Five Scottish artist for Muriel Spark week

As it is Muriel spark week ,I decide as she was Scottish I decide to do an expanded song for sunday .To include five of my favourite Scottish bands and singers –

First up is Scottish singer songwriter Ivor Cutler  ,I can’t remember the exact day I heard Ivor first but I know where I heard it and that was on John Peel ,I ‘d been twelve or thirteen under bed covers listening to his radio show .I remember thinking  this guy is surreal and still think that his deadpan delivery and odd humour make him a true one-off .

Second up are the  Jesus and Mary chain these were a band I discovered via friends at school or the NME  I can’t remember ,but there fuzzy hazy guitar and dark lyric matter soon made me a fan of them like a bastard child of the velvet underground and sex pistols with a bit of lee Hazelwood thrown in these guys looked like no one else in a time of flowers and fey pop .

In the early nineties Irvine Welsh appeared on the lit scene and just  before him the Scottish writer James Kelman won the booker so sottish dialect and tales of the dark side of growing up in Scotland were the order of the day so then step up Arab strap another band lead by a singer with deadpan singing style but much darker and up to date than Ivor Cutler .

Fourth up is King creosote a member of  the fence collective ,whose members all hail from the Kingdom of Fife in Scotland Crail King Creosote is only eight miles from my Late Gran’s home and near where my Aunt still lives ,also Fife is home to the mighty Rob of Rob around books .

 

Last I give you the Phantom band a band I ve like for the last few years the debut was in my top ten albums the year it came out ,they seem to embody all the Scottish artists  and bands I grew up with in one package .

Who are your favorite Scottish band ?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simon T
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 13:05:55

    Fun idea! Mine is probably Texas.

    Reply

  2. Seamus Duggan
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 16:31:45

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 17:00:16

    I am not saying The Bay city Rollers. teehee hee. i don’t often admit in public that I really don’t follow much music. My brain just doesn’t seem to remember the music I have listened to .

    Reply

  4. Mary Mayfield
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 22:57:06

    Proclaimers! Who else would walk 5oo miles?

    Reply

  5. parrish lantern
    May 01, 2012 @ 13:01:55

    Arab Strap, Belle & Sebastian,Boards of Canada,The Cocteau Twins, Mull Historical Society, Malcolm Middleton, Primal Scream,Mogwai, in fact the more you think about it the more you come up with , so I’ll stop now.
    PS.Teenage Fanclub anyone ?

    Reply

  6. Max Cairnduff
    May 02, 2012 @ 12:49:00

    Oddly enough Ivor Cutler taught in my primary school, something largely omitted from most bios of him. He wasn’t a teacher as such, he took a rather special sort of class with music and dance – a sort of semi-extracurricular thing. I hated it, and was mystified years later to discover he was actually moderately famous and not just some weird guy at my school who made us play cowboys and indians as a group while he played on the piano.

    Reply

  7. Geosi
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:32:49

    Great idea, all the best stu

    Reply

  8. aartichapati
    May 03, 2012 @ 14:25:54

    Oh, how fun! I am so glad you shared this with us. I am horrible at finding new music, but this helps🙂

    Reply

  9. 1streading
    May 06, 2012 @ 20:20:24

    Okay, it took a while but here goes:

    Call Mother a Lonely Field – Jackie Leven
    Frida Kahlo’s Visit to the Tay Bar – Michael Marra
    Pray the Dawn – James Grant
    You Can’t Win Them All Mum – Lost Soul Band
    Tom Weir – Aberfeldy
    (Ok, I would definitely have included King Creosote and Belle and Sebastian, but they’ve already been mentioned)
    And I love Muriel Spark.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
