Spanish Language Lit Month July 2012

Spanish Language Lit Month

Well last year Iris hosted Dutch lit month and Caroline and Lizzie hosted German lit month .Well I decide it time we had a month celebrating Spanish language lit .I contacted one of my favourite Bloggers Richard from the blog Caravana De Recuredos .He is perfectly suited as he blogs bi lingually in English and Spanish and features a lot of Spanish fiction yet to reach us in English .So after much e mailing  and discussion for last couple of months, we are pleased to announce spanish language lit month ,I’ve  made a badge of sorts at the top it features all the spanish languages countries so you can see where to you could choose books to read from we have chosen two books to readalong during the month and a spanish film to watch as well .I love spanish fiction and really looking forward to sharing my passion with every one .

So the schedule we have put together is –

Week 1 – on the weekend which falls on 6 – 8 th July to post on the film Cria Cuervos a classic from  seventies follows an eight year girl in the dying years of the Franco regime.I’ve not seen it myself so sure richard will have more info .there is a DVD available and looks like it can be streamed as well .

Week 2 July 13 -15 on this weekend we’ll be talking about our first readalong choice .A brief live by Juan Carlos Onetti .This was his first novel to feature the fictional town of Santa Maria .The Uruguayan was one of the most respected writers from Latin America .The book is available in uk  and Us from Serpents Tail  .

Week 3 July 20 -22 , our second readalong book .My choice is from one my favourite Spanish writer Enrique Vila-Matas .His debut in English but actually he wrote a lot more in Spanish before this became available in English .Its Bartleby and Co .We meet Marcelo and Vila-Matas gives us echos of other books and writers in this modern classic one my favourite books from Spanish .This book is Published by Vintage in the UK and New directions in the US .This also ties nicely with his new book due out next month as well .

Week 4 – roundup weekend we ‘ll round up everyone’s reviews and  posts .

Please feel free to join in for one ,two or all three of our scheduled events .Also feel free to publish on any other book from the spanish speaking world .I ve already read a number of books to include in this month .I ll be posting nearer the time links to list of spanish and latin american books that you could choose from . I ve a number on my blog from Spain and Latin america already for you to  look at .

What is your favourite Spanish language book ?

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    May 23, 2012 @ 18:34:25

    This is great. I’m in. Of course I’m in. I’m glad you call it “Spanish Language Literature Month”, that includes so many countries.

    Reply

  2. BClás
    May 23, 2012 @ 18:46:18

    I love MONTANO´S, MALADY, Vila-Matas (New Directions)

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    May 23, 2012 @ 18:53:43

    I think July is going to be quite busy, but I don’t want to miss this. Love that there are lots of different activities so I can fit it around the other stuff which is going on. I have a Bolano on the shelf, Monsieur Pain, so I think I will save that for Spanish Lit Month…

    Reply

  4. Jackie Bailey (@farmlanebooks)
    May 23, 2012 @ 19:14:33

    This is just what I need to encourage me to finish two Spanish chunksters. I’ve been reading the amazing The Hand of Fatima for about 6 months now, but need to devote more time to it. I also hope to read The Seamstress soon and so will try and get a review together for both books before July. I look forward to seeing what others decide to read.

    Reply

  5. lizzysiddal
    May 23, 2012 @ 19:28:48

    July is traditionally Edinburgh Book Festival Preparation Month at Lizzy’s Literary Life and this year will be no exception but, if there are any Spanish-language authors appearing, I shall hunt out the books and read them in July. Don’t worry, there’s bound to be someone. That means I’m in.

    Reply

  6. Bellezza
    May 23, 2012 @ 20:02:03

    I’m sure that the books you both read, and review, will encourage so much interesting discussion through our reading blog-o-sphere. I’m looking forward tot he titles that you’ll bring to my attention.

    Reply

  7. Richard
    May 23, 2012 @ 22:20:31

    Very pleased to be assisting you with this, Stu, and very excited about reading (and reading about) some new books for the event. Looking forward to finding out which Spanish-language books and authors people will decide to read. In the meantime, I’ll put up my own intro post sometime soon to help spread the word on the other side of the pond. 😀

    Reply

  8. Rise
    May 24, 2012 @ 03:12:29

    Yes! *thumbed*

    Reply

  9. amanda
    May 24, 2012 @ 17:04:55

    I’ve been looking forward to this month since you first mentioned it! I don’t know if I’ll join in on the planned readings, but I’ll try to remember to request the movie from the library so I can join in with that. I think my biggest problem with this will be narrowing down which book(s) to read!

    Reply

  10. Geosi
    May 26, 2012 @ 08:12:39

    Great stuffs here for the Spanish Language Lit Month…all the best stu

    Reply

  11. parrish lantern
    May 27, 2012 @ 16:52:37

    will be following with interest & if the chance arises will chuck in my pennies worth.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Spanish Literature Month – July 2012 « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  13. Guy Savage
    May 27, 2012 @ 19:01:32

    I’m in but I don’t have a title picked yet.

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Events all Around | Simpler Pastimes
  15. Seamus Duggan
    May 27, 2012 @ 23:20:06

    As I mentioned on Richard’s site I have In Search of Klingsor and Shadow of the Wind on my 2012 TBR list so this is a chance to get them read. I’m also hoping to join in the ‘watchalong’ and at least one of the reasdalongs.
    I guess my favorite spanish language books would be The Savage Detectives and Don Quixote but that’s from a pretty unimpressive base. There’s much ground to be made up.

    Reply

  16. tolmsted
    May 29, 2012 @ 00:20:27

    I don’t have a title in mind for July – but I’m sure I’ll be reading one. Great idea – and count me in!

    Reply

  17. Iris
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:12:55

    I’m going to have to think which Spanish books I own. I’m not sure.. But I will try to participate, of course🙂

    Reply

  18. 1streading
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 19:27:50

    I’d love to join in – I’ve gone so far as to dig out my copy of A Brief Life. I was reminded of Onetti recently as Alan Warner has a new novel out and I remember years ago, right at the beginning of his career, he mentioned Onetti as an influence. (I remember because I thought, where would a boy from Oban come across Onetti?)I’ve read Bartleby & Co more recently but I might give Vila-Matas’ latest a go, Dublinesque as it should be out in time. Also Vargas LLosa’s The Dream of the Celt.
    Favourite Spanish writer? Javier Marias, of course!
    (Okay, I also have a weakness for the Captain Alatriste novels!)

    Reply

  19. bythefirelight
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 04:15:42

    Great idea. I can’t even begin to decide what my favorite book would be. I’ve read so many. I always loved Rulfo’s work, but perhaps the one that most stuck with me that is available in English is the Wrong Blood. I’d say Missing an Investigation by Fuguet, but I don’t think it has been published yet.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Why We Need Challenges | Simpler Pastimes
  21. Trackback: July 2012 is Spanish Language Lit Month! | BookSexy
  22. Trackback: Alvaro Mutis: Amirbar (1990) The Fifth Adventure of Maqroll « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  23. Trackback: On Juan Carlos Onetti’s A Brief Life – La vida breve (1950) « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  24. Trackback: The Book of Sand – Jorge Luis Borges | A Rat in the Book Pile

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
