Best Music ,Tv AND Fillms 2012

I thought be fun to go through some of my music Tv and film highlights of 2012 ,I do worry as I get older having passed 40 this year .My taste are getting quite nostalgic ,this year saw a whole heap of new albums by artists I have loved for year ,so new music been harder to find ,I mean I could not by the two new Neil Young albums could I now ! any way here goes –

Best music 2012 –

I did in the middle of the year have start a music blog partly for the reason I stated my worry of becoming middle-aged and boring in my music tastes ,so here are a few albums I have enjoyed in the past twelve months .

Father John Mistry- fear fun –

The first album under a new name released by J Tilman the former drummer from fleet foxes ,This album saw a change in direction from his earlier solo efforts which where nearer fleet foxes in tone ,this album saw him move towards a more rocky , country rock feel ,also a darker tone to his lyrics .As seen in this video .

The Beachwood spark – The tarnished Gold

A band that disappeared for year but this was first time I had heard of them in this album that saw them return after eleven year ,an album of laid back california rock in fact at times you’d think it was a lost Laurel Canyon classic .As you can see in this video .

Bill Fay – Life is people

I think this is my favourite of year ,you have ask what took him so long this was his first new music in Forty years .But boy was it worth the wait a voice that has age like Cohen ,waits or the late Johnny Cash .Fay lyrics are simple affairs but you find they stick in your head all day after you’ve listened to him .As you see from video something spiritual I found in his music .

Reissue  of the year -A R Kane the singles

I couldn’t find the tapes I had of there early albums, so this reissue was welcome for a band even in there day were overlooked but in their  own way were very influential over ambient dance and shoegazing music .

Other mentions –

Neil Young – Psychedelia Pill – there first Jam album and some great guitar solo’s but maybe not his best lyrics .

Bob Dylan – Tempest – Any new dylan album is a must to me ,but must admit this one has stuck on ipod all year ,which is longer than his last few .

Best Tv programmes –

Well I don’t really get to follow series these days ,with my job shifts mean it is very rare I get a day of the week where I’m not working at some point over space of few weeks ,which makes following series quite hard but I have a couple that I have followed by catching up on line .

Elementary –

When I first heard there was going be an US version of the uk series Sherlock .So when I was Johnny Lee Miller and the casting of Lucy Liu as a female Watson ,was exciting .So I watched the first one and yes it is a bit to like other us drama’s like CSI and House ,but it has one great factor they don’t and that is the frantic Johnny Lee Miller who captures a former drug addict Sherlock so well a man with a past but also a little manic .Great see Miller in a role he is suited too an underused actor I have always thought .

Sherlock  –

the second series of Sherlock built on the first series ,I loved the new take on the hound of the Baskervilles a wonderfully clever twist on the original story .

The story of film an odyssey  –

A journey through film making .I enjoyed how Mark cousin mixed both historic and thematic tones in each episode to build a history of the cinema world-wide ,this did leave me with a list of films I need to see needless to say .

Best Films 2012

Well I don’t often go to pictures so most of the films I watch tend to be when the reach sky so my list will be films from earlier this year .

Tiny furniture –

The debut film from Lena Dunham ,ok it was out before 2012 but I got to it this year and loved her quirky and odd view of the world as a daughter returning home after college facing up to the next step in life ,whilst having parties and meeting a cast of odd characters .

Ted –

we went to cinema to watch this as Amanda and I very rarely agree on films we like but this was a wonderfully funny film about what if a ted came to life and how he deals with his kid growing up ,made me laugh all way through and any film with Sam Jones the flash Gordon from the camp classic is worth watching .

That’s it lots I want to watch when they reach tv or I get them on dvd ,moonrise kingdom and beasts of the southern wild being two .

What have been your music book and film highlights ?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaskella
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:24:04

    Merry Christmas Stu! I’m ashamed to say I’ve never heard of the four albums you highlight – my priorities appear to have moved away from the hifi these days! I am going to check out ‘Elementary’ though (is it on Sky?) sounds intriguing and I love JLM.

    Reply

  2. Parrish
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:29:18

    Not a great tv or film fan, so I’m not in the loop about any of the programmes or films mentioned, altho was aware of the Lucy Liu role.

    Reply

  3. Parrish
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:30:22

    PS. Have a great Xmas with the Missus & of course Winston.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:42:16

    *chuckle* The Spouse and I don’t often agree on films either, so we classify them into ‘Boys Movies’ and “Girls’ Movies’ and we take it in turns. But some films earn extra points, for example, Saving Private Ryan was a Boys’ Movie, and it was so gross that I earned three Girls’ Movies in a row to make up for it. I think I chose three French romantic comedies LOL.
    I don’t think I’ve been to the pictures at all this year, or if I have I don’t remember it, but I’m looking forward to The Hobbit, Life of Pi and of course, Les Miserables.
    Thank you for the warm wishes on my blog, Stu – my best wishes to you and Amanda (and of course Winston) for a wonderful Christmas and a very happy new year:)

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 15:59:34

    oh my, I have no music nor movie highlights. As I get older, I find that I have less and less interest in that area. If I am listening, I’d much rather it be an audio book. As for film, I find I have a tendency to fall asleep even during the action movies, only somewhat embarrassing in the theatre. I am looking forward to viewing The Hobbit, but more because it was filmed in New Zealand than anything else.

    Reply

  6. amanda
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 19:52:56

    Merry Christmas, Stu!

    Now that you ask, I don’t think I discovered a single new TV show this year that I’ve really liked, just favorites from previous seasons (such as Sherlock). I haven’t watched Elementary yet, although I’m interested–but at this point I’ll just wait for the DVD to come out and show up at the library! I’ve been out of the loop a bit with music, but for movies so far my favorite is The Hobbit, but I’m looking forward to seeing Les Miserables.

    Reply

  7. Gavin
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 21:32:12

    Thank you for the music highlights, Stu. Elementary looks great but I really have a thing for Cumberbatch…

    Reply

  8. markbooks
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 23:04:43

    Have a great Christmas Stu!

    Reply

  9. Guy Savage
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 23:06:05

    I can’t stop listening to FAT BOY SLIM and am currently watching the SOVIET version of War and peace.

    best of the year film: well the funniest: KLOVN

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
