The INDEPENDENT FOREIGN FICTION PRIZE 2011 shortlist round up

I m off tomorrow to attend the prize giving for this years IFFP 2011 sponsored by Booktrust,I ve read five of the six shortlist books ,but was unable to get the sixth in time due to a library bloop ,but will weight up each  chances of winning –

The Museum of innocence by Orhan Pamuk  translator Maureen Freely – The longest book on the list ,an epic tale of love class and that feeling of total togetherness with one person .It could win due to its epic scope and heartfelt writing .

If it was an english book it would be lady Chatterley lover ,also about love and class with a flip in gender roles thou .

The sickness by Alberto Barrera Tyszka  translator Margaret Jull Costa – A novel involving three people and illness real and imagined ,also father and son relationship ,an interview with him here ,it should win because sickness isn’t often touch so well in fiction

If it was an english book it would be north and south a novel that also touches on dying and parental relationships .

Red april by Santiago Roncagilo translator Edith Grossman  – the past horrors effect a present day crime in Peru ,a hard-hitting and no holds barred novel,it should win because its sheer honesty about his homeland .

If it where and english book it would be This is hard book to match but John Mcgahern seems to touch on Ireland’s terrorist past in some of his books .

I curse the river of time by Per Petterson translator per Petterson and Charlotte Barslund ,like the sickness touches a parent dying but now it is a strong minded mother and a son wanting and needing answers ,it should win as it beautifully bleak like his other books and so insightful into family .

If it was in english book it would be the art fair David Lipsky ,another mother son relationship that is strained .

Kamchatka – Marcel Figueras  translator Frank Wynne Harry and his brother the midget on the run in 80’s Argentina ,this should win as Harry is one if not the best child narrator I ve ever read a warm and touching book .

If it was an english book it be black swan green ,two great narrators and similar times on in uk and Harry was in Argentina .

Visitation -Jenny Erpenbeck  translator Susan Bernofsky -I ve not read this but have read Old child sop ,she should win as she has a fable like talent as a story-teller ,thus I can’t compare to an english book .But this is the favourite .

My tip Kamchatka !

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimbofo
    May 26, 2011 @ 08:22:20

    Great round up, Stu. I’ve only read Red April, and did not particularly like it. Too bloody and gruesome and political for me. Not sure I agree that it’s similar to McGahern, who wrote soft, gentle stories albeit with a dark underbelly.

    I have the Petterson in my TBR — bought a signed copy from Daunt about a year ago and still not read it! I also have the Pamuk, in proof form, but it hasn’t been read either.

    Hope you have a great time at the awards ceremony!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      May 30, 2011 @ 20:41:29

      Maybe a little connection with McGhern want to link them to well known english writers so people could connect to them ,I was on fence over Red April a book that is dark to say least ,all th ebst stu

      Reply

  2. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    May 26, 2011 @ 10:10:28

    I have only read Red April (loved) and The Visitation (didn’t). If I were to compare The Visitation to an English book it would be a cross between The Glass Room and Home. I look forward to seeing who wins. Have a lovely evening!

    Reply

  3. savidgereads
    May 26, 2011 @ 17:06:22

    I have only read Read April (I think its hilarious that the two comments above are all from the same book club as me and hence I think why read it) which I liked to a point. I have ‘The Sickness’ in the post I believe and am looking forward to that. ‘Kamchatcka’ arrived the other day in the post and was a book I didnt think I would love but maybe I will. I wasnt sure I would read it when it arrived but with your recommendation (am going to comment on your review) and its recent win I might have to try it. I just ordered ‘I Curse The River of Time’ in from my library.

    Great round up post Stu, have a wonderful time.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: 2011 Awards Round-up (5): Wins and some Controversies « Kinna Reads
  5. Lisa Almeda Sumner
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:58:05

    This is a great round-up, Stu. Kudos to you for getting through so many of them in time for the awards. Several of these look like books I need to add to my ever-growing list. I count on you for all the news on lit in translation😉

    Reply

  6. lisa
    May 29, 2011 @ 19:44:19

    wow, 5 out of 6 is excellent, stu! i have yet to read any of these (bad lisa), but think i’d like to give Kamkatcha a try.

    Reply

  7. Vishy
    May 30, 2011 @ 13:22:12

    Wonderful brief reviews of the shortlisted books, Stu! I love the cover of ‘The Sickness’. I also love the title of Per Petterson’s book ‘I Curse the River of Time’. I thought ‘Kamchatka’ would be set in the Kamchatka penninsula of Russia🙂 Hope you had a wondreful time at the prize giving ceremony! I hope the judges don’t plump for a heavyweight like Orhan Pamuk but go with a more unconventional author. Looking forward to reading your post about the prize giving ceremony.

    Reply

  8. Geosi
    May 30, 2011 @ 13:48:44

    Great to know that you’ve almost read them all. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
