AND THE WINNER IS ? PRIZE SEASON ,WHAT WOULD YOUR PRIZE BE

Now it is prize season starting the IFFP LONGLIST first ,the shortly after the Orange longlist and today the Miles Franklin longlist in Australia .This set me thinking what other prize there could be what prize would I give ? Well I had some ideas ,maybe a book MOBO’S or a african booker prize or a world booker .But not sure I always have loads ideas ,so I ask you all what prize would you like to see and judge ?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tom Cunliffe
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 07:54:16

    Having just heard this programme on Radio 4 http://bbc.in/hDL4d2 I’d got for a prize for the stupidest book title including the word “Nazi”. Nazi knitting patterns for example

    Reply

  2. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 08:36:27

    I’d love to judge the Commonwealth writers’ prize. They always seem to have the most interesting combination of books and I love the fact that the books come from all over the world.

    Reply

  3. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 10:52:51

    an African Booker or the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize … or perhaps create my own awards for writers in Ghana or to inspire writers rather.

    Reply

  4. Lisa Hill
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 13:10:55

    The trouble with being a judge is that you have to read a great mountain of books and so for a while you can’t read what you want to read, you have to read as if it were a job.
    And The Powers That Be would never let me judge the Miles Franklin. I’d insist on them honouring the terms of Miles Franklin’s Will, which they have lately been tinkering with to include all kinds of odd things in order to generate more publicity for the prize. There wouldn’t be any genre fiction in *my* shortlists!

    Reply

  5. Kinna
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 09:28:06

    I like the Commonwealth Writers Prize. An African Booker would be nice too, I guess. My problem with prizes is that they fail to capture the best of what is out there sometimes. Oh, my favorite prize is the IMPAC.

    Reply

  6. kimbofo
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 14:26:53

    I’d love to see an international prize for novellas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
