Winstons books ome London treasures

Well last week I went for a day trip to a book launch that I ll tell you about next week ,but as ever a trip to London means a chance to meet my good friend again Simon from inside books and a trip to a larger better stock book shop .Again it as the London review bookshop we visited so we had a nice coffee and chatted for an hour then Simon had to return to work and I browsed but I d already checked a number of books I had on the wish list for a while I end up buying three two I ve pictured and Niki the story of a dog by TIbor Dery a NYRB classic .

20120211-193533.jpg
The two books are mind at peace by Ahmet Handi Tanpinar called the Turkish Ulysses written in thirties translated last year Orhan Pamuk calls it the greatest novel on Istanbul praise indeed .The other a thousand deaths plus one by Sergio Ramirez a Nicaraguan writer a story of a photograph told in two parts from a man considered one best Latin American writersand this got a A review on complete review which is good enough for me .after my L.R.B visit, a quick twitter chat with Henry of Bloomsbury books I got to spend half hour talking books and putting a name too a twitter face also I got two proofs and told about Henry’s new venture with Bloomsbury called  Bloomsbury circus a return to the daring fiction they started with .These are in nice large trade paperbacks with lovely flaps on .There out soon the two proofs are

20120211-195106.jpg
Dan Vyleta a German based in Canada Writer set in Vienna he has been compared to Graham Green and this seems like a dark novel set at the start of the war .The other book is ignorance Michele Roberts two women in wartime in a small French village secrets and life during wartime it’s been compared to Faulks and Nemirovsky due out in may .I ve also had a number of books in the post in last two weeks firstly

20120211-203017.jpg
Thanks to miles of milo’s rambles  who I meet and had kindly passed my name on to the new pr for Europa editions that are now setting up in uk as well as USA the three books are The hottest dishes in Tatar cuisine by Alina Bronsky Rosa tries old folk-lore remedies on her stupid to stop the pregnancy of her daughter but then when Aminat is born she loves her granddaughter and tries to wrestle her from her daughter then years later they have chance to escape from Russia .This is one I wanted to read when I heard about it last year .Rondo by Kazimierz Brandys a polish classic set during occupation of Warsaw and Tom an ordinary man drawn into the resistance .The third is I hadn’t understood Diego De Silva A comic novel set Naples about a hapless lawyer Malinconico.

20120211-204419.jpg
The panda theory by Pascal Garnier from Gallic books a noir novel set in a small French village Gabriel a stranger in a Breton village and comes embroiled in the locals lives ,dark and humorous by the late French writer .

20120211-204931.jpg
Seven house in France by Bernardo Atxaga the basque writer I ve read two of his earlier books this seems slight change as its set 1903 in Congo at a garrison another dark and comic tale with what sounds like Atxaga’s usual cast of surreal characters .I know jackie from farmlane books wasn’t very keen on this so I want to see what she may have not liked and i feel the same .

20120211-205642.jpg

And last but not least is the seventh book from Peirene Press and the first from the year of the small epic a finnish novel call the brothers by Asko Sahlberg the story of two brothwer on opposing sides during the Finnish Russian war .I used my new camera app on the ipad .

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parrish
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 21:38:56

    Reading Brothers at the moment & have heard a lot of good things concerning The hottest dishes in Tatar cuisine, be interested to see what you make of it. So looking like a good list.

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 11:37:49

    Well that’s a productive trip and no mistake! Hope you didn’t break the bank…

    Reply

  3. farmlanebooks
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 13:57:04

    What a lot of great new books! I hope you enjoy them and look forward to your thoughts on the Atxaga. Hopefully you’ll be able to tolerate horrible characters more than I can.

    Reply

  4. Anbolyn
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 19:55:12

    What a nice bunch of books! Those two Bloomsbury proofs looks really good to me.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Winstons books ome London treasures « Winstonsdad's Blog | Books Palace
  6. Juxtabook
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 22:38:48

    Thanks for reminding me of the LRB bookshop. I am off to London for the weekend (for the first time in 18 years!) and I am hoping to persuade my friend to visit a few bookshops with me (like I need more books!). I also fancy finding myself a copy of The Hottest Dishes in Tatar Cuisine by Alina Bronsky Rosa; thanks for flagging that up too.

    Reply

  7. gina @letterandline
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 01:54:13

    Very excited to see Europa Editions! I hope you enjoy HOTTEST DISHES–it was one of my favorite books last year. I’m looking forward to what Bloomsbury Circus has in store. Looks like a great start, so far!

    Reply

  8. Aarti
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 04:54:13

    What an excellent set of books! I like how so many of them match the background of the pictures, too🙂 The Tartar Cuisine book has such a great title!

    Reply

  9. Frank
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 10:05:23

    The great, magisterial novel by Ahmet Handi Tanpinar (as yet unpublished in English, but currently being translated by Maureen Freely) is “The Time Regulation Institute” which I read in French some years ago

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
