot of posts

      Reply

  4. Brian Joseph
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 09:11:28

    I try to begin a post early in the reading of a book. I try to work on it a little every day. Sometimes I need to stop as I need to progress further along the book. I usually read two books at a time so this gets intertwined. If there is a long period when I cannot work because I need to read more I work on my general commentary posts.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:51:41

      Thanks brian I have wonder about doing bits as I go with phone app that I am getting more use to and could use to do this as and when then finish and tidy on my laptop

      Reply

  5. Sophie Cussen
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 09:35:06

    Although my blog isn’t about reviewing, like yours I do stick to a routine on mine where I can, although like you I feel it waning slightly now and then. I tend to post mainly on two days – Monday’s and Thursday. If I’ve got an inspiration for a post then I’ll also do one on Sunday and so it goes Tuesday then Friday the following week just to space the posts out a bit for readers.
    I tend to either start a post because I’ve got something really new and exciting I want to share, or if when I post about the gardening then I keep the posts very structured and fill it in monthly and weekly. When I say structured what I mean is I’ll keep headings consistent in every post to help me focus.
    Good luck with it all and look forward to reading your blog in 2014!🙂

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:52:45

      Set days seems to be a way to build a routine others have mention this and this is something I have never really done just posted as and when on the whole

      Reply

  6. gaskella
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 09:54:48

    Usually I write about books within a few days of finishing them and have no set structure to my posts, although they more often than not follow an – Intro/resume/quotation/themes/style/thoughts sequence – often shuffled.

    This Christmas I’ve been ultra organised and have posts scheduled up until new year! Mostly being my annual reviews, they’re more light-hearted and a bit more spontaneous and I enjoyed writing them. Whether anyone will be in to read them is another matter.

    Congrats on 800 posts! Happy Christmas Stu.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:55:04

      Happy Christmas to Annabel my reviews tend ve similar bio quote summary quote my thoughts as that is what I’m use to doing but need do it may ASAP as I read before moving on this is where I get such a huge backlog

      Reply

  7. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:22:19

    My blogging routine is pretty non-existent to be honest. Like Annabel, I try to review the books close to finishing them, or I get in a bit of a tangle. Apart from that I just post when the whim takes me. I try to structure the reviews with a bit of a summary and then discuss what I felt about the books and how I interpret them. I started blogging partly as a way of recording my reactions to books and partly to share my feelings about books – so if anyone reads and responds that’s a bonus! Well done on keeping your blog going for so long – your enthusiasm for the books comes through and that’s the important thing!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:56:11

      I think main thing next year will be to review when I finished ASAP which I haven’t last year at all and need do that to keep in track and not build my backlog up

      Reply

      • kaggsysbookishramblings
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 21:38:02

        Yes, I think that’s really important – I find if I haven’t reviewed quickly it’s difficult to get properly into the next book because I’m still thinking of the one I haven’t reviewed yet!

      • winstonsdad
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 21:43:52

        I do struggle to recall at times but need to get back to read and review ASAP next year

  8. Maryom
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:08:24

    I like a quiet time with no other things nagging at me so I find first thing in the morning or last at night the best times to blog. I aim to do 2 or 3 of our book blog posts per week, though obviously length of books can make a huge difference. I prefer to not review a book immediately after reading but to let it sink in for a while first. I’ve read myself into a corner recently by reading review copies which aren’t to be published till next year, then found the publicists would prefer me to wait before posting a review. On the bright side, I have a stack of reviews ready to go for New Year.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:57:46

      Oh I only ever had one publicist be odd in reviews I hate deadlines and try to do books as soon as I can but some have fallen through cracks which I hate and made me look bad hence this post try and build a routine again

      Reply

  9. Messy_tony
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:26:27

    I’m a bit like whisperinggums & need to do my review before I start mt next book. Although some if the more depressing ones or the ones requiring contemplation I do leave for a bit. Like Tony I take notes throughout the reading, sometimes scribbling on the bookmark or sometimes using notepad in my phone. I rarely leave a post and review it before publishing as the new book awaits. I’d like a regular routine and should probably post updates as I started about 10 books this year that I didn’t complete & they never got a mention on my blog. Could be my 2014 resolution?

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 18:59:31

      I need do this
      And I don’t hence I have a huge back lif of unreviewed books I have read as I just finish and start straight away tend to pick different books as them avoid confusion with previous book

      Reply

  10. Vishy
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:01:45

    800 posts, wow! Congratulations Stu! I don’t know whether I can give you advice – I think I should ask you for some🙂 But if I may just add my thoughts to what others have said, I mostly post a review after reading a book. So when my reading goes down my blogging suffers. Occasionally I write a post about a bookish topic, but this happens only once in a while. I hope you are able to blog as much as you want to, in 2014. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  11. Travellin' Penguin
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:04:17

    You do a wonderful job for saying you don’t have a routine. I think though the question you ask is a great one. I have trouble with following routines but haven’t been doing this nearly as long as you have. I will look forward to seeing what you get up to. I find I”m a slow reader so by the time I read the book and write about it more than a week can go by. This slows my blogging down. I have decided that if I’m reading a really long book I’ll blog on it later and maybe read shorter ones in order to blog more regularly. It is tricky . Looking forward to your blogs for 2014 and also to what other comments you receive re: this post. All the best to you.

    Reply

  12. Andreas Moser
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:31:29

    Routine makes life boring.

