May round up

Well I ve had a great month reading if not blogging ,I ve got through a lot of books or at least it seems that was –

  1. The painter of signs by R K Narayan (india)
  2. various authors – fiction desk collection
  3. Tarantula by Thierry Jonquet (france)
  4. Red April by Santiago Roncagliolo (Peru)
  5. Caesarian by Tommy Wiernga (Netherlands)
  6. Tomorrow Pamplona by Jan Van Merbergen (Netherland)
  7. The foxes come at night and other stories by Cees Nooteboom(Netherland)
  8. The most Beautiful walk in the world by John Baxter(Australia)
  9. The upright piano player by David Abbott(UK)
  10. Solibo Maginficent by Patrick Chamoiseau (Martinique)
  11. Sunlight on cold water by Francoise Sagan (France)
  12. The marquise of O by Heinrich Von Kleist (Germany)
  13. Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck (germany)

I ve not review dutch books saving them for Iris Dutch reading Month .Managed to get all the IFFP books read this month ,look forward to next years long and short list books ,if there as good as this years we re in for a real treat .

Total so far this year 54 books this year which is same as this time last year .so still on course for 130ish book

Book  of  the Month is Tomorrow Pamplona a book I can’t wait to tell you about next month .As part of Iris Dutch book month plus hope to have a couple of great interviews with people involved in Dutch literature .

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 21:12:03

    As you know I’ve read Tomorrow Pamplona & like yourself, adored it, I also have Caesarion waiting for Dutch lit so Will be able to compare opinions, great list as per

    Reply

  2. Iris
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 21:37:46

    It’s good to see that there are a few Dutch books that will receive lots of attention this month. And Tomorrow Pamplona is a very deserving one. I can’t wait to write about it myself. I haven’t read anything by Tommy Wieringa yet, but I talked to a friend recently who said I really should try and read one of his works.

    So nice of you to join in like this Stu🙂 And sorry about all the mix up earlier.

    Reply

  3. Mel u
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 05:34:50

    Glad to see you are a fan of R. K. Narayan

    Reply

  4. Tony
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:21:10

    Another great month, Stu😉

    I recall having to read Kleist’s book at uni, and…
    …well, let’s just say that I had other things to do back then😉
    I’ve got it on my Kindle though, so I’l give it a go some time!

    Reply

  5. Rikki
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:45:15

    We read Die Marquise von O in school and I think I quite enjoyed it. You had a busy reading month, I am impressed. My list looks extremely tiny compared to yours.

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 09:37:33

    Lots of intriguing titles there, Stu. The RK Narayan has particularly caught my eye. I hadn’t heard of him until last month, and then he turns up twice. Got to be a nudge from destiny…

    I’m aiming for one hundred books this year, and finding it quite a strain. One hundred and thirty? Wow!

    Reply

  7. gaskella
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:44:23

    Stu, look forward to see your review of Tomorrow Pamplona – just finished that myself.

    Reply

  8. Vishy
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:53:38

    Looks like you had a wonderful reading month, Stu! Congratulations! It looks like you have also read a lot of translated works last month, which is really awesome! I love the title ‘The Most Beautiful Walk in the World’🙂 I can’t wait to read your thoughts on ‘Tomorrow Pamplona’.

    Reply

  9. Kinna
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 23:23:52

    Looking forward to your review of Solibo Magnificent and Tomorrow Pamplona.

    Reply

  10. Richard
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 16:48:22

    I wish I could keep up with your reading numbers, Stu, but doing some reading in Spanish and my short attention span (mostly that, I think, ha ha) always seem to slow me down to a book a week type pace. Looks like some good reading on your list although I was disappointed in that Peruvian book when I read it last year.

    Reply

  11. JoV
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 18:27:20

    13 books read is such a wonderful achievement Stu. Hope you have a wonderful June!

    Reply

  12. lisa
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 17:41:16

    wow, excellent month, stu! and as usual, thank you for bringing all of these wonderful sounding books to my attention. i’d never even heard of most of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
