Proust 90 th anniversary readalong ?

 

I saw it was 90 years since the death of the french writer Marcel Proust next year and the little voice in my head said read along ,this tied with a recent ABC books show where yet another person picked his masterpiece in search of lost time or if you’re a bit older remembrance of things past as one of their all time favourite reads .It is also a favourite on desert island discs as the desert island read

It was published in seven volumes from 1913 -1927

  1. Swann’s way
  2. Within a budding grove
  3. The Guermantes way
  4. Cites of the plain
  5. The prisoner
  6. The fugitive
  7. The past recapture

 

What I thought was a 14 month readalong two months on every book with a monthly post for half way and complete reading .ending in 2013 would tie in with 100 th anniversary of the publication of volume one .My editions are the older Moncrieff / kilmartin editions published in the late eighties from penguin I brought second-hand .

At moment I m just want to raise the flag and see what interest there is I ve never got past Swann’s way and feel I need a push to get through it all and want to as it is considered one of the major works of 20th century european literature .

Have you read the book ?

Are you interested in joining in ?



45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 20:32:06

    I read it a few years ago but I think it’s one of those books that needs a re-read to properly appreciate it. I am interested in participating.

    Reply

  2. WordsAndPeace
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 20:51:30

    Thanks for mentioning this anniversary. I’m French and have just fallen again in love with Proust. i discovered I could read it ALL in French on dailylit.com, they send me the book by daily installments, thru my google reader. I just finished Du côté de chez Swann (review upcoming), and plan definitely to make it thru the 7 volumes. I want to finish an ebook I’m in right now, before my egalley cancels out, and then to volume 2. I loved his description of nature and music so much. Emma @ Words And Peace

    Reply

  3. parrish
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 21:33:07

    Read this in the old title, a good few years ago & although this does sound appealing my bookshelves are groaning with material I’m supposed to be reading & I’ve got a glut of challenges awaiting my response – so will follow with interest & in spirit. Great idea.

    Reply

  4. Rise
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 01:55:38

    Very tempting, Stu. I’ve been meaning to read Proust. I’m interested in joining in the first volume.

    Reply

  5. Vishy
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 08:41:07

    Thanks for this wonderful initiative, Stu! I want, want, want to read Proust! I tried reading ‘Swann’s Way’ a few times and gave it up everytime. One of my friends keeps sending me quotes from Proust trying to tempt me to read it. I remember Somerset Maugham saying about Proust that he would sooner be bored by Proust than be amused by any other writer🙂 I would like very much to join your read-along🙂 Do tell us more about it, like when you are planning start it, whether we will have monthly discussion posts and other such interesting things🙂

    Reply

  6. Mel u
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 09:23:48

    Hi-I will for sure join in-I also checked dailylit.com and they have the first five volumes in translation -great idea-

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 10:54:55

    Hi Stu.
    I’ve never even considered reading this author, but I did go and download the first book and will give it a try. If I enjoy it, I’ll continue.

    Reply

  8. Tony
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 11:10:45

    I read the first part earlier this year, and I’m plucking up the courage to move onto the second part before the end of 2011 (as my French isn’t as good as my German, it’s a big undertaking though!).

    Reply

  9. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 12:20:15

    I have not read the book but I think I’d be interested though my copy is Remembrance of Things Past II. Let me know if it gets underway. thanks

    Reply

  10. Lisa Hill
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 12:42:41

    Would love to join in with this, but oh dear, I don’t know if I could fit it in. Maybe if I can do some cathcing up and getting organised in the next school holidays? Don’t count me out just yet…

    Reply

  11. Kelly
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 12:50:07

    I am so tempted to do this. It will depend on my workload once the readalong starts, but right now I think I’ll be able to participate! Otherwise I’ll still love reading your posts about the readalong🙂

    Reply

  12. A Damned Conjuror
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:38:31

    oooh maybe…the first volume has been sitting on my shelf for years so it be good to have some kind of motivation.

    Reply

  13. Sarah
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 19:08:21

    Fabulous idea, but I wish it had been six months earlier😦

    I am a little way into the third volume but there is every chance that your proposed group read will catch me up, at which point I’d be very happy to tag along.

    Either way I will be following your posts enthusiastically🙂

    Reply

  14. Anbolyn
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 22:19:23

    I’m usually horrible at read-alongs, but I would love to give Proust a go!

    Reply

  15. Gavin
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:07:41

    Argh, I very much want to join in but must, must finish War and Peace first.

    Reply

  16. Gavin
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:08:14

    When do you want to start?

    Reply

  17. gaskella
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 10:13:48

    I have the first omnibus, so I’m theoretically in!

    Reply

  18. Geosi
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 15:30:46

    I would be cheering you up, all the best stu

    Reply

  19. Bellezza
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 23:51:33

    I’m interested. Here’s the only thing: you’ve hooked me on Parallels (which I pre-ordered from Barnes and Noble) and I’m waiting anxiously for Murakami’s release of 1Q84 so I’m not sure if I’ll have time for Proust. When were you thinking of starting? I’d love to do a read-along with you and the others.

    Reply

  20. Kinna
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:05:52

    Gosh, I’m quite bad at read-a-longs but I’m willing to consider this. I’ve been meaning to read Proust. Thanks, Stu.

    Reply

  21. Seamus Duggan
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 15:06:04

    As this is my main reading resolution for 2012 I’d love to join in. I’ve already started Swann’s Way and am enjoying it a lot although not racing through it. I’ve posted on one extract, or more accurately, posted one extract – http://theknockingshop.blogspot.com/2012/01/proust-on-giottos-charity-envy.html

    Reply

  22. Seamus Duggan
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 22:28:37

    Finished Swann’s Way and moving onto Within a Budding Grove. I’ve posted a review of
    Swann’s Way
    Love to hear comments from anyone else reading along.

    Reply

  23. Trackback: Top Ten Tuesday: Classics I Want to Read in 2012 [January 24] « averydisorientedreader

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
