Four things for a sunday

I ve seen this Meme on thomas at my porch and Amy reads so had a think and have  choosen my choices –

Four jobs I ve had in my life –

  1. Barman – worked in a busy pub when I was 18 ,great fun at the time .
  2. packing person – I work in a german factory packing things ,it was boring but great fun as co workers mainly students and refugees so wonderful banter .
  3. bike repair man – this also in germany in a charity workshop ,learnt how to fix a bicycle .
  4. support worker – current job I love it ,great to see what good we can do for the people we support .

Four books I would read over and over –

  1. Ring of Saturn W G Sebald – A book that gives every time you read it .
  2. Ulysses by James Joyce – I feel I could read this a hundred times and still not get fully !
  3. The complete Holmes – I read a bit of him every few week a short story here and there ,I watch the films all time ,just love Holmes .
  4. Don Quixote by Cervantes – a book for sure I m going to reread over the years .

Four places I ve lived –

1.Poyton where I grew up til early teens a small village on edge of peak district

2.Alnwick – famous for its castle featured in Harry potter films and its home to barter books one of the UK largest secondhand bookshops which opened whilst I lived there .My flat was just behind the castle on the non pretty side .

3.Kleve – home of anne of Cleves and the german artist Joseph Beuys ,a pretty town centre and great market .

4.Chesterfield where I live now is a wonderful market town and living two mins walk from work is wonderful .

Four books I would recommend –

1.Underworld by  Don DeLillo  – a wonderful insight into 20th century america .

2.Suitable boy by Vikram Seth – like underworld but about india and four families there .

3.Fado by Andrzej Stasiuk – A journey round eastern europe post communism .

4.The plague by Albert Camus – The full spectrum of human life in this book .

Four places I ve been –

1.Donegal – I stayed in a thatched cottage with family ,my dad goes back every year or two. A peaceful place with great cliffs and wonderful beaches .

2.Torquay – spent my honeymoon with the lovely Amanda here .

3.Elie – spent my youth here on beaches ,walking playing sport with my younger brother at our grans

4.portugal – I love the place been once want go again !

Four favourite foods –

1.hand made pasta in a simple tomato sauce – mmm

2.soda bread – toast with cheese on .

3.wheaten bread with jam .

4.salmon with a nice salsa .

Four favourite drinks –

1.coffee – dark with out milk ,most of all double espresso with a good creme on top .

2.Jaipur IPA – a local brewed beer to me ,easy tasting but very strong .

3.ravenswood lodi – a mid price red wine from old vines ,wonderful flavours .

4.colheita -Andresen is brand I ve drunk in past ,a gift from my younger brother .

Four places I d rather be right now –

1- nowhere at home with Amanda at moment best place to be .

2. Elie – A place full of happy memories for me .

3.Torquay – same as Elie our honeymoon .

4..in a bookshop .

Four thing special in my life –

1. Amanda – most important thing in my life .

2. Family – got some great family .

3 . Winston  – he is a one-off and may be naughty some times but love him all the same .

4. My job – every day we help people we support ,help them achieve the best they can.

5 . Books – a fifth thing they are important but family is more so !

Thanks what would you choose 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amymckie
    May 08, 2011 @ 12:40:55

    Great to learn more about you Stu! Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply

  2. The Book Whisperer
    May 08, 2011 @ 14:01:38

    Love reading things like this about people I “know”. Very interesting Stu, and I will do my own today too🙂

    Reply

  3. kimbofo
    May 08, 2011 @ 14:41:17

    Lovely post, Stu. It’s always nice to find out more about about the person behind the blog. I like a good ale, so must try and hunt out some Jaipur IPA!🙂

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      May 09, 2011 @ 21:16:21

      I would Kim well worth trying think it just won a big brewing prize ,it is strong but dosen’t taste so strong so easy to get tipsy on ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Emily Jane
    May 08, 2011 @ 15:45:29

    I’m with you on Don Quixote–a book worthy of many readings!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Four things about me « The Book Whisperer
  6. Bellezza
    May 09, 2011 @ 03:11:12

    I loved living in Germany, which would have been in 1984 and 1985 when I taught with the Department of Defense. There’s nothing like living in Europe, and I so enjoyed the photographs you showed of places you’ve visited as well as where you live now…walk to work? I loved that! But, you can’t do that easily in the States. I love homemade pasta with tomato sauce, the crema on the espresso, and bread with jam just as you do. I have Underworld, so I’ll pick it up soon. As always, fun to read about you, Stu, and your ever sweet spirit/appreciation of life.

    Reply

  7. Mel u
    May 09, 2011 @ 03:44:54

    Very interesting post!-on the Holmes movies-I love the old ones from the 1930s and 40s but I have not been able to watch any of the new ones to completion-I need to read a Sebald work soon

    Reply

  8. Lisa Almeda Sumner
    May 10, 2011 @ 00:15:27

    Thanks, Stu: I really enjoyed getting to know you a little better! Lucky Amanda! And Winston is one-of-a-kind.

    Reply

  9. Geosi
    May 12, 2011 @ 09:51:57

    Thanks for sharing this background information about you.

    Reply

  10. Valerie
    May 12, 2011 @ 17:12:35

    Love your list, Stu! Since A Suitable Boy is one of my favorite books, I’ll have to check out The Underworld. Is it as long as A Suitable Boy?

    Reply

  11. Rikki
    May 16, 2011 @ 17:58:45

    ITA with A suitable boy. I recommend it to everybody, even though I wouldn’t re-read it. Just too big for that in my eyes. But I love his way of telling the story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
