My #iffp 2011 shortlist predictions

Well I got it wrong bar two on the longlist but having read some more from longlist have better idea of what is good and not on this list ,well to my own unique taste .so who made the cut in winstonsdad 6 for Independent foreign fiction prize shortlist .The proper list is announced tomorrow at london book fair by booktrust ,tomorrow I ll have an interview with some one on the longlist .

WINSTONSDAD 6 –

BESIDE THE SEA -VERONIQUE OLMI TRANS ADRIANA HUNTER ,

One of my favourites from last year a struggling mother takes her kids to the french seaside as she makes a shocking decision whilst there .

TO THE END OF THE LAND BY DAVID GROSSMAN TRANS JESSICA COHEN ,

Another mother runaway with her boy’s father to the back and beyond in Israeli ,talking about him to keep him alive .Whilst he is on tour at the front .

KAMCHATKA BY MARCELO FIGUERAS TRANS FRANK WYNNE

Ten year old Harry on the run with his family during the dirty war in Argentina ,a new voice in latin american literature .

THE MUSEUM OF INNOCENCE BY ORHAN PAMUK TRANS MAUREEN FREELY

A  love affair between a businessman and shop girl over twenty year ,love obsession ,keep sakes and Istanbul all play part in this epic novel .

VISITATION BY JENNY ERPENBECK TRANS SUSAN BERNOFSKY ,

A lot bloggers have liked this not read it yet but loved old child and this seems similar set up to Simon Mawers glass house a grand house and the family living in it during 30’s .

VILLIAN BY YOSHIDA SHUCHI TRANS PHILLIP GABRIEL,

The dark side of Japanese life I ve read 50 pages to get a feel ,and been gripped so far .

 

 

WHAT DO YOU THINK WILL MAKE THE SHORT LIST ?

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 13:53:11

    I’m waiting do my copy of Villain to arrive as it sounds a bit like Kirino, so My personal taste chooses that one, on a more unbiased footing ” Beside the sea” is very popular amongst the online reading community so that may do well.

    Reply

  2. The Book Whisperer
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 15:04:38

    I just read Beside the Sea yesterday, Stu. I have been eyeing up Museum of Innocence for ages too – do you recommend?

    Reply

  3. lizzysiddal
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 16:09:57

    I’ve read the 3 German longlistees and I must say that Visitation is the one I would love to see on the shortlist and I won’t complain if Dark Matter is there as well!

    Reply

  4. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 17:02:55

    That looks like a very convincing prediction. I’d predict that Beside the Sea, The Visitation and To the End of Land would make it. Not sure about the others as I haven’t heard enough about them to make a real opinion. I look forward to seeing what makes the cut – I may well decide to read the shortlist.

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 17:06:10

    5 of those books appeal to me. where do I find this list?

    Reply

  6. Mel u
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 23:22:57

    Villain sounds like a book I would really like-thanks for posting on it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
