German lit month 2013

I was so pleased when yesterday Caroline and Lizzy announced German lit month 2013 .this year there is a change with male and female weeks .I have been saving all my German translations since last year so have a good number built up ready for review more than I thought as I grabbed books for pictures I have nine of the books pictured already read . So here are the female books I’m hoping to review

20130924-150056.jpg
As you see it’s a broad mix of books and as with the last two years I’m reviewing a Herta Muller .I’ve also a Christa Wolf on order from the library and hope in next few days hope to add a few more female names as Lizzy and Caroline noted last year saw more male German writers reviewed than Female I maybe didn’t help as I am more drawn to male voices and writers in my book choices as the picture of what male German books I have show

20130924-150453.jpg

I wanted to include two by German language writers this time I haven’t review before they are Uwe Timm although not so well known in English is a huge writer in German and Peter Handke who I’m still shocked I’ve not reviewed before as his books I have always enjoyed since he wrote parts for one of my favourite films wings of desire .
What book have you in mind for German lit month 2013 ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. courseofmirrors
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 14:43:49

    Marlene Houshofers’ books … Die Wand (The Wall) and ‘Himmel der nirgendwo endet’ (Nowhere Ending Sky)

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:33:35

    I’m looking forward to your reviews, Stu.
    Great plans so far.

    Reply

  3. lizzysiddal
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:58:40

    A few of your “female” books are in my TBR .. I’ll put them in the poll for the readalong. (Hagena, Haushofer, Pasztor)

    Reply

  4. Tony
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 23:17:17

    Lot of books there – unfortunately, the photos are too small, and I can’t see them!

    Reply

  5. Richard
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 05:47:48

    I’d like to read some more Kleist, Mann, Musil, and Walser, but I also have a copy of Faust that I’d like to get to. Too many choices, not enough time. Look forward to your selections, Stu.

    Reply

  6. Brian Joseph
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 08:04:03

    I will really try to join in this year. The male/female alteration is a neat idea.

    Looks like you will be covering some interesting reads Stu.

    Reply

  7. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 23:24:51

    Stu,
    I really like Uwe Timm. I have read the novel that has “sausage” or curried sausage” in the title. And I really appreciated the nonfiction he wrote, a memoir of sorts about his older brother. I need to properly state these titles, but I hope you get a chance to read him.

    Judith

    Reply

  8. Lisa Hill
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 04:34:47

    I’ve just posted my review of *phew* The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann on the GLM 2013 site.
    Cheers
    Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
