I got Picked for WBN 2012 WHOOP WHOOP

I didn’t enter world book night last year I’m a quiet person on the whole and was rather nervous at the prospect of handing books out but this years after trying to get beside the sea in top100 and nearly doing it .I want to pass on my passion for translation so when two made the final twenty five I choose Let the right one in by John Ajvide Lidqvist Swedish vampire story which I had read and Enjoyed  and is translated .I also have now brought the Swedish film for Amanda so we can watch it together I hope to give the book to people I work with .I m so happy I was chosen and for a book from one of my favourite publisher as well Quercus .I look forward to passing my love on to people and handing my copies out to everyone .

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bellezza
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 22:38:44

    So happy you’re selected to pass out books, Stu. I know what you mean about being a quiet person, such is the way I consider myself, and yet it’s good to share our passions with others, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 22:55:52

    Yay! Congratulations, Stu! I had the same reservations as you last year, but this year I decided to go for it, and have also been picked. I will be handing out The Road at the local railway station, with the help of my daughters.

    Like your choice. Very appropriate.

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 22:57:22

    Congrats, Stu! I’m going to hand out copies of Sherman Alexie’s Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. It’s a very funny novel and can speak directly to the lives of so many in my community. We’re in the same part of the country so it’s even more appropriate.

    Reply

  4. Simon T
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 00:18:03

    Congrats! Hope it goes well.

    Reply

  5. Kerry
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 02:01:22

    Congratulations, Stu! That should be fun. (And congrats to Sarah (McCarthy, of course….always an excellent choice, and The Road particularly so, especially for handing out to strangers because it has such broad appeal) and Lynne (I keep wanting to read Alexei, haven’t yet, another nudge, thanks).

    Reply

  6. Caroline
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 07:18:15

    Good for you. I haven’t read it yet but the movie is very good. Novroz reviewed it for my World Cinema Series.

    Reply

  7. Annabel (gaskella)
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 09:09:57

    I didn’t get my act together to apply this year – but I loved doing it last yr. The book you’ve chosen is my favourite vampire novel ever – very real, very scary, yet touching – very good indeed!

    Reply

  8. JoV
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 12:55:36

    It’s a great joy to be able to share so many books to a lot more people. Although I do so continuously through my own budget, but this WBN initiative is a big one. Congratulations Stu. I didn’t even know this book was selected as one in the list!

    Reply

  9. Parrish
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 13:33:27

    Congrats stu, hopefully my nagging you, was taken as support to take part & not purely nagging (lol). I truly believe that only by being part of the mechanism of events like this, do we have any chance of promoting more world literature as an essential part of world Book Night, which is why my daughter & I will be taking part again, also last year was fun.
    PS, have all the books in this years event on my blog.

    Reply

  10. savidgereads
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 22:30:27

    Congrats Stu, and what a brilliant choice, something in translation and something a bit spooky and sinister – great stuff.

    Reply

  11. Heather
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 12:32:13

    This is great Stu. Hopefully it will expand to Canada soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
