Winstons coffee plus a song for April fools

Well as you all know I turned 40 two weeks ago and  these last two weeks been filled with reading for shadow independent foreign fiction prize this is first time in a long while . I have had a set books that I have  had to read it strange as it has focused my reading and also up my daily page count (I always try for 100 pages a day some days I do others I just don’t have time too ) as I needed to read 100 plus pages a day to get the books I had not read from the longlist done in the four weeks I had til shortlist comes  out as this years list is full of chunky books so I ve been relaxed about blogging and it has suited me I worried too much in the past about how often I posted and tried for daily post but these lat few weeks have shown less is indeed more as I have up the word count on my reviews from an average of 500 now up to 700 I feel this is part of my new-found confidence in my blog and the passion behind the blog which is fiction in translation .Previously I set the bar high and tried one to tie one to many strings to my bow .I know that doing what I do now is the best for me and my own confidence in the blog as a vision of what I want to pass on which is my love of translation ,as for shadow IFFP reading my last two reads the Amos oz scenes from village life then Aharon Appelfeld blooms of darkness both Israeli writers which have touch me in different ways maybe because both writers have had a number of books out so have developed a style of their own which shines out from some of the other books on the list .Also remind me how much I like Hebrew literature which has always been a favourite area of world literature for me .I wonder if other people find being given a list of books and working through them helps focus there minds and blogging style .I missing bloggeista this year as I have lot things I want to do but I think a weekend is to short time to get things in place and as I ve said small steps and fewer posts but more quality in the post I write is the way forward ,so at last a positive view from me I love my blog and have fallen back in love with blogging again .I may also thank my fellow shadow judges for both the IFFP and man asian our chats on twitter and via e-mail have inspired this blogger more than you will ever know .Any way enough with the blog it is april fools day a day for joy and laughter I ll; share a track from Jake Thackray the northern Noel coward or English Jacques Brel  he was a singer songwriter who wrote humorous and thought-provoking songs .I recently got his jake in a box which is 8 pound on i tunes a real bargain I think .so I give you sister Josephine a nun that isn’t what she seems .

So what you been up too ?

How do you find inspiration for blogging ?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish lantern
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:53:24

    great post & am happy that you feel comfortable in how you now blog & in turn that has reignited your love for the Winstonsdad’sblog. Will also add a big thank you for your inclusion of myself in the IFFP Shadow Jury as it has been fun & has also introduced me to some wonderful new writer so a big TA to you Stu. As to Thackray a great singer comic or otherwise.

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:57:27

    Hi Stu. I have tried following some of the award lists. There are some really terrific books that I would never have known about if I hadn’t done this. One year I read the books shortlisted for the Orange prize. Six large books in four weeks was too much stress. I did enjoy having read them, but totally disagreed with the judges results

    Where do I get inspiration for Blogging. Well,to be truthful, it’s kind of been lagging lately life has thrown a few curves this past hear and that is hard, but when I write a post and I get such supportive comments, I want to write another post. I guess I get my inspiration from my readers.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 18:42:23

      I love comments they make me feel wanted ,also connecting with great readers ,this had some huge book luckily read longest one before prize out ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. reviewsbylola
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 14:15:56

    I am awful at following award lists. Happy belated birthday!

    Reply

  4. Stephanie Brennan (@B4Steph)
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 22:22:59

    Hi Stu. I haven’t commented before so I thought it was about time. I enjoy your blog. I visit for the obvious reason of discovering new authors and good books. You mentioned Amos Oz. I’m a fan – I think he’s terrific.

    Also loved the Sister Josephine song. Funny coincidence as I put up a post about nuns today. Glad you re-discovered your love of blogging. I’ll be back.

    Reply

  5. whisperinggums
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:53:31

    That’s a really nice comment Stu about the shadow teams … and back atcha!

    Blogging can take over your life I know and I’ve had to talk to myself severely re my expectations of myself and my feeling that I need to keep up with other more prolific bloggers. I don’t read as much as some do. I’m impressed that you can manage to read around 100 pages a day. I aim for about 50 but don’t even do that some days. I decided quite early in my blogging career that around 3 posts a week would do me fine. So far it’s working for me and I feel guilty if I write too many more!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 18:45:46

      Yes enjoyed the interaction between us bloggers ,I try for 100 but have been doing more recently just to clear this list ,3 posts is suiting me at moment ,all the best stu

      Reply

  6. whisperinggums
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:55:43

    Oh, I should say, that my sense of guilt is simply because my readers have got used to my level of frequency and may feel overwhelmed if I suddenly bombard them with more. Some bloggers I know write daily and their readers have got used to that and love them for that.

    Reply

  7. Geosi
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 17:18:54

    I would still say happy birthday to you, all the best stu.

    Reply

  8. Vishy
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 06:13:53

    Enjoyed reading your post, Stu🙂 Hope you are enjoying reading the IFFP longlisted books. Loved that Jake Thackray song you have posted. I haven’t heard his songs before. He he looks like a unique singer and musician.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
