Literary blog hop for 7-10th July say it in letters

The girls at The blue bookcase have set the question of a literary device you like and give an example ,well I ve choosen the Epistolary novel .thus a novel told in documents be it letters ,diary entries ,reports or even newspaper stories .From Clarissa through dracula and bellows Herzog this has been a form that has provided some of the greatest work of literature as it usually gives and insight into peoples minds rather than tells us .But in the modern age how is it going to move on with letter writing becoming a dying art ,well I ll point you in the direction of my selection the Austrian novel  Love virtually by the Austrian writer Daniel Glattauer a novel of a online love affair told in E-mails a mistaken e-mail sparks two married people to chat about there lives like never before and fall in love with the words they’ve written  ,if a lterary device has to move on lik,e the epistolary novel will in the modern age this book surely is one of the first of a new wave ,with e-mail and blogs being the new ways of recording our lives ,with face book and twiiter charting our lives this form has a bright future I look forward to the first novel to use twitter ,for more on the book read my review of it here .

What is your favourite epistolary novel ?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 21:45:39

    Another one is Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco, it also uses texts emails, blogging etc, another one I’ve just thought of is Jennifer Egan’s A visit from the goon squad which has a chapter written as a powerpoint presentation.
    What I’ve read of this style I’ve loved, basically love books that experiment .

    Reply

  2. reviewsbylola
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 00:14:09

    I really love epistolary novels too. Good choice!

    Reply

  3. Violet
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 05:58:14

    My favourite epistolary Novel is Les Liaisons Dangereuses. It’s just so wicked and a delicious read.

    Reply

  4. Rikki
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 08:17:20

    I second Violet. Dangerous Liaisons is absolutely brilliant. It’s perfect!

    Reply

  5. Vishy
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 17:48:05

    Wonderful post, Stu! I read ‘Love Virtually’ sometime back and I loved it! I heard that a sequel is coming out later this year and I can’t wait to read it! Some of my favourite ‘epistolary’ novels are ‘Dracula’ and ‘The Woman in White’ by Wilkie Collins (I think it is epistolary). I want to read Jean Webster’s ‘Daddy Long Legs’ sometime.

    Reply

  6. susan
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 19:59:51

    The epistolary was one of my choices too. There are many wonderful examples. I’ve got Les Liaisons Dangereuses on my list for the Back to the Classics challenge. I read it in college and want to read it again.

    Reply

  7. Risa
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 15:08:25

    One my favourite epistolary novels since I was a kid is “Daddy Long Legs”. Even now I find myself picking it up often and reading it from cover to cover. “Dracula” also got added to my list of favs last year. Generally, I think these kind of novels can easily crash and burn if not artistically done!

    Reply

  8. Kinna
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 11:43:15

    I love epistolary works. My favorites include Imagine This by Sade Adeniran, De Profundis (though not technically fiction) by Oscar Wilde, and a short story in Tropical Fish by Doreen Baingana.

    Reply

  9. Geosi
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 13:30:46

    Yes, Kinna , you mentioned that – Sade Adeniran’s Imagine This. I do love epistolary books too, stu.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Rikki's Teleidoscope » Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer

Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