    Reply

  13. heavenali
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 16:12:23

    I tend to write one post at a time – two or three a week, I often write in the evening while (half) watching tv, often scheduling the post for the following day. Although sometimes I do a few posts over a two day period and schedule them to post over the coming days – I am in the middle of doing that at the moment. It really depends on whether I am reading quickly at the time or not – as all my posts are book related and most book reviews – my blogging routine is tied in to my reading.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 19:45:52

      This was my routine but just been so tired after work recently need find a new routine or just wait to work quiet end but can’t see that happening soon lol

      Reply

  14. Pykk
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 20:51:54

    Congratulations on your 800th post.

    1. “My question is what time do you write” — I share a computer, so I write most of my posts whenever the other people in the house are asleep or away at work. Usually in the evenings. Whenever I have time. Occasionally I’ll write a few notes on paper as I’m reading. For example: “Ruskin thinking nature deserves attention & love but people not so much: the Japanese acrobats.” I think that note is going to be a post in the future.

    I find that I write better in the mornings. I do that whenever I can.

    2. “… how many post do you do at a time I.E do you do all your post once a week then just comment through the week or daily” — Usually I’ll start writing about an idea in a book and then the post will get longer and longer, I’ll think of other ideas or another book will occur to me, until finally I come to the end and then go back and begin chopping the long post up into smaller posts. That might take one or two evenings. Then I’ll read back over this long series of posts and begin to insert more ideas in the middle. I don’t write about every book I read. I don’t even write about half of them. I’m looking for a flow of ideas rather than a flow of books. I can spend four or five posts on one book and I never think of anything I write as “a book review” or “an overview of this book,” or any kind of balanced assessment of the book’s worth.

    I post on Saturdays and Wednesdays, usually at about nine pm or later. Setting a routine was my way of prompting myself to think. (If I’m writing then I’m thinking.)

    Reply

  15. Simon T (Stuck-in-a-Book)
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 23:01:27

    Great question, and what a lot of responses! I try to write every evening, although sometimes I spent a Saturday writing several posts at once. If I’ve put ages into a review, I leave it up for a couple of days before writing a new one – but I tend to write quite quickly and don’t edit, so it doesn’t take much time.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 23:05:49

      Thanks Simon I tend to take hour to hour half to write a post not much for editing as every one will know spell check and if chance read through my post and change and add bits

      Reply

  16. Judith
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 23:34:05

    I have a routine that found me. In other words, I didn’t set out to have any kind of routine at all, but there is a time of day that I’ve discovered is splendid for reading others’ blogs and 2-3 times a week writing my own. It’s between 5-7pm when I’m in the kitchen thinking about and trying to cook dinner.
    I try very hard NOT to have expectations of myself–I can only write something, anything if I feel the light inside me to write it, however small it might be.
    I don’t try to write full reviews. From the point of view of how I see “my mission,” if there can be such a thing, is to inform fellow readers about books, give background information and a brief synopsis, just something, and then hope that if readers are interested, they will connect with the hundreds of reviews that are out there. This is just what works for me.
    Merry Christmas!
    Judith

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:36:49

      Thanks Judith that is similar time to I write it has been mainly early evenings but lately been so tired after work want try something new happy Christmas to you

      Reply

  17. Max Cairnduff
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 13:14:58

    Interesting. I hadn’t much thought about it but I seem to be in similar territory to Whispering and Emma. I write about one book at a time, I try to write about it soon after reading it though recently due to work that’s not been possible so I now have a backlog which irritates me. I generally write some sort of intro, a brief(ish) guide to what the book’s about while avoiding spoilers and then some thoughts on themes and what I took from it. If a book is generally strong but has a notable area or areas of weakness I tend to talk about that near the end of the post – no idea why, it just seems to flow more easily that way.

    Comments I respond to when I have time, though I do aim to respond to them all since I appreciate them all.

    Blogging is a leisure activity. We’re not being paid for it. As such I take Judith’s view that I try not to have expectations of myself. I write the best post I can at the time I write it. I don’t go back to revise posts unless to correct an evident typo I later notice. The post is what it is, as good as I could do when I wrote it.

    I don’t have set times I write posts. It’s generally when I have some free moments. I do though once started tend to want to keep going while it flows so if I don’t anticipate having an hour or two free I don’t start.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 13:25:04

      It’s my backlog that lead to post I need to write after every book I think as I tend to leave then then lose track I used write in evening but my work has got quite tiring last twelve months so find it hard to do at times all advice has been great and has given me quite a few tips happy Christmas max

      Reply

  18. Gavin
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 17:53:46

    I have no routine at all right now, I haven’t written a post in many months. I m glad you are still at it, even if you feel you’ve lost your rhythm. Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  19. beckylindroos
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 14:16:51

    I was very regular about immediately after I read the book using notes I made while reading. Then life got in the way and I’ve not been able to take care of it for about a month here. But in my case I was only able to read 4 or 5 books during that time, too. I hope to be back at it by March. We’ll see. Until then I’m only going to be able to list the few books I get read, I think, give them a genre and a rating. This is about caring for my mom.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: How to Create a Routine for Posting To Your Blog
  21. Mytwostotinki
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 11:19:04

    Since I am blogging since a few months only, I may not be in the position to give any valuable hints. I cannot really say that I have developed a routine. It all depends on two questions: how much time do I have to read – because when you have little time for that tmporarily it will limit also the output of blogposts; and was it interesting enough to write about it – not all books you read may inspire you to write a review or blogpost on them. Usually I publish one or two posts a week without fixed timing and I publish all posts immeditely after I wrote them. I write after work and frequently in the weekend. While reading, I make notes which I find extremely helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
