#translationthurs round up

Today on twitter it was suggested by two good twitter friend I am Amro and rob around books I start listing books mention on translation thus on the blog   .I start this small meme last year and it is slowly growing and seems a great way to find new books to read if like me .you like world literature .

Blue fox by Sjon – suggest by I will tweet the guy behind Just William ,you should go over and have a look he does better reviews than me and loads of world lit .

Woodcutters by Thomas Bernard – suggested by Amelia atlas ,Bernhard was Austria favourite writer even if he dislike his homelands art scene I ve one of his near to of tbr pile .

Gold by Blaise Cendrars – The renown swiss writer ,a peter Owen edition they publish a few of his books .This was John s. of asylum suggestion ,he reviews a great mix of fiction ,with highly insightful analysis of books  ,a number in translation.

The death of Napoleon by Simon Leys -suggest by great twitter friend Simon from inside books ,from the Belgian writer pierre ryckmans ,Simon Leys is his non de plume  was made into a film called emperors new clothes .

blood sisters by Alessandro Perissinotto – a book I like when I review an italian crime novel suggested by Cazbah88 from Carol’s book corner blog

Memoirs of the duc de saint Simon by Louis de Reuvroy -a french classic ,new to me here is the wiki info   suggest by dave trembley

Lost honour of Katherine Blume by Heinrich boll -from  Meike at Peirene as their writer Friedrich Christian Delius had won the Georg Buchner prize ,germany’s biggest Literary prize ,as had Boll .

THE topless tower by Silivna Ocampo – New Zealand based Tim Jones from tim Joness blog ,The surreal Argentina novel considered a classic

The sleeping Dragon  by Miyuki Miybe -a Japanese mystery by In spring it i s the dawn from the blog of the same Name

The final going of snow by Kristina Ehins -suggest by mpt magazine the poetry translation magazine ,Estonian Poetry in translation .

A void by Georges Perec -the novel that’s a detective novel with a vowel missing all way through the book ,suggest by Gary and Gina here are the blogs Parrish Lantern and Gina Choe  both great world lit bloggers .

Spring in Fialta by Vladimir  Nabokov -suggest by Nia Polly from her blog and literature across frontiers comms manager a great site link lit in europe ,not read this Nabokov but he was one of the best writers in the 20th century wrote in russian and english .

STEFAN ZWEIG

The post office girl by Stefan Zweig -by new york based writer Katie Kitamura  writer of longshot ,post office girl is a study of class I loved it when I reviewed it here on winstonsdad .

The Lusiads by Luis vaz de Camoes – by themselves  Oxford world classics ,a Portuguese classic about them discovering the world .

Cibernectica e fantasmi in une pietra sopra by Italo Calvino -suggest by sam tweets books ,loved every Calvino I ve read so sure this will be good .

Tomorrow Pamplona by Jan Van Mersbergen -Peirene press no 4 ,I finish it last week out 7th June well worth reading one hell of a ride like grabbing the bull by the horns .suggest by tony from tony reading list 

Memoirs of a porcupine by Alain Mabanckou- a book narrate by said porcupine of the title loved broken glass reviewed here on winstonsdad ,suggest by the publisher serpents tail

Traveller and Innkeeper by Fadhill al-Azzawi- by Arablit great blog for all arabic lit ,set in Iraq follows a secret policeman published in 70’s in Arabic

Redbreast by Jo Nesbo -by little reader who has recently returned to blogging ,the third in the Harry hole series I read snowman from this series a well written taut crime novel ,of nordic noir style .

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figureas suggest by Rob from Rob around books my favourite IFFP read ,reviewed here on winstonsdad .

well that’s them for this week ,we had books from every where and every age and genre just shows what you can find in translation if you look .

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sakura
    May 19, 2011 @ 22:32:46

    I think it’s great that you’re doing a round up! I’m always keeping my eyes peeled for Translation Thurs suggestions.

    Reply

  2. lisa
    May 19, 2011 @ 23:42:00

    i love the idea of the roundup, and appreciate all of your hard work to put this together!

    i’m certain i’ll find lots of books to add to my TBR pile each week. The Memoirs of a Porcupine just looks too cute for words!

    Reply

  3. parrish
    May 20, 2011 @ 05:07:52

    A fantastic idea, this round up of yours & some wonderful books, Miyabe is on my list of authors to read, as is Sjon a poet, writer and one time collaborater of great Icelandic band The Sugarcubes, and I’ve been boring people on twitter about my love of Perec’s Void. So in all a great list
    Thanks.

    Reply

  4. Tom C
    May 20, 2011 @ 07:47:30

    Phew! It must have taken a lot of work to produce that list with all the images. Worth it though – a great list and I’ve only read two of them. So many books, so little time

    Reply

  5. John Self
    May 20, 2011 @ 12:02:15

    Fantastic work, Stu – with Twitter being so unreliable with “older tweets are temporarily unavailable,” it’s great to have this permanent reminder of recommendations. Some v interesting choices here. Well done!

    Reply

  6. LizzySiddal
    May 20, 2011 @ 12:10:25

    I applaud your committment to the cause, Stu. If you have the time and energy to round up regularly, these posts will turn into a terrific resource.

    Reply

  7. Gavin
    May 20, 2011 @ 13:59:48

    Thanks for the round-up, Stu. I always end up adding books to my tbr list.

    Reply

  8. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    May 20, 2011 @ 15:13:05

    I love the roundup too! I love catching the translation tweets, but I’m not normally on twitter for that long and so I will miss some. Thanks for putting them all together🙂

    Reply

  9. Anbolyn
    May 21, 2011 @ 04:42:02

    What an awesome list! Thank you for posting them all. I will definitely try to track some of them down.

    Reply

  10. gina
    May 21, 2011 @ 16:50:32

    This is a great resource, Stu. Repeating what I said on Twitter, but will come back to see what else to add to my TBR list once I’m done with A Void.
    PS Gary/Parrish, if *you* are boring people with your A Void enthusiasm, I’m sure as hell annoying people with my whining.🙂 Keep enthusing, it’s pushing me to finish the book!

    Thanks again for the mention, Stu.

    Reply

  11. Violet
    May 22, 2011 @ 03:29:05

    This is an excellent idea, Stu. Thanks for putting together the roundup. I usually write book titles down on bits of paper and then forget about them. Now there is a go-to place to see people’s favourites and recommendations.🙂

    Reply

  12. Willa
    May 22, 2011 @ 15:45:05

    Inspiring post Stu! Please participate in my give-away for “A Gate at the Stairs”🙂

    Reply

  13. JoV
    May 22, 2011 @ 19:35:00

    I like to read The Post Office Girl or something by Zweigg. Perhaps start with Chess first. thanks for the roundup!

    Reply

  14. Geosi
    May 23, 2011 @ 15:44:03

    I appreciate what you’re doing. Thanks for the round-up, stu

    Reply

  15. Kinna
    May 25, 2011 @ 21:23:27

    Very useful idea, Stu. And thanks too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
