Song for sunday Ian curtis 32 years

Well friday this week saw 32 years since the to soon passing of Joy Divisions lead singer Ian Curtis .The band have been with me since my early teens ,I lived near where the band was from so I  knew places where  he lived and the site of his grave   as I went to college in Macclesfield his hometown .Around the same time ,I remember hearing love will tear us apart in 1990 the 10th anniversary whilst I was working in a local pub ,boy as I heard it was 32 years on friday on 6 music I realised how quick those twenty-two years have gone as in my head so in a moment I had a proustian moment of being transported  back to a busy pub ,behind the bar serving people as this love will tear us apart came on the jukebox (what happen to jukeboxs you never see them these days )and finding myself caught in the moment and singing the lyrics .

Do you like Joy division?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    May 20, 2012 @ 17:33:21

    Loved them, Stu and went on to really enjoy New Order too. It makes me feel really old to realise he died so many years ago…

    Reply

  2. Maryom
    May 21, 2012 @ 19:55:53

    Joy Division ought to be nearer to my era but I’m mostly aware of them through the Wombats ‘Let’s dance to Joy Division’ – oops.

    Reply

  3. Caroline
    May 22, 2012 @ 17:52:37

    They used to be one of my favourite bands. Still haven’t watched the movie Control. Have you seen it?

    Reply

  4. parrish lantern
    May 28, 2012 @ 10:47:03

    Love Joy Division (She;’s lost Control, one of my all time Fav’s of any band etc.) & although I liked New Order, I loved Joy Division.
    To Maryom, have you heard Half man Half biscuits track “Joy Division Oven Gloves ” search it out for some amusement

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
