Winston’s books -IFFP LONGLIST READING

Been a while since done a post about book coming into Winston manors well here are a few I ve brought and some library books for IFFP longlist reading .

First of five from the IFFP longlist –

Villain by Shuichi Yoshida – Japanese Noir ,was lot said about this when it came out a different Japanese book than the ones I ve read before .

The secret history of costaguana by Juan Gabriel Vasquez -The Columbian  writer has used Conrad’s Nostromo as a start for a book about the character that inspired Conrad’s book .

I curse the river of time by Per Petterson -Avrid Jansen a man in his thirties looks back at his life and his relationship with his mother .

The sickness by Alberto Barrera Tyszka – the Venezuelan writer tackles sickness real and imagined using three characters in two strands .

these came from Library .

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras – this is Harry story a ten-year on the run in Argentina following a coup ,full of childhood memories mix with a life on the run .this was sent to me via Frank Wynne the translator of the book .

 

Another from IFFP long list and a new spanish Novel

The Museum of innocence by Orhan Pamuk -Kemal a business man has a twenty year affair with a shop girl compared to Madame Bovary .

The anatomy of a moment by Javier Cercas – a book about the attempt coup in 1981 where a solider burst into the parliament building .

some new and used books brought –

Exercises in style by Raymond Queneau – the founder of the Oulipo movement ,this is classic Oulipo the same passage told in 99 different styles of writing .

Ordained by the oracle by Asare Konadu – A Ghanaian novel about a man following a ritual of being by his dead wife for forty days and nights .

Only joking by Gabriel Josipovici – a clown is hired by a baron to spy jokes lies and art mix into one .

Against nature by Joris -Karl Huysmans – a classic french book follows the dreams and nightmares of a ailing Aristocrat .

Last is the beautifully package ten stories about smoking by Stuart Evers ,he grew up in same town as me is younger thou ,he smokes I smoke this has been compare to Carver in style .

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parrish
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 13:17:17

    If you like Villain, try Natsuo Kirino’s out (if you haven’t already) The Vasquez one sounds interesting, as does the Figueras & the Josipovici tale.

    Reply

  2. Rise
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 13:45:03

    I think your latest acquisitions are winners all! Though I’m most curious about The Anatomy of the Moment by Cercas and the Nostromo-inspired book by Juan Gabriel Vasquez.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 13:47:16

      the anatomy of the moment looks very good ,he did a interview in the guardian this weekend but it dosen’t appear to be online at moment I look when writing up ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. Gavin
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 20:51:52

    I’ve got To The End of the Land, Visitation and Dark Matter on hold at the library and am hoping they get a few more of the long list titles on the shelf. I am also really interested in the list from Three Percent.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 17:28:42

      I like three percent just shame there all small publisher so hard to get I will probably get a couple of that list next time in a big bookshop ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 02:07:18

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of The Museum of Innocence. I really liked it, see http://anzlitlovers.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/the-museum-of-innocence-by-orhan-pamuk/ and I loved Snow!

    Reply

  5. Richard
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 04:32:00

    Stu, I second what Rise says about these almost all looking good! I hope to get my mitts on that Javier Cercas book once it comes down in price, and I have another book by Juan Gabriel Vasquez (Los informantes) winging its way to me at the moment. That Huysmans, both the novel and the cover, is a decadent crack-up, so hopefully this will be the year I finally reread it. Loved it as a “sick” lad!

    Reply

  6. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 07:16:01

    Interesting books you have there. Love the packaging of the stories about smoking.

    Reply

  7. Geosi
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 18:49:02

    I love that book from Orhan Pamuk. I have not read him but I hear he is that good.

    Reply

  8. Petty Witter
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 14:34:02

    Some interesting choices – I especially like the sound of Only Joking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
