Reading and families

20130804-091821.jpg
Well I ve a nice selection for Simon of savidge reads Greene for gran idea I love Greene anyway since here Our man in Havana as a young teen on the radio .I ve read five books in the picture so have fun for sale or the power and the glory to choose from as a new read plus if I get chance I’ll reread another book . I was thinking as Simon posts about his gran remind me of my own family and what impact reading has had on me , my gran loved Agatha christie ,my dad is a huge reader he tends to be escapist reader Zane Grey Louis L’amour westerns and thrillers from Forsyth ,Higgins,Le Carre and Thomas ,litter my memories of growing up .Now Amanda sits with the occasional true life book and I read all the books from round the world she ask about books I’m reading but always says she prefers true life tales .So as today is our sixth wedding anniversary and also my brother in laws wedding .I remember how important families can be to use all
Happy anniversary amanda

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:56:49

    Happy anniversary Stu! Yes, reading and families are important – my 3 kids all love to read so that’s a great thing!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:15:22

    I left England when I was six and never saw my grandmother again but when I was in my teens she posted over a complete set of Dickens and some classics too. It must have cost her a fortune in postage.
    I read the lot and loved them and I reckon it was those books that turned me into an adult reader, that, and my father taking us to the library every weekend. No matter where we lived in the world it was out Saturday morning routine.
    PS Happy anniversary:).

    Reply

  3. Brian Joseph
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:19:34

    Happy Anniversary Stu!

    My parents and my much older sister always read to me when I was young. I credit this with helping to ferment my love of books. Little did they know that they were creating the most voracious reader in the family! Years later my sister and I still discuss books.

    Reply

  4. Guy Savage
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:54:03

    I would join in but I have a lot on my plate this month. Reading has always helped me through tough times.

    Reply

  5. CFisher
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 21:36:01

    Even now in my fifties some of my most treasured memories are of my mum reading to my sisters and me. To go back to those books, Children of Greene Knowe for example, was a joy.

    Reply

  6. Heather
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 13:13:50

    Happy Anniversary to you both.

    There were always books in our house. my dad was a voracious reader up till the week he passed away . he told the doctors that reading was the only thing that took him away from the pain. Dad read a lot of action and sci-fi books, mom reads much romance and books with some humour. I read just about anything except true crime or ones where young children get hurt.

    Reply

  7. Vishy
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 08:39:33

    I am late in commenting. Happy Anniversary to you both, Stu! Hope both of you had a wonderful day filled with cakes and sweets and parties and lots of books🙂

    In my home, though everyone loves books, my mom was the real reader. And she passed on her reading genes to me. Mom was also the book buyer in the family and I have inherited that trait also from here🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
