Doctor I’m stuck in a world of English and US fiction can you help ?

I had this idea a couple of years ago for a book clinc and never did anything with it then Kim from reading matters mention a similar thing ,so I gone back to think about doing it more seriously this time ,its two years on and my knowledge base has expand on world literature in that time ,so I now feel I can do this probably .so like any doctor I ll be the translation doctor ,you come to me with a book you’ve loved in english and I ll go away and give you a prescription of a book in translation that may not be the same but will have similar themes so if you tell me what the book was about and maybe the themes in the book you liked and I ll put the time in and recommend something that touches the same themes or plot or if your very lucky both .

I ll give and example that isn’t really mine I must admit it is one that Meike from Peirene press frequently gives for reading the wonderful beside the sea and that is that is you loved the book room by Emma Donoghue ,you will see similar themes in this book .

Another from me would be the books of Roger Deakin ,his style is very similar to the German writers W G Sebald’s  book rings of Saturn I feel if you loved his  books you will get on with Sebald’s prose as they have a similar style .

So help get this start either leave a comment on a book you loved or e mail me and I try and help out otherwise to get ball rolling I just make up the first few books submitted .

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 15:01:12

    This is a cool idea Stu. i don’t have a book at this moment, though i will will looking forward to your recommendations.

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 16:11:01

    What a fantastic idea!! I will definitely be using you for a recommendation🙂 I’ll be sending an email soon🙂

    Reply

  3. pburt
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 16:51:24

    I’ll play – Last Night in Montreal by Emily St. John Mandel. It isn’t a well-known book, but I loved it and would like to read a European perspective on some of the same themes.

    Beside the Sea is still on my TBR list but I have to wait for the right moment as its topic will be difficult for me.

    Reply

  4. Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 21:40:13

    This is so cool, Stu!
    I know exactly the recommendation I’m interested in:
    Do you have any European or East European or Baltic or elsewhere titles that you know of that have a protagonist female or male who is age 50 plus? Usually age is not something I consider, but I have been enjoying books with older main characters lately.
    Anything along those lines would draw me in!

    Thanks for the generous offer, Stu!
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    Reply

  5. Amateur Reader (Tom)
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 23:10:14

    I am definitely not stuck in English, but I’ll give this a shot. John Crowley’s Little, Big is a gnostic fantasy about fairies and their interactions with humans. Maybe there are some books like it in translation.

    In reality, of course, I could not care less about themes or plot and am entirely interested in style. So thanks for the Roger Deakin recommendation! I will reverse your prescription.

    Reply

  6. bluebookbelle
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 16:32:31

    I have Translated Fiction section on my own blog, with a list of books i’ve read my reviews of them, if you fancy a look! Glad other people are interested in reading outside the Anglo book market!

    Reply

  7. farmlanebooks
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 19:45:37

    Great idea! I’ll have to think about a question for you🙂

    Reply

  8. amanda
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 21:54:28

    A neat idea, Stu! I can’t think off-hand of any books to ask about, but I like the concept very much.

    Reply

  9. Meike Ziervogel
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 14:47:18

    Brilliant idea! I will spread the word.

    Reply

  10. Gavin
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 00:48:28

    Great idea, Stu! I just finished Possession by A.S. Byatt and loved it. Any suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
