To score or not to score

20130811-130213.jpg
Well it’s telling me on the WordPress post counter I’ve reached post 750 and I feel like a change in reviewing previously I’ve been quite against scoring books I’ve read partly because I feel that I tend to be over generous .But after 354 book reviews maybe I should my reviews tend to be basic and maybe I don’t give out enough of what I thought of the book ,I used do a pictorial score of a book giving more a feel of a book ,when I was a naive blogger it was fun but never gave my own view .So the question is should I ? I was nudge a bit by Sam of Sam still reading saying they had only given out one 10/10 score that had set me think and actually there maybe is ten books in the 354 I’ve read I’d actually give ten out of ten too . So if you’d like to see me score books let me know . Many thanks to those still here after 750 posts .

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whisperinggums
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 13:03:47

    Congratulations of 750 posts Stu … great achievement. I think it’s up to you whether you score or not, but it’s not something I would want from you. What you say is more important to me that a numerical rating.

    Reply

  2. Brian Joseph
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 14:12:58

    Wow750 posts! That is impressive.

    I actually think that in your commentary you are very clear in regards to how much you like a book or not.

    Reply

  3. gaskella
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 14:35:49

    Well done on 750 posts Stu. I say score if you want to but if you do, try and set some criteria and stick to them for consistency – easier said than done!

    Reply

  4. Guy Savage
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 16:20:39

    Stu: I have the benefit of seeing your scores on goodreads. Congrats on being on the way to a thousand.

    Reply

  5. Lizzy Siddal
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 16:57:49

    I’d like to see your scores. Words can only say so much. Subjective scoring gives me a clear indication of your gut feeling.

    Reply

  6. amanda
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 18:09:51

    Wow, congrats on 750 posts, Stu! I don’t like to try to score books myself, as I’m terribly indecisive about it, but if you find yourself wanting to do so, go for it. (And I do find myself curious about which those 10/10 books are!)

    Reply

  7. Parrish
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 18:31:12

    congrats on the posts, whether you score or not is neither here or there, if you love a book the passion shows in your writing not in what number you place on it at a moment in time,

    Reply

  8. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 19:00:52

    Well done Stu! I don’t score books on my blog, just when I post a review on librarything. I guess it doesn’t matter too much because people will be reading to see what you say about a book – that’s certainly why I read blogs!

    Reply

  9. Judith Harper
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 19:06:54

    Hi, Stu–
    I’m personally hopeless at assigning scores to my likes and dislikes, yet I enjoy it when other people do it. So I like personal comments and a rating system, if a blogger is into it.

    Judith

    Reply

  10. Vishy
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 19:31:44

    Wow! 750 posts is awesome, Stu! Congratulations! Hoping to see post no.1000 soon! I think a score is always a tricky thing. Sometimes when I like parts of a book very much and don’t like other parts, I find that averaging it out and coming up with a score doesn’t seem to indicate the complexity of my thoughts on the book. (It is like one of my professors used to say – ‘if a man has one hand on the gas stove burner when it is on and another hand inside the refrigerator in the freezer, according to an economist, on an average, his body is at normal temperature’ :)) But sometimes scores are useful too, because it places a book in context when compared to other books. In case you decide to give scores, I would be interested in following them. Would love to know about your 10/10 or 5/5 books🙂

    Reply

  11. Armen
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 21:07:15

    Congrats. Very curious to know about those 10/10 books and I like your reviews with or without scores.

    Reply

  12. Michael @ Literary Exploration
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 00:33:13

    750 posts is amazing. While scoring can be helpful, I think they take too much effort; opinions/scores change

    Reply

  13. Lisa Hill
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 08:24:52

    Well done, Stu, another milestone:)
    Scoring wouldn’t make any difference to me, what I come here for is to read your ideas and responses and a bit of a description of what the book is about.

    Reply

  14. Edith
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 08:48:27

    Scoring is of no importance to me. It’s like giving grades to students in school using criteria which necessarily are subjectively biased (objectivity exists at best regarding mathematics). Tastes differ considerably and the same books which you love, I might consider a horrible waste of time. On my blog I review only books that I enjoyed reading. Some I like more, some I like less. Despite all I never even thought of scoring them. I leave it to the readers to see for themselves.

    Reply

  15. samstillreading
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 12:12:37

    Well done Stu! As for scoring, I think it’s up to you – I like to read why people liked or didn’t like a book. I score for me & my family – they know that 10/10 is a must read as I don’t give them out often. I think words do much more than a number. Thank you for linking, I’ve enjoyed reading everyone’s thoughts.

    Reply

  16. Max Cairnduff
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:44:11

    Just saw this. I don’t particularly like scores, I just don’t think one can sensibly assess a work of art that way, but I’ve no problem with them either so if you introduce them I just likely won’t pay much attention to them. Brian’s right by the way, it’s pretty clear how you feel about the books you write about, there are books I’ve bought because of your enthusiasm for them and seeing an 8 or five stars next to them wouldn’t have changed that.

    Perhaps there’s a halfway house – not full scoring of every book but picking some out as “Stu’s Picks” – books that if you were scoring would have got the full score.

    Oh, and I think Gaskella’s right that if you do score some sort of criteria is a good idea, though one doesn’t want to turn it into work.

    Reply

  17. Kinna
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 19:31:13

    Congrats Stu! You are an inspiration. Keep at it, I know you will.

    The thing with scoring is consistency. I used to score but wasn’t consistent and I used to agonize over the score. Now I think I may note if it’s a 5/5 but I’m not consistent with that either. I like your reviews as is because you give a pretty good sense about your assessment of a book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
