Nobel winner for 2012 in literature Mo yan

Nobel Literature prize winner for 2012 is Mo yan

He was given the for his motivation, realism , folk-tales and history .I ve yet to read Mo Yan my self but have red sorghum on my tbr pile that I ll be starting shortly and have a review of by the weekend .he is from a pheasant family left school at twelve to work in the fields ,gained his education from the Chinese army .Made his début in 1981 ,his best known book is Red sorghum that was made into a film that won an award in Berlin film festival .Franz Kafkaesque is how I ve seen him mentioned he is a  writer about rural china and the mixture of myths and supernatural world he grew up hearing from stories as a child  .He is a true rags to riches writer .

Here is his wiki page 

Here is from a recent china daily piece 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 11:22:40

    You’ll have to let us know how you find him Stu as few on Twitter seem to have even heard of him😉 Maybe next year it’ll be someone whose books I’ve read…

    Reply

  2. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 11:59:35

    I was just about asking you if you’ve read him. I would love to read his works.

    Reply

  3. Bellezza
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 17:45:20

    While I am happy for this author, whose work I do not know, I am sad that once again the prize was not given to my favorite: Haruki Murakami.

    Reply

  4. claire
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 18:00:32

    I haven’t heard of him before except today and not a few criticize his win. But I myself am very interested to read him because apparently he’s been influenced by Latin American writing, which I love.

    Reply

  5. parrish lantern
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 19:33:52

    have one in my wishlist based on a fellow bloggers post http://petekarnas.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/a-literary-game-of-telephone/

    Reply

  6. JoV
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 20:15:31

    Very strange that even I who reads Far Eastern lit did not heard about him. Must check the writer out now!

    Reply

  7. Andrew Blackman
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 00:58:06

    A new name to me as well! It’ll be interesting to read some of his books – sound intriguing with the link to Kafka and to the Latin American writing that Claire mentions.

    Reply

  8. Violet
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 01:26:01

    I’ve seen the film Red Sorghum which was based on Mo Yan’s book, but I’ve never read anything by him. I sort of wish Murakami had won for his body of work before IQ84, but his latest book is such a disappointment that I don’t think it would have gone down too well if he’d been given the gong.

    Reply

  9. Chinoiseries
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 11:52:21

    I started The Republic of Wine a while ago, but it was such a weird read that I abandoned it pretty soon. I’ve yet to find the motivation to pick up one of his books again. He undoubtedly deserves the prize, I’m just saying that his books are not always that accessible.

    Hope you like Red Sorghum, looking forward to reading your thoughts on it!

    Reply

  10. markbooks
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 15:25:34

    I’ll have to give him a try. Although I must say, having looked up some of his stuff, I’m not entirely sure I want to..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
