Winston sketches a glimpse into a book lovers life

20130812-180853.jpg
Well I could be procrastinating on not writing a review ,but that’s not the case I’m back at work tomorrow after a fortnight off work and I’m sure my old routine will slip back into place .No this is an idea to give a glimpse into what it is to be a book lover (book mad really ) ,I really enjoyed Robs reading notes when he did them but this is something different , a whole view I’d love to say daily but I imagine it will be sporadic .These post are also easier for me to write as I can write on my phone as Amanda is using the laptop at the moment while she searches for a new job .So to the sketch for today which has been a perfect book day without much reading .This morning I had chance to spend a hour or two with the iPad so caught two programmes on sky player that had caught my eye .The first was Buy the ticket ,take the ride a documentary on Hunter S Thompson I don’t know about you but I have always had a fascination with him as a person and as a writer .I’ve only read three books by him but was always touched by how much of him was in his books and how much of the time he lived in was in them as well .Rhis film gave me a further insight into this unusual character lots of interviews with Hunter himself the two actors Bill Murray and Johnny Depp who have portrayed Hunter in film ,his peers and friends Well worth a view .The other show followed the recent Revival of Not I by Samuel Beckett a one woman show that is just a black out face with a mouth talking ,Beckett want this show done at the speed of thought so this piece comes out like a machine gun as we follow the dialogue.I feel this is a piece I will need to watch again to fully comprehend .Then a book buy was the greatcoat by Helen Dunmore The first book on the new hammer imprint a ghost story set in the fifties has been on my radar for a while and at £1.99 at sainsbury seemed a bargain and a great Halloween reading choice .my day is ending catching the podcast of BBC open book in and around. Cumbria with the current writers and poets and a look to the past well Wordsworth mainly .
What you been doing bookish recently ?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Whispering Gums
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 06:03:24

    Good question Stu … I’ve been to two literary conferences two weekends in a row – Jane Austen of Australia, and then Writing the Australian Landscape. They were both great.

    I went to the Turner from the Tate exhibition at the National Gallery of Australia. I know, he’s art not writing BUT firstly he was born the same year as Jane Austen, and secondly he painted the Sublime while the Romantic poets Wordswith, Colderidge and Byron wrote poems about the Sublime in Nature. Also, Turner illustrated some of Byron’s poetry I believe.

    I’ve read and commented on a couple of poems written by my daughter.

    No wonder I haven’t actually read many books lately!

    (On my iPad I watched a documentary about the Bee Gees … they wrote their own songs. Does that count as bookish? hmm …)

    Reply

  2. Vishy
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 14:05:38

    Love the sketch, Stu! That Samuel Beckett one woman monologue sounds really interesting. I would love to watch it. I can’t believe the number of new things and innovations Beckett did. Thanks for writing about it.

    Reply

  3. Max Cairnduff
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:54:34

    Nice idea Stu. Not much bookish lately at my end, due to having spent most of the week with a bout of food poisoning and with decorators in at the same time. I hope to get back to Dubliners this evening.

    Otherwise, I am catching up on my favourite blogs today, hence this comment, and I’ve been planning out my summer reading to the extent I ever plan anything bookwise (which isn’t much and I then tend to change it). The planning is fine, the problem is I rapidly get to a shortlist of what to read over the next few weeks which is far longer than what I might realistically manage to read. Oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
