Waugh Wednesday

Last week in early hours of morning I was awake so tuned in to the revamped radio Four Extra the new name for radio seven .To hear they were going to broadcast two short stories by Evelyn Waugh my ears pricked up always half aware of short stories the two I heard were wonderful .So I checked next day and found a couple of editions of his complete short stories  on Amazon a penguin and Everyman Library one .I loved Everyman books ,but unable to get on at moment ,so I ve borrowed the libraries edition for now ,until I can buy it .But this has led to the creation of Waugh Wednesday .I use love my good friend robs days  on one writer and have been trying to find a worthy subject and I loved the novels of Waugh I love so have chosen wednesday from now on for next year or so for all thing Waugh ,There are 38 pieces in the collection ,I ve two novels also a number of films adapted from his books .Plus the wonderful Brideshead Revisited TV series to talk about and discuss.

 

I love the everyman cover.can’t wait to get a copy of book for myself

What Waugh have you read ?

What  is your favourite ?

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Frances
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:34:14

    Love this idea and may contribute a few things myself. Having been eyeing some Waugh re-reads and have never made it to the short stories. Just love his writing.

    Reply

  2. reviewsbylola
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:43:20

    I love Waugh, although I have yet to read any of his short stories. Cool feature!

    Reply

  3. sakura
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 21:06:10

    I’ve read a few novels by Waugh but my favourite is Brideshead Revisited. The only one I couldn’t finish was Decline and Fall. Looking forward to seeing what you think of it.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jun 08, 2011 @ 21:10:08

      I like decline and fall ,but brideshead is a special book I loved tv series as a kid then read book as teen ,let down by film a bit as I felt it cut too much out ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Bina
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 21:25:05

    Loved Brideshead and I have his novella The Loved One which I really want to try soon, it’s supposed to be very good🙂

    Reply

  5. Paperback Reader
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 21:27:21

    I only read Brideshead Revisited for the first time last week and it is a special book. I’ve been meaning to read it for years and watch the TV adaptation.

    I have also read A Handful of Dust and The Loved One and fully intend to read more; I picked up a copy of Vile Bodies recently so that may be next.

    Great feature.

    Reply

  6. Mel u
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 01:46:30

    I recently read and really liked one of his short stories “Bella Fleace Gave a Party”. It is very well done and funny satire of upper class society. If I am able to find more of his work here in Manila i will join in and in any case I will enjoy the posts

    Reply

  7. parrish
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 05:38:41

    Will be following with interest, & hopefully you can change my mind, as I hated the TV series “Brideshead Revisited” thought it was about a bunch of fops that had no relevance to my life, now older I’m more relaxed & accepting.

    Reply

  8. Leeswammes
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 08:50:08

    Oops, I read Brideshead, but it was not my favorite Waugh novel. In fact, I didn’t like it all that much. I think this is because it was quite a bit different from the film/tv series so I didn’t expect that.

    On the other hand, I do have a son called Sebastian and the name was inspired by this book (well, the tv series, actually).

    I read Scoop which I loved and The Loved One which is great fun too.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 12:03:06

      I think the tv series had a huge impact at time I loved it and have dvd and watch it a lot ,love you called your sone after sebastian ,I want read the loved ones it is one I ve not read yet

      Reply

  9. kimbofo
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 09:24:00

    Great idea, Stu. I’ve only read “Scoop” and thought it was hilarious! A very witty satire about journalism.

    Reply

  10. Rikki
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:07:10

    That is going to be interesting. I thinnk I have only read Brideshead revisited and, of course, have seen the TV series. I loved Anthony Andrews as Sebastian… Looking forward to your Waugh Wednesdays.

    Reply

  11. Geosi
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 16:17:57

    Nice idea, I also think so. all the best,stu

    Reply

  12. Vishy
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 16:37:20

    Wonderful idea, Stu! I have read one book by Waugh – ‘Decline and Fall’ – and I loved it. I love the cover of this short story collection you have. I love Everyman Library editions too! I have a collection of Evelyn Waugh short stories, but it is a different edition. Looking forward to reading your thoughts on Waugh’s stories.

    Reply

  13. Mel u
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 00:49:31

    I will be able to join in for at least one Waugh Wednesday as I found on line one of his short stories, “Love Among the Ruins. A Romance of the Near Future”-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
