Steig Larsson my friend by Kurdo Baksi

Steig larsson my friend by Kurdo Baksi

Swedish Non fiction

Translated by Laurie Thompson

Steig Larsson is without a doubt the biggest success in translated fiction of recent times ,he also lead to the great number of Nordic crime books we see on our book shop shelves ,unfortunately he died before the huge success of the books he wrote hit home  ,so this book by a colleague and good friend of the man is a great insight into him as a person and writer .Kurdo Baksi a Kurd writer journalist and magazine owner , that has lived in Sweden since the 80’s like Stieg he is a figure in the anti fascist movement in Sweden and runs a magazine about anti fascism .he first meet Stieg in 1992 as their paths crossed with stieg,s non fiction books on the extreme right in Sweden and the shared beliefs in this movement grew into a great friendship .They both ran magazines Stieg Larsson Expo and Kurdo Baksi Svartitt .We let into the world of Swedish journalism where these two writers Stieg in particular walk a line of danger where because they have highlighted the extreme right with exposes of these movements ,they have to watch what they do ,then there is also the hate mail he got from the right-wing nutters .What you get is Stieg dedication to democracy   and freedom of speech this lead to long hours and as Kurdo put it a man fueled by cigarettes and coffee in equal measures .The two men are drawn closer when Stieg magazine runs into trouble so rather than let it go out of print he and Kurdo join together and publish the two magazines as one as Kurdo is a better business man than Stieg  .THE other thread of Stieg life that kurdo lets us  into is the personnel man Stieg lived with his partner Eva whom kurdo knows well and helps at times when she is worried about Stieg  had traveled a lot in his youth as a sort of backpacker spend time in africa this had a lasting effect on him .

On 30 november 1998 ,T.T . issued a newsflash .The anti racist journal Expo had been resurrected ,thanks to a merger with the swedish magazine svartvitt .

I was quoted ;”expo had been outstandingly good at investigating racism .but they never grasped how to make money .That is where I can help them ”

The magazine combine their talents .

So you can say I liked this book in fact I loved it read it in an evening as I want to learn  more a\nd more about Stieg I enjoyed the millenium trilogy when I read it and knew a bits about Stieg’s life, but this book fleshed out the scant facts I had . He comes across as a man who work hard in fact a real workaholic that slept very little  and cared for his fellow-man ,the millenium trilogy is just part of his story his activism was the bigger picture and that in turn is shown in the books of the millenium trilogy which the Kurdo appears in as a character .This bio is a loving tribute from someone who knew Stieg and admired him also due to working everyday with him for later part of Stieg life knew him as he worked on the books that made his name .

Have you read this or Stieg’s trilogy ?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 12:16:41

    I have not as yet read any of the trilogy though I’ve watched the movie version of the girl with the dragon tattoo, which I enjoyed.

    Reply

  2. Violet
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 13:09:56

    I’ve seen this book discounted to $3. I guess not a lot of people wanted to read it here. I wish I’d picked up a copy now, as you make it sound very interesting. I read the Millenium Trilogy on a dare and it damn near killed me. It’s not my usual fare and his reportage style of writing drove me batty, but the books dealt with important topics and I did like the Lisbeth Salander character. I think Larsson was a real crusader and it’s a shame he died so young.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 10:09:21

      I feel he is like one of these great pop stars such shame he died but he left behind a great book ,I can see why this may get discounted but it is a shame such a loving view of the man and Kurdo seems a nice guy as well according to publisher that has meet him ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. Matt Craig
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 19:41:42

    Looking forward to reading this one (moreso now that I’ve read your review).

    I picked up DRAGON TATTOO on a whim: the UK hardback was gorgeous – very eye-catching – and the blurb grabbed me. I loved the book. I enjoyed the next two books as well, but found that they dragged in places and were slightly overlong sometimes. A bit of judicious editing could have condensed the two books into a single volume, without losing anything important, and left us with a damn-near perfect two-parter.

    Well worth the read, though, and it’s good to see a biography of the man from one of his close friends.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 10:05:46

      yes agree with editing bit but they are great books thou and after reading this I want to go back and reread and blog abouyt them at some poijnt ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Matt Craig
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 10:48:33

    Agreed. Some of the best books I’ve read in the past half-dozen years. Just wish I’d been blogging when I read them originally🙂

    Reply

  5. sakura
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 22:09:42

    I really enjoyed the Millenium trilogy (and the films) although I do agree that they did need a bit more editing. But they did show me a different side to Sweden, one that is far removed from the equal society we read so much about.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Eurovision of books 2013 what to read from the final | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
