New year new plans into year three of blogging

Well 2011 has drawn slowly to a close here I’ve been away from blogging over Christmas to spend time with family .but am now ready for next year I ve decided to avoid challenges this coming year as I felt they distract my reading as I tend to find it hard to stick to them as I m a flighty reader , whether later in year this may change but at moment I just want to feel free in my reading again ,I be more careful with review choices next year as I feel ive been pigeonholed as a bit of a crime lover which I am but my main love will always be lit fiction And mainly fiction in translation especially those books that get overlooked or we re missed when they came out  .Plans I ve set down so far thou for next year  are – the shadow Asian reading and Judging which I m enjoying ,henry green week which is at the end of this month ,shadow IFFP reading and a Spanish Language fiction month at some point in the year ,which is enough as I start to try to get my rhythm back with blogging ,book reading target well I managed 132 books again like it was in 2010 last year (can see how far behind I fell with my reviews in last few months ,as I enter the third year of blogging regularly I feel I found my niche in the blogging world  now and have now got my own style of blogging, which suits me .I feel three to four post a week which is the level I want to be posting at and need to clear backlog of books unreviewed .I added twenty new countries to the blog this year and read from books from fifty different countries ,slightly less than last year but new countries are getting hard to find and I wanted to add some depth to places and felt I did that I ll do the same next year .

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:09:48

    Well done Stu🙂

    Congratulations on 2011’s efforts, and here’s to a big 2012🙂

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:19:12

    Great achievements. Congratulations and I wish you an even greater 2012

    Reply

  3. The Book Whisperer
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:20:14

    Good luck with your blogging plans for 2012, Stu. I have just posted mine too. It’s funny as I feel that I have also been pigeonholed as a crime reader (don’t get me wrong, it’s one of my favourite genres) but I feel that I have neglected my other favourite which is victorian classics. I want to read more diversely again this year and not get bogged down with so many review copies.

    Happy New Year Stu. Wishing you and Amanda a happy and healthy 2012🙂

    Reply

  4. whisperinggums
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:43:01

    All sounds good Stu … as you know I don’t do challenges either (though I may make an exception for an Aussie women’s challenge in 2012 – that wouldn’t really be a challenge as I read Aussie women anyhow so I would just keep doing what I’m doing!). I usually post 3 – 4 posts a week (14-16 a month) and find that that works for me. As a reader of blogs I find it hard when a lot of bloggers post more so that sort of number does me a favour too! (LOL)

    Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Reply

  5. gaskella
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 13:40:57

    Your devotion to world lit in particular is commendable Stu – I hope you manage to find some new places for 2012! Have a good one – Cheers.

    Reply

  6. Bellezza
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 15:25:23

    Am just concluding Loving of Henry Green’s Loving*Living*Party Going, and posted about Henry Green week on my blog. It’s been so fun to have your introduction to new-to-me authors. Love that you added twenty new countries to your reading! Best to you in 2012, you have great plans.

    Reply

  7. Rise
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 15:53:30

    A wonderful year for you, Stu. I’ll be on the on your focus on neglected books and translated fiction.

    Reply

  8. Heather
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 15:54:33

    I like your plans for the new year, specially the Spanish language month. I plan to read more First Nations Authors, whether they be Canadian or other countries. First goal is to clear up the pending reviews and reading of arcs. Then the serious fun begins, whereever that might take me.

    I always enjoy coming to visit with you, probably because you read such and interesting assortment of books which varies so widely from mine. Thanks.

    Reply

  9. Tracey
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 16:45:07

    Best of luck with your plans Stu and congratulations on all your reading this year. It’s exciting isn’t it making plans – Happy new year.

    Reply

  10. Parrish
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 17:00:40

    Hi Stu, hopefully your plans will come to fruition, although I personally think you had a successful 2011 despite your own reservations. I myself have downsized my challenges & just picked a few, which will hopefully link. my best wish for you in the new year is to enjoy what you do & to remember that is why you’re doing it.

    The best of wishes for the coming year to you & yours, oh & a virtual bone for Winston.

    Reply

  11. Gavin
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 21:38:45

    Best of luck in 2012, Stu. You have a wonderful blog and have helped me stretch my reading comfort zone by introducing me to authors from all over the world.

    Reply

  12. Sarah
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 23:43:55

    Happy New Year Stu. Good luck catching up with that blogging backlog. I have one of those too😦

    You have read an enviable number of books again this year, and continue to cover an amazing range of translations. I hope you will enjoy your reading more without the challenges. Best wishes, Sarah.

    Reply

  13. Simon
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 01:08:37

    Great reading effort stu and your plans sound really good and will enjoy reading your posts and the results of another year of great reading and blogging

    Reply

  14. amanda
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 03:06:16

    Wow, you covered a lot of different countries in 2011! I like the sounds of a Spanish Language fiction month, as I have some of that planned for this coming year. Enjoy your reading and finding new countries.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  15. Anbolyn
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 04:23:27

    I am so impressed that you read literature from 50 different countries last year. Awesome! I wouldn’t know very much about translated fiction if it wasn’t for you, so thank you. And I am really looking forward to Henry Green Week. I found my copy of Loving and am ready to go! All the Best in 2012!

    Reply

  16. Violet
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 09:21:32

    It sounds as though you have some concrete plans for the coming year and have decided what direction you want your blog to take. I’ve found I don’t do well with challenges or read-alongs, so I only signed up for two, plus I’ll read a Henry Green, because I haven’t read him before and I like the look of his work. I don’t read review copies, but I’ve heard a few people say that it gets a bit overwhelming and tends to pigeonhole them. Good luck with your plans and best wishes for 2012.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 00:04:50

      It can Violet I get a number but am being selective now as most I don’t ask for ,I m terrible at challenges so won’t do them again I know its way to meet bloggers but sure I ll get by with out doing them ,all the best stu

      Reply

  17. Kinna
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 23:59:16

    Congratulations, Stu. I completely agree; you are to be commended for your efforts in reading and promoting translated fiction. I think the niche is a really good fit for you. I like your plans. I may join you for the shadow IFFP. Good luck with everything in 2012 and enjoy your reading.

    Reply

  18. Vishy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 16:33:03

    Congratulations on a wonderful reading year in 2011, Stu! Hope you have a great reading year in 2012 too! I love that picture of Henry Green you have posted. I have seen only older pictures of him. This is the first time I am seeing Winston’s picture – he looks so handsome🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
