April round up

Another month flown by here ,been very busy on other things had ball for work also a funeral which was a upsetting event .On a happier note had family visit ,well what did I read ?

  1. Kamachatka by Marcelo Figureas .
  2. I curse the river by Per Peterson
  3. The sickness by Alberto Barrera Tyszka.
  4. The museum of innocecne by Orhan Pamuk.
  5. The secret history of Costaguana by Juan Gabriel Vasquez
  6. Nostromo by Joseph Conrad.
  7. The anatomy of a moment by Javier Cercas .
  8. Tiger wife by Tea Obreht .
  9. the rest is silence by Carla Golfenbein .
  10. Kye by Lukas Tomin.

I spent lot time in latin america last month with 5 books of the ten connected to latin america ,My favourite was Kamatchatka .

as for year totals

books read in 2011 -41 books – little behind last year but not that worried had lot on this month .

Plans for may –

I ve a number of library books that are near renewal end so need to read them ,also a couple more from iffp shortlist to read .

What plans have you got for may reading wise ?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    May 01, 2011 @ 12:15:12

    A great collection of books there, I have, the secret history (library) to start, after I’ve read Villain, think I have managed about 7 so good going. Also glad to see you flowing again.

    Reply

  2. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    May 01, 2011 @ 13:42:33

    Great readings. I read just half of yours. I also have to visit Latin America soon.

    Reply

  3. amymckie
    May 01, 2011 @ 14:09:42

    Some really interesting sounding books here Stu. I haven’t read anything from Latin America yet this year but really must!

    Reply

  4. Lisa Almeda Sumner
    May 01, 2011 @ 18:48:11

    That is an impressive list. I have an ambitious list for May, including Our Mutual Friend, The Idiot, and more. Wish me luck!

    Reply

  5. Gavin
    May 01, 2011 @ 20:46:12

    This is a great list of books, Stu. I had a slow reading April but plan to catch up in May. Have a wonderful week!

    Reply

  6. Kinna
    May 04, 2011 @ 06:38:20

    Quite an interesting and eclectic list, Stu. I read four books in April. I have a lot going on, also, so I won;t be too hard on myself. I miss the peace and calm needed to read! Have a wonderful month of reading in May.

    Reply

  7. Geosi
    May 04, 2011 @ 11:49:18

    You did really read some interesting books. Happy reading in May. All the best,stu

    Reply

  8. Valerie
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:22:56

    Very productive reading month, Stu even though you had a lot happening. Hope May is a good month for you! I don’t really have any reading plans — just seeing where it takes me this month. Some months are like that, other months are more goal-oriented.

    Reply

  9. Bellezza
    May 07, 2011 @ 01:08:22

    I started out absolutely loving Pamuk’s The Museum of Innocence…and then I got so bogged down in the story. It just never seemed to go anywhere, there didn’t seem to be a resolution any where in sight, and I abandoned it 3/4 of the way through which is very unusual for me. Did it seem frustrating to you?

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      May 07, 2011 @ 11:34:23

      I felt it could done with a 100 or so pages edit of it felt like treading water in middle a bit I agree ,but worth hanging in there thou a touching ending ,all the best stu

      Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
