Winston’s year the books

Well it’s that time of year when people start putting across the best of list .I have decided to do my best of year ,given the focus of the blog it is going be just translations ,I will not I have read The luminaries and lowland both on a lot of best of list I liked both but haven’t got round to reviewing them yet ,so I’m not mentioning them .As for other books in English not translated my favourite by far is The boy from Aleppo who painted the war by Sumia Sukkar the first I ve read around the current Syrian conflict .So to the top ten of 2013 .

the mirror of beauty

The mirror of beauty by Shamsur Rahman Faruqi 

I reviewed this yesterday as I want it fresh in people’s memorey the rest of the list is books I have loved but by far this is my book of the year .An epic following the mother of a well-known Urdu poet in 19th century India and actually in an update to my previous review due out in the UK may 2014 .

My review 

the son Andrej Nikolaidis

The son by Andrej Nikolaidis 

A son wander around the port town of Ulcinj and thinks about his father and the history of this town .Andrej shared his love of my next book in the list  and its influence on this book .

My review Thoams Bernhard the loser Faber Finds

 

The loser by Thomas Bernhard 

Glenn Gould in Vienna blows away two music students and we see the aftermath of a touch with a Genius on two people’s lives .

My review 

ten Andrej Longo

Ten by Andrej Lingo 

A short story collection based round the ten Commandments ,around the dark underbelly of the city of Naples .This also reignited a real love of short stories in me ,more about that at a future date .

My review

TD-covers

Mother departs by Tadeusz Różewicz

A son looking back on his mother ,growing up ,world war two and his brother from the foremost living Polish poet .A wonderful mix of prose and poems .

My review 

my fathers' ghost is climbing in the rain

My fathers ghost is climbing in the rain by Patricio Pron 

Certainly if i had a side prize for the best title of the year this book would easily walk off with it .A son returns to Argentina and discovers more about his father than he thought .

My review 

A man in Love

A man in love by Karl Ove Knausgaard 

I love the first part of this collection and had hopes it would carry on and was surprised part two was  even better Karl now with kids and a struggling writer in the fictionalized version of his life ,can’t wait for part three next year .

My review 

Brief loves that live forever

Brief loves that live forever by Andrei Makine

I have loved his other books a glimpse at soviet summers of the past and fleeting romance and lives .Makine back on form here .

My review 

parrots Flippo Bologna

The parrots by FlippoBologna

A gem of a book about writers and a book prize we meet three unnamed writers at three stages in the career as they wait to see if they have won the big book prize .

My review

sidewalks

Sidewalks by Valeria Luiselli

A collection of non fiction writing from the wonderful Mexican writer mainly on the journey of discovery like looking for a grave in Venice .

My Review  

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 13:46:15

    You’ve had a good year of reading Stu – well done!

    Reply

  2. Guy Savage
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:51:22

    Thanks for the list. I’ve read a couple of Bernhard novels and loved ’em. I also have The Son on my list to read, and I bought The Parrots after your review.

    Reply

  3. iamamro
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 18:17:07

    Excellent list, Stu!

    Reply

  4. Messy_tony
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:09:06

    Great list Stu, I’m devouring “My Struggle, Part One” right now and am eagerly awaiting Part Two to arrive in the post (not too eager as Part 3 is still a while away from being published in English)

    Reply

  5. heavenali
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:20:46

    There are books on that list that look like ones I should add to my wish list. Thanks for bringing to my attention books I may not otherwise have heard of.

    Reply

  6. gaskella
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 07:55:48

    None that I’ve read, (although I think I have read more in translation this year than last which is good)! But hence – lots for the wishlist.

    Reply

  7. Brian Joseph
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 12:12:19

    Looks to be a great list Stu. Though I have not read any of these I want to read all of them. Perhaps I will get to a couple in the coming year.

    Reply

  8. farmlanebooks
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 12:24:03

    I’ve only read one of these (Man in Love, which I wasn’t that keen on) but some of the others really appeal – The Parrots especially. I’ll try to read it for your Pushkin event next year🙂

    Reply

  9. Tony
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 10:53:51

    Loved the Knausgaard, want to read more Bernhard after my German Literature Month experience, and I’m about to start the Makine🙂

    Reply

  10. Rise
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 12:36:17

    A great reading year for you, Stu. Lots of great titles to choose from.

    Reply

  11. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 23:23:16

    Hi, Stu,
    I’m wild to read the Argentinian selection. I must obtain it. I’m extremely interested in 20th-century Argentine history. It’s so peculiar that I’ve never read a book by an Argentine. So thanks!!
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  12. Kinna
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 15:52:09

    I’m so intrigued about The Mirror of Beauty. Seems you had a good year of reading. Wishing you more for 2014. Thanks for the list.

    Reply

  13. bythefirelight
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 02:50:31

    Nice selection of books. Hopefully I can read a cooler in the coming year. -p

    Reply

  14. jacquiwine
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 18:08:57

    Great to see such a diverse and interesting selection of books, Stu. I have ‘Sidewalks’ on the shelf here and The Parrots really appeals, too – love the sound of that one.

    Reply

  15. Mel u
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 09:45:32

    A great inspiring list of books. I hope 2014 is another great reading year for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
