winstons coffee and muffin – plugged in

 

Well after a week away for blog and google reader ,Facebook  for most part ,I feel refreshed and ready to face the blogging world again .I had a busy week at work til thursday and then I’ve had the weekend with Amanda we went to Sheffield on friday and I called in there Waterstones which is much large than the one than we have in Chesterfield .So here are the books I got .

Dona Flor and her two husbands by Jorge Amado – Brazil’s most famous writer of modern times ,a women loses her first husband,she  remarried and then her first husband reappears on her first night with her husband .I liked sound of this one in the shop .

Petersburg by Andrei Bely – This was mentioned on a radio show the other week and I remembered it was one I had noted a time ago as to read .So this new penguin edition seemed a great buy Vladimir Nabokov choose it as one of his five favourite books .He is often called the russian James Joyce .

Cairo swan song by Mekkawi Said – the other day I noticed my supply of Arabic books had run down in last couple of years so this is a welcome addition to that pile short-listed for the Arabic booker prize in 2008 .Mustfa tells the story of himself and his friends growing up in modern Egypt .

I brought the fourth book at tesco the other day as Amanda saw a book she wanted and I saw this one .

The savage altar by  Asa Larsson – this is the first in the Rebecka Martinsson series ,after I enjoyed until thy wrath be past .I looking forward to seeing where this story starts .

 

I also visited the local Oxfam on saturday and brought three books –

Grotesque by Natsuo Kirino – A Japanese thriller ,every one is 1Q84 at mo .I’ll try something else and I liked the sound of this very dark sounding book .

Malgudi days by R K Narayan – I had this from library as part of a collection of four of his books but didn’t get to read it so this was a good find as I love the world of Malgudi Narayan drew in his books .

The hard life by Flann O’Brien – I keep saying to Kim mainly of reading matters I need to read some irish fiction so got another of O’brien to read he is clever and funny but sometimes I find him a little hard to get hold of and I like that when I m reading .

Have you read any of these ?

What did I miss ?

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 22:57:54

    Hi stu,Kirino’s Grotesque is good, nearly as good as her out, not read any of the others & although I’ve both the new Murakami’s am not gonna read them yet, will wait till I have enough free time, as they’re to big to haul around on my bike commute to work, or may get E – versions as well, either way am in no rush, as have many others on my TBR.

    Reply

  2. Matt Craig
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 23:36:58

    I haven’t read Kirino’s Grotesque yet, but I loved her first novel (or at least the first one translated to English), OUT. Dark and horrific, beautifully told. If Grotesque is half as good, it’ll be a damn fine read.

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the first Martinsson, too. I also enjoyed Until Thy Wrath Be Past, and hope to one day have the time to go back and start from the beginning (I’m such a slow reader!).

    Reply

  3. Bellezza
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 23:47:28

    I so enjoy Natsuo Kirino’s writing; I’ve read Real World, and Out (my favorite), but not Grotesque. Looking forward to your thoughts on that. All the other titles are new to me! Glad that you’re plugged in again, refreshed and renewed. It’s good to find a balance, and possibly take a week off from time to time.

    Reply

  4. Becky (Page Turners)
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 03:13:12

    Sounds like you had a good relaxing week off and have yourself soem great books. I hope that you enjoy them!

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 05:54:26

    My husband’s a big fan of Flann O’Brien but I’ve never tried him. Savage Altar is excellent. Happy reading!

    Reply

  6. Caroline
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 09:22:01

    Wonderful books, Stu.
    I got a Kirino novel, sounds really dark. I also need to read Asa Larsson.
    Hadn’t heard of Bely before put will put it on the wish list.

    Reply

  7. whisperinggums
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:07:26

    I have read Grotesque … not long before I started blogging so haven’t reviewed. I liked it a lot and plan to read more of her work. I have read Flann O’Brien but not this one. I’ve also read Jorge Amado, but again not this one. I’d like to read more of his though.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 31, 2011 @ 18:53:40

      O’brein is a writer that I want to know better as I find him difficult to grasp ,amado book sounds wonderful and think it was made into a film as well ,all the best stu

      Reply

  8. sakura
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:21:20

    I’ve only read Grotesque which I found much more disturbing than Out. But you can’t deny what an interesting writer Kirino is.

    Reply

  9. Gavin
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 13:34:35

    Mr G has Out and The Real World on a pile of books I must read one day. I haven’t read any of the others. I’m glad you are refreshed by your blogging break. I find a few days away from the computer helps to clear my head!

    Reply

  10. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 14:11:11

    I’ve only read Grotesque which was a bit disappointing in comparison to Out, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy iy to some extent. Have a wonderful November!

    Reply

  11. Kinna
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 09:46:28

    Glad you are back. One cannot underestimate the value of a blogging and internet break. All good reads, these books. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
