400,000 likes for I hate reading on facebook

how unbelievable there is that many people who don’t want to find the joy of books and reading absolutely shocking ,this comes from a face book page title I hate reading ,how sad that is ! .there are 400,00 plus people out there that miss out on the joy of book .There is a move into using text speak and shorten words by a section of the public out there ,that seem to have not interest or joy in the spoken or written words instead opting for some slang language that will keep them from  moving on in life .What is even sadder is the pages for I love reading has 97,000 likes😦 .How do we pass the joy of books on?

thanks to Joe the publicist for pointing this out yesterday on twitter

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:00:02

    I wish I could say that this surprised me, but…

    It does remind me though of the old joke about the celebrities who claim to have written more books than they’ve read😉

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 15:57:20

      thats true tony ,I m not suprise little disappoint the I love reading is so much small but such is life ,I hate ghostwritten celeb books ,all the best stu

      Reply

  2. farmlanebooks
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:06:23

    It is so sad.I wonder how many of the people who ‘liked’ the page secretly enjoy reading, but feel their peers will respect them more if they pretend to hate it? I wouldn’t worry too much about the numbers – massive numbers of people support all sorts of weird causes on facebook. Better to move on and try to pass the love of reading onto those you come into contact with in real life.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 16:00:15

      well peer pressure is a large part it isn’t cool to read ,that is a shame ,I was just struck by the number there was out there ,I love to pass on my l.ove of reading to people and to my nieces and nephews ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. amymckie
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:18:24

    It’s crazy how many people dislike reading. What is important to remember though is that some do it just as a joke, and some people honestly don’t like reading – but for valid reasons. I know many kids (my sister’s sisters-in-laws who are still in high school) who dislike reading but they dislike it because it is a struggle for them and they can’t read well. Although they say they dislike reading, part of the issue is the education they receive in their school and so there are ways that we can combat this – work on improving the education system, let kids pick their own books, make books more available, etc.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 16:01:59

      Yes teaching it is an important part of it ,if you don’t teach kids from non reading familes to read they stay non readers as well ,it is annoy thou it is so much more that I love reading ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Mardi (Tillywinny)
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:20:07

    This is really terrible. They don’t know what they are missing. However i am not really too surprised as I have met many people who hate reading, Anecdotally I asked a student i was tutoring ( in English) if she liked books-Reply ‘ I read a book once’ i rest mt case

    Reply

  5. Mardi (Tillywinny)
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:22:39

    This is really terrible. They don’t know what they are missing. However I am not really too surprised as I have met many people who hate reading, Anecdotally I asked a student I was tutoring ( in English) if she liked books-Reply ‘ I read a book once’ I rest my case. Edited version of above!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 16:03:22

      I read a book once is enough said terrible we need to get kids so young as on the whole reading isn’t a thing kids consider very cool to do which is a shame ,all the best stu

      Reply

  6. reviewsbylola
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 13:46:31

    I get upset when people tell me they hate to read, but I always assume they just have not found something they love to read. There is a book out there for everyone!

    Reply

  7. Max Cairnduff
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 15:23:18

    For many it’s a passing joke. For quite a few people reading is a chore and not fun at all – often as Amy says because they’re not very good at it. A fair few people just don’t see what the point of it is, particularly reading fiction.

    Readers have always been a minority. I can’t say that much worries me. Facebook has many much nastier things than that.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 16:04:52

      Yes know facebook has worse than this max was just shocked by number of people ,I know that some people struggle and have not been taught probably to read this is such a shame in this day and age ,all the best stu

      Reply

  8. Gavin
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 15:59:19

    Very sad..I’m going to go find the I Like Reading page.

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:01:22

    People who ‘hate’ reading arguably deserve our sympathy. Aren’t they really just saying that they don’t get it? It is the people who consider reading a waste of time who worry me.

    Reply

  10. JoV
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 15:56:45

    It is very sad to see this, my little boy’s school is making reading fun and at 5 years old he has a reading age of 10. I think parents do lead by examples. If the parents do not read, neither would the child.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
