Winstons dad’s been to library

Its been while since I ve done a library loot post ,I ve been getting book from library but lot time I’ve left them unread and returned I manage to read all IFFP title but return a number of other books unread .So I choose some new books to get out and hopefully get to all these this time .

top row

Omon Ra by Victor Pelevin – A classic of post modern fiction satire the russian space programme ,sounds like a great mix to me .

Guilty by Anna Kavan – I think after reading Max’s  post on Ice by Kavan I fancied trying here books so there was ice and this one on the library shelves so I choose this one a Kafkaesque style as mark struggles with life after his father returns from the war

Let the wind speak by Juan Carlos Onetti The Uruguayan writer is someone I ve read once before so a return is due and this was his first novel written in Exile a looking back at his coming of age in Santa Maria

A few quick ones by P G Wodehouse – I m always mention Wodehouse as a writer I love as he makes me smile a bygone world of high jinx and care free lives ,then other day noticed I not reviewed a book by him on the blog so this collection of ten short stories which I ve not read shall be a great place to start .

Difficult loves by Italo Calvino Another short story collection must be robs influence on me .I want to try to read all Calvino’s  books so this is another one ticked of the list a collection from early on in his writing life stem from mid forties to early fifties .

Another part of the wood by Beryl Bainbridge Gaseklla is hosting a Bainbridge reading week after the success of the Spark week so I choose this one from 60’s a couple of families at war on holiday in Wales .Appealed as my first read by her .

Oroonoko by Aphra Behn A classic from 1600’s she was one of the first female writers this is about her visit to Surinam told from the point of view of a slave at the time he was a noble in his homeland and this helps him win respect of his english captors .

The Child by Jules Valles a french classic rather like great expectations but also with a dark realism ,be truthful I like the cover so picked it for that it made me smile .

A hunger artist by Franz Kafka I read all his novels and a collection of short stories in my twenties so saw this and not heard of the title before it is a collection of short stories bring together two of Kafka’s collection and some other stories ,yet more short stories .

The piano cemetery by Jose Luis Peixoto I read blank Gaze by Peixoto this is his latest book that came out last year Lazaro family make piano’s but one member of the family is also a marathon runner this is his story ,suitably quirky like blank gaze was .

Have you read any of these books ?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    May 04, 2012 @ 01:35:39

    I read a lot of Kafka short fiction last year. The title story is a good one, about a man who literally starves himself for other people’s entertainment…

    Reply

  2. JoV
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:13:20

    Unfortunately, I haven’t read any of these though. Enjoy your library books!

    Reply

  3. Gavin
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:57:30

    Great pile of book there, Stu. Returning books unread happens to me a lot. I go in to the library to pick up one or two book I have on hold and leave with at least a half dozen that I don’t really have time to read before they are due! Thanks for the link to Gaskella, I’m joining in for Bainbridge Week.

    Reply

  4. sakura
    May 04, 2012 @ 14:00:46

    A nice haul Stu. I haven’t read any of them and have only heard of. Wodehouse is also one of my favourite authors too:)

    Reply

  5. Mary Mayfield
    May 04, 2012 @ 14:20:06

    I took Oroonoko back to my library last week (and blogged about it today). I wonder if the same copy has made its way to you. I might start and leave tell-tale bookmarks or something in them…. I was intrigued by it after reading Iris on Books’ post about it – and I’m guessing you were too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
