A personnel odyssey Anthony Burgess

20130422-131324.jpg
Well earlier this year I was lucky to be sent these from Vintage books it is six Anthonh Burgess novels that have been reissued by them ,now if you have read this blog over the years I have mentioned him from time to time he is one of my five all time favourite writers .I haven’t reviewed him on blog yet but when these came it finalised a plan I had in the back of my head for a couple of years and that was to read a number of his books in Late November /early December 2013 ,which marks 20th anniversary of Anthony Burgess death for me it was a great loss of one of the most unique and individual writers the English language has eve produced so with my own collection of books here

20130422-131836.jpg
I have 17 novels of the 34 novels listed on Wikipedia as by him if I add in 4 I have wish listed on Amazon for my new kindle that have been published Serpents tail that means 21 novels plus the autobiography little Wilson and big god to read I have made a start reading eve of st Venus already .Now as I said this is a personnel odyssey for me but all are welcome to join in because to me he has always been much more than the one book Clockwork Orange that most people know him for .so from November watch out as from them til e d of 2013 I intend to review all these books not moving from translation but marking an important figure to me as a reader in my reading life .he marked a real change in my reading Habits when I read him in my late teens and early twenties and I feel now is the time to mark that point in my life and honour this great writer before everyone forgets him .For he wrote dystopic fiction, sci fi fiction ,comedy ,historic fiction and philosophical novels but fat from been the writer that moved genres and never succeed he did in nearly every field he tried .Bot bad for a guy that said he was a musician first and writer second

20130422-133150.jpg
What is your favourite book by Anthony Burgess ?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 13:15:03

    It always amazes me when the words of someone you haven’t met personally can have such a big influence/impact on me. Glad that you found an author who has moved you.
    I have only read A Clockwork Orange and that was ags ago. Will have to check hubby’s shelf and see if we have any others.

    Reply

  2. Guy Savage
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:03:17

    I’ve been meaning to get back to Burgess too, so I’ll be reading with interest

    Reply

  3. Max Cairnduff
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:23:14

    Nice haul there Stu. Which of his are your favourites would you say?

    Reply

  4. Seamus Duggan
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 17:57:20

    A readalong could be fun. I have a few Burgesses waiting on my shelves – A Dead Man in Deptford , Tremor of Intent & Honey for the Bears and it would prod me into reading one or more.
    How about ‘A Clockwork Orange is not the Only Fruit”?

    Reply

  5. Geosi
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 19:54:35

    I hope to read Burgess at a point in time. Thanks stu

    Reply

  6. Brian Joseph
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 11:33:15

    I must admit that I have only read A Clockwork Orange. Though I think that it is a brilliant book I have heard that he has many other worthwhile books. I must read more of him!

    I look forward to reading your commentary on his books!

    Reply

  7. Caroline
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 12:00:05

    I haven’t read any Burgess yet. Which one would you recommend to start with?

    Reply

  8. Kevin Faulkner
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 17:33:46

    His ‘novel ‘Earthly Powers’ seemed a tour-de-force read to me. Hearing Debussy’s tone-poem ‘Prelude a l’apres-midi d’un faun’ at a slightly older than Burgess was a revelatory experience for me also.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Driven to read but have I passed the detours to do that ! | Winstonsdad's Blog
  10. humphreyking
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 10:44:13

    My favorite Burgess book is Nothing Like The Sun.

    Glad I found your blog. You’ve got some interesting stuff I’m looking forward to poking around some.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
