Winstons books

I didn’t get many books for christmas ,well that is a lie really I ‘d in a way I got an I Pad from the lovely Amanda ,which via i books ,kobo and kindle has a infinite number of books and will replace my broken E-reader .Any way to make up for the lack of paper books I had five arrive in the last week they were –

The silver bridge by Paul Michael Francis ,a love story Karmia a pop star and Claire ,he has secrets and we follow his journey from Hollywood to Greece ,I m an old romantic at heart so look forward to this .

The Detour BY  Gerbrand Bakker – many thanks to Elie how sent this just because I said  I love the twin by him ,this story is also set in a rural area ,this time it is wales not Holland .A women on the run after a scandal her husband in pursuit and geese our disappearing add up to an odd story I would imagine .

Where Tigers are at home by Jean Marie Blas de Robles – a triple prize winning french novel that took ten-years for Jean-Marie to write and nearly as long to publish as he didn’t want it chop as it is 700 pages long .set in Brazil this novel ahs multiple layers set in modern brazil and 16th century europe .I was kindly sent this by Daedalus books .

Adventures in the rocky mountains by Isabella Bird &  Black Hawk -life of black hawk or ma-ka-tai-me-she-kia-kiak -two classic bits of american lit one native american and the other a brave women .These were sent kindly by one of my favourite blogger Richard from Caravana de recuerdos 

All photos via my instagram accout .What books did you get for Christmas ?

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Mayfield
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 13:10:40

    Interesting looking books. I’m especially intrigued by Adventures in the Rocky Mountains – might even try to track it down for myself.
    I only had two in my Christmas stocking – Abel and Cole cookbook and Bake your own Doggy Biscuits!

    Reply

  2. parrish
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 13:47:40

    For Xmas in book form I got, The Box Man – Kobo Abe, And Then – Soseki Natsume, A Brief history of Fables – Lee Rourke, The sister Brothers – Patrick DeWitt, New Finnish Grammar- Diego Marani + loads on the kindle via a gift card & Amazon’s 12 days of Kindle. So all in all a reasonable haul, just got to read them now.

    Reply

  3. Judith / Leeswammes
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 14:00:07

    Looks good, Stu! I got a bookcase, no books. But that was even better! A place to put my abundance of books.

    You know, I’ve never read anything by Gerbrand Bakker, even though I’m Dutch. The book sounds interesting and so does The Silver Bridge.

    Reply

  4. The Book Whisperer
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 14:26:58

    Nice, Stu!

    I have been offered a copyt of The Silver Bridge too but haven’t accepted yet as I am drowning in review copies – however I do like the sound of it so I am eagerley awaiting your review🙂

    Reply

  5. Rikki
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:56:01

    I like the idea of taking pics via Instagram. I might try that out next time… Do you mind if I “steal” your idea?

    Reply

  6. simon
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:35:56

    Looks like a really good haul there stu. look forward to reading your reviews of them

    Reply

  7. JoV
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 20:36:25

    What a good haul for the Christmas, I look forward to read your reviews of them!

    Reply

  8. Emily Jane
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 20:49:01

    These look interesting Stu, I’m especially curious about Where Tigers Are at Home.

    Reply

  9. Gavin
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:02:52

    Lovely books, Stu. I did get some books for the holidays, including Life and Fate by Vasily Grossman and Monsters in America by W. Scott Poole. Now I have to get my hands on The Detour!

    Reply

  10. Tony
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 23:47:03

    I didn’t really get anything for Christmas, but I won five Anthony Trollope books in a Twitter competition, so I can’t wait for them to arrive🙂

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Winstons books « Winstonsdad's Blog | Books Palace
  12. Penny
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 01:43:13

    Charles Dickens, A Life by Jane Smiley. I was quite surprised by it, since I prefer fiction to literary bios. The book is rather professorial. I dug in and can say there is an emphasis on Dickens’ dissatisfaction with unfair treatment of the poor and their neglected conditions re health, education, misery. Actually I was hoping for Henry Green books and had dropped a few hints. I’m resigned to searching for them myself, not easy in the USA (and also not easy since I usually purchase used books instead of new).

    Reply

  13. Richard
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 05:05:05

    Stu, so glad those two books made it to you safe and sound–hope you enjoy them and have fun with your iPad, you lucky guy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
