The rest is silence by Carla Guelfenbein

Source – review copy from portobello

Carla escaped the Pinochet regime and lived in england as an exile with her parents from the mid seventies til late eighties ,on her return to Santiago she worked in advertising end up on ELLE magazine as the art director and editor ,she has written three novels ,this is her first to be translated to english .She is considered in her native Chile one of the most important writers of the 21st century .

Now before I start ,I want to say something ,If you like or loved extremely loud and incredibly close well ,this is the book for you ,I m always saying for every book in english there is an equal or more interesting book in translation .the similarities to ELIC  are this Tommy the main character in this book has lost a parent ,and has also not been told the full story of what happened ,like ELIC  this book is littered with photos and drawings relating to the story,it differs that this is a personal disaster where as ELIC was the aftermath of 9/11 .So book starts when young tommy a 12-year-old records a conversation at a family wedding ,listening back on his MP3 he discovers his mother committed suicide and didn’t die of a sickness as he thought ,he is shocked by this news and decides to find out what happened to her ,meanwhile his father Juan’s current marriage is falling apart ,his stepmother Alma is drawn towards an old flame as she feels Juan is withdrawing into himself for some reason ,so we see all the family drawn in different ways as they stand on the brink of a break up  and Tommy finding out more about what happen to his mother via family and friends  ,also a lot about his father .This is a touching and sad book at times it shows what problems dark secrets can cause in a family .Tommy is a wonderfully written character a typical 12-year-old on the verge of adulthood but still a child in so many ways ,he stumbles at times finding out the full picture of his mother Soledad death .

The elephant is quiet for a second ,then says “Soledad didn’t die of an illness .She committed suicide .”

“Didn’t she have an aneurysm ?”

“That’s what they told everyone to avoid scandal ,but Soledad committed suicide .I know it for a fact ”

I feel a pain in my chest the recorder slips out of my hand and bangs on the ground .Mama got sick when I was three  .she got sick all of a sudden ,they told me ,and the she was gone .

Tommy find out what happened to his mother Soledad .

This shows what happens when a son is left out ,a father thinks more of himself and a step mother has her eye drawn to an old admirer .Katherine Silver has tackled this book with real subtle touches a book like this with extra bits apart from the text is a hard work to translated and she has done this well .May I also say I love the cover from Portobello a very tactile and pretty cover befitting the book .

Do you like books with a child as the main narrator ?

What is your favourite Chilean novel ? 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bina
    May 07, 2011 @ 20:36:35

    Eep, I really don’t like Extremely Loud so I’m not sure I’d enjoy this one. But that was more because of Foer’s overly clever and gimmicky style so is this book similar in that regard or only in content?

    Reply

  2. Willa
    May 07, 2011 @ 22:01:01

    I love the sound of this one Stu, it sounds like a really emotional read. And I love the title.

    Reply

  3. The Book Whisperer
    May 08, 2011 @ 11:15:32

    This sounds interesting, Stu. I’m not a massive fan of books narrated by children as I have only found a few where it has really worked for me. Still like the sound of this though.

    Reply

  4. pburt
    May 09, 2011 @ 00:23:46

    Is there an English translation of this book? All I could find were either Spanish or French translations.

    Thanks

    Reply

  5. Geosi
    May 12, 2011 @ 10:01:26

    Quite interesting. Thanks.

    Reply

  6. savidgereads
    May 17, 2011 @ 13:41:10

    I read Everything Is Illuminated but havent read Extremely Loud yet. I really liked the debut so why on earth I havent is beyond me. Anyway I wanted to say thanks. I was sent this novel recently and didnt think that I would like it… sounds like I blinking well will and shall have to get to it soon.

    Reply

  7. Seamus Duggan
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 23:12:32

    Followed your Twitter recommendation, Stu. This sounds interesting! Bolano is my favourite Chilean writer but coming from very little exposure to Chilean writing. Mind you, he is one of my favourite writers from anywhere.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Women in translation | Winstonsdad's Blog
  9. Trackback: Woman in translation Five from the Archive | Winstonsdad's Blog

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
