BBAW 2012 Favourite blogs

Well it’s that time of year and it seems to have come around quickly this year when it is the annual book blogger appreciation week ,this is the third I ve been involved with of the five years it has been running and this time there are no awards ,which I feel is better as the awards seem to add a feeling of whose best to the week when it should be what we do well and what we can all bring to the blogging table .I ve let the blog slip lately but hope now I ve wi-fi and a better shift pattern at work for blogging to be back this winter to the blog I was a while ago .Any way too todays task and it is the yearly favourite blog question I ve picked blogs other year I ve loved and will this time but different ones as I feel some blogs I ve mentioned a few times on the blogs and others I love I ve never really mentioned .so here we go .

Tony’s reading list

Tony has been around longer than me ,we have fairly similar tastes in books and he took part in the first shadow IFFP I ran earlier this year .I love tony mix of books he mix classics and translations so well but also reads a lot of books in the original language .

Beauty is a sleeping  cat 

Caroline is such a busy blogger she runs film and war book monthly meme’s and is also doing a Antiono Tabucchi reading week in a couple of weeks I hope to take part if my library ordered book arrives in time .Caroline covers mostly European lit and lots books she reads are new to me when she reviews them .

1streading blog 

I m not sure of the bloggers name here ,but they covered a lot of this years IFFP list and also a lot of other translated fiction and are a new boy on the book blogging scene .There reviews are more in-depth than mine ever could be ,if you’re not following you should try too .

Reader in the wilderness 

Judith is based in Canada and she reads a number of german books and in october is doing the first Bernhard Schlink reading week which I am looking very much forward too .She also cover a number of modern american and Canadian writers .

Gudruns tights 

I love Anbolyn she has commented on my blog with her earlier blogs ,she reads lots classics and female writers which are two areas I don’t read a lot from  so she is my go to blog .Most recent writer she made appeal to me was Barbara Pym which when I next see a second-hand book by her I ll be buying .

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gautami tripathy
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:05:08

    It is good to find some great blogs via BBAW! I am going to check out a few of those!

    Here is my BBAW: Appreciation post.

    Reply

  2. Bellezza
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:22:22

    I know Tony’s and Caroline’s blogs, and I agree: they are wonderful! As well as yours, and numerous others I’ll try to post about on my own blog. The things that you all do best are reading international/translated literature which exposes us all to wonderful authors and works.

    Reply

  3. Caroline
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:30:18

    Thanks so much for mentioning my blog. It means a lot.

    Reply

  4. booksandbey0nd
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:39:47

    You have some seriously wonderful blogs listed here. Thank you for the intro to these blogs, and they all feature books I am not familiar with. That’s a good thing. I love to discover new genres of books.
    BBAW Day 1

    Reply

  5. Shan
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 17:41:49

    I look forward to checking out those blogs. You have fantastic taste in books so I imagine they do as well!

    Reply

  6. Charlie
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 18:16:09

    I’ve Tony’s Reading List in my reader, and know of gunrun’s tights, but the others are new to me. I’m adding your blog too if that’s ok!

    Reply

  7. farmlanebooks
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 18:20:47

    I highlighted Tony and Caroline, but I don’t know the other blogs. I’m off to take a look.

    Reply

  8. Tanya Patrice
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 20:40:36

    Ooh I hadn’t heard of any of these blogs before, so I’m off to check them out. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  9. Redhead
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 00:33:26

    the only blog on your list that i know is Beauty is a Sleeping Cat, so I’m off to explore the others, certain to find some wonderful new-to-me blogs to follow!

    Reply

  10. whisperinggums
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 23:11:08

    Great list stu … I only know Tony’s Reading List (for obvious reasons) so will check out the others. Meanwhile I second Gudrun’s Tights on Barbara Pym. She’s well worth a look AND she’s from your corner of the world.

    Reply

  11. 1streading
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 19:17:53

    Thanks for mentioning my blog – and best of all I got to check out all the others! I was particularly pleased to find Antonio Tabucchi week, a writer I’ve enjoyed for many years. It’s great to know there are all those people out there who also love what you love.

    Reply

  12. Anbolyn Potter (@anbolynp)
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 18:29:40

    Oh,Stu! Thank you so much! I’ve been on vacation and not online much so just saw this post. I’m glad I can introduce you to new authors. You do the same for me. I would never hear about so many wonderful translated titles if it wasn’t for you. Thanks, again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
