June round up – half year round up and July plans

Well I m a bit late doing this ,but this is due to my darling wife needing a minor op over the weekend so time for blogging has been none unfortunately ,but did read some books as I was waiting with her .so June I managed to get through ten books last month with a few on go as well  so the books are –

  1. beauty and the inferno by Roberto Saviano (italy)
  2. The skating rink by Roberto Bolano (chile)
  3. The new Moscow philosophy by Vyacheslaw Pyetdukh (Russia)
  4. As though she were sleeping by Elias Khoury (Lebanon)
  5. Antipodes by Ignacio Padilla (Mexico)
  6. Lizkla and her men by Alexander Ikonnikov (Russia)
  7. Please look after mother by Kyung-Sook Shin(South Korea)
  8. Hear the wind sing by Haruki Murakami(Japan)
  9. Waiting for the wild beasts to vote by Ahmadou Kourouma(Ivory Coast)
  10. Hidden camera by Zoran Zivkovic(Serbia ) -started in may finished today but due at library so put in june’s total

So that is it nine countries read and to be truthful hard to pick a favourite this month as they were all good in their own ways but I ll say the beauty and the inferno is a book we should all read .As for the state of the blog I m trying to get regular post’s and finding it harder this year need to find my mojo again .

Total so far for the year is 64 the same as June last year so still on course to match last years total as I read more in summer any way like reading in natural light easier on my eyes .

Half year –

Well I ve read books from 26 countries so far this year which keeps up the Idea behind Winston’s dad bring the world through the everyman ,I ve had a number of great interviews so far this year this is something I m going to carry on doing mainly round translation .I m worried I ve lost some consistency with posting this is due to my poor time management I need to work on this as I ve a huge pile of unreview books backing up ,I feel my posts are getting slightly better I ll never be a star but I m trying to make them more than earlier reviews .so if you’ve any thought tell me .thanks for following my blog .

July’s plans –

Well I m going to read a number of english , american  and ANZ fiction books in July and August .I ve books I brought piling up and a few I ve been sent ,some I think will be in Booker long list due in three weeks ,plus want to read USA by John Dos Passos to give me time to catch up on reviews at well over a 1000 pages it will take me two weeks time to catch up I think .

What are your plans ?

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 01:50:36

    A good spread as always Stu – v. important to pace yourself with reviews and not burn out though🙂

    Reply

  2. Gavin
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 04:19:09

    I have some challenge books to read but plan on leaving things open for some other summer reads. Maybe some mysteries and science fiction!

    Reply

  3. farmlanebooks
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 07:17:46

    I hope your wife is recovering quickly from her operation.

    Congratulations on some wonderful blog interviews this month – I loved reading them. I hope you get your blogging mojo back soon, as I love everything you do here. Have a wonderful July🙂

    Reply

  4. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 12:19:56

    All translations. This is great Stu. You are always pointing to interesting books, showing the world the many varied authors there are. And I would also be on the look out for Beauty and the Inferno. Thanks

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:02:00

      True Nana didn’t notice they were all translations think that is a first ,yes beauty and inferno is a book I ll be telling everyone to read ,all the best stu

      Reply

  5. Geosi
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 12:39:35

    I think you did well in June, here’s to good things to come this July.

    Reply

  6. novelinsights
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 21:58:03

    I hope your wife is recovering well. I haven’t read any Bolano but I have one on my pile so must get around to that. Thanks for the round up list, I like seeing what people choose as their favourites when it comes to a top 10.

    Reply

  7. parrish
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 04:44:35

    Great list as per, I’ve got Beauty & the inferno on the pile. My plans are to keep on keeping on, discussed with you before about pacing your posting so as not to unduly stress oneself, in my case don’t read as much as I used to (family, work etc) so It’s not a problem in my case, back on track fantastic list which as usual I will plunder at some point. Thanks.

    Reply

  8. Heather
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:25:25

    I have 7 books lined up for the next two months. I think they all loosely fall into the romance category. Mostly they are historical which is the only genre of romance I enjoy. I like reading the occasional romance as a break from the heavier stuff. It also serves as a reminder to keep communication open in my own life.

    Reply

  9. JoV
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 22:26:55

    Looks like you have a great June too. Here’s wishing you a good 2nd half of the year. All the very best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
