winstons coffee some library

well its been a while since I ve done a sunday post or a post on books I ve got but as I ve done a hug library haul on friday rather than one or two which I have been doing and also visited the local book sale and found three gems that I want to show off .

Library books 

From the top left –

Marie chapdelaine by Louis hemon – a french Canadian novel from 1913 ,about Maria who choose a rural french Canadian  life exploring the early french settlers .

The match – Romesh Gunsekera –

I saw chasing bawa mention this a bildungsroman about a young Sri lankian boy growing up ,I read reef and monkfish moon years ago and her post reminded me of him so I grabbed this when I saw it on the shelves .Oh and I m also a cricket fan .

Four novels by R K Narayan

this is an everyman collection of his first four novels they are swami and his friends ,the bachelor of arts and the english teacher that where a trilogy when published and the dark room as with most of his works they are set in the made up southern Indian town of Malgudi ,Mel from reading lives is reading his books at moment ,and I loved painter of signs I want to return to his world

Next row –

This is the trilogy of your face tomorrow by Javier Marias -I m late getting these as Richard of Caravana de recuredos is doing a readalong I hope to catch up and join in from vol 2 .The book ,part spy novel /part romance set during the forties .It has been on my wish list to read for ages .

bottom row

No-one loves a policeman by Guillermo Orsi

I read Matt’s review over at reader dad and after being sent Ashes by Sergios Gakas also from Machlehose it seem a great companion to it both set to a backfall of economic mayhem .this one in 2001 in Argentina .

Cedilla by Adam Mars Jones – this has been mention as a booker contender it looks long follows John Cromer the anti-hero of his last novel through his late teens and early twenties in the 60’s and 70’s .I like the fact that he has a disability which is something you don’t see a lot in fiction .

book sale books

Some one in our local area is a folio member and brings them to book sale so my two buys are the beige book is Aubrey’s brief lives a collection of small biographies published in the 17th century ,the blue patterned book is Robert Byron’s the road to Oxiana -this is considered a classic of english travel writing cited as influence by Bruce Chatwin ,it follows Byron through Iran and Afghanistan at turn of 20th century .

The paperback is Geographies of Home by Loida Maritza Perez – set in Brooklyn it follows a young black latino women as she  confronts what has happened to her sisters ,I choose this as the writer is from the Dominica republic and I ve not read a book from there nor a latino fiction book .

So there are my books ,I m settling down this evening with Night watch by Sarah water ready for the new BBC series on Tuesday ,I ll have a post ready for then hopefully .Winston is sleeping on his step this evening .

What are you reading ?

What have you brought or borrowed ?

 

 

 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin Danson
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 18:18:18

    Some of your newly acquireds have been jotted down to my never ending reading list. Thank you.
    Last weekend I was fortunate to be in a well-to-do area of London (picknicking on a patch of grass) and came across a skip. This skip not only contained designer clothing, packaged computer software and some tossed out hefty bank statements (which I obviously handed back) but also what many would call an entire library of books. Hardback copies of the Old and New Testament (always good to refer to biblical stories), Stephen King, Bill Bryon, Shakespeare, Rankin, Allan Hollinghurst, Lionel Shriver, Steinbeck and many more which I just could not carry back to Manchester.
    I just finished Room by Emma Donoghue and just started Umberto Eco’s Travel in Hyper Reality (…) which I think will be more of an occasional read. Téa Obreht’s The Tiger’s Wife is beckoning me though and so that will probably be the one I will be reading now.
    I’d like to know more about your findings when you get through them if you don’t mind. Always better to pick up a recommended book

    Reply

  2. Anbolyn
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 18:58:56

    You are so fortunate that your library system carries such wonderful translated fiction! My library system doesn’t buy any because it doesn’t get read by our patrons. Sad for me, but it makes financial sense.
    There’s a series of The Night Watch playing in the UK? I love Sarah Waters – I hope they do it justice!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jul 10, 2011 @ 19:19:24

      yes it is a hour and half from bbc I think they’ll do a ok job they did well with the other ones ,ours is a very busy library system ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. Vishy
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 06:32:54

    Wonderful books that you got from the library, Stu! ‘Mary Chapdelaine’ looks quite interesting! I remember the Romesh Gunasekara book creating a few waves when it came out. That Everyman collection of R.K.Narayan’s books is really gorgeous. Does it has an introduction by Alexander McCall Smith? The Robert Byron book looks really interesting. I love that blue-patterned cover.

    Happy Reading!

    Reply

  4. parrish
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 09:04:46

    great collection as per usual, at the moment I’m reading George Steiner’s – My Unwritten Books.

    Reply

  5. Mel ui
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 15:07:14

    thanks for the mention-I will be reading Narayan’s The English teacher very soon-I recently read and posted on the other two titles you mentioned-I hope you enjoy his work and will look forward to your thoughts on him

    Reply

  6. JoV
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:00:41

    I haven’t read any of those, but enjoy your loot Stu!

    Reply

  7. Kinna
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 11:41:34

    Hmm… I have Geographies of Home somewhere in my house. I’m sticking to mostly short novels this month. Happy reading🙂

    Reply

  8. Richard
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:05:52

    After going on various book-buying binges this year, Stu, I probably–no, definitely–need to start using the library more these days! Lots of interesting titles here. I hope you get to and enjoy the three Marías volumes, of course, but I’d next be most curious to hear about that Orsi book and The Road to Oxiana. Anyway, sounds like you’ll be all set for a while. P.S. Just started Ernesto Sabato’s 1961 Sobre héroes y tumbas [On Heroes and Tombs] and can tell you that, early on at least, it looks like it will be every bit the Argentine classic that I’d heard it was.

    Reply

  9. Petty Witter
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 10:41:34

    A great haul, happy reading.

    I’m busy reading a historical novel about James IV of Scotland. By an author I have not read before I’m really disappointed with it.

    Reply

  10. Geosi
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 13:27:12

    Great collection, I think, stu.

    Reply

  11. sakura
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 19:35:11

    Ooh, hope you enjoy The Match! I’ve seen more Javier Marias’ novels around in bookshops recently and have been mentally checking them out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
