IFFP LONGLIST 2011

Here is the longlist I got one from what I predicted at weekend .

  • Beside the Sea by Veronique Olmi; translated by Adriana Hunter (Peirene Press), French
  • To the End of the Land by David Grossman; translated by Jessica Cohen (Jonathan Cape), Hebrew
  • Red April by Santiago Roncagliolo; translated by Edith Grossmann (Atlantic Books), Spanish
  • Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras; translated by Frank Wynne (Atlantic Books), Spanish
  • The Sickness by Alberto Berrera Tyszka; translated by Margaret Jull Costa (Maclehose Press), Spanish
  • Fame by Daniel Kehlmann; translated by Carol Brown Janeway (Quercus), German
  • The Secret History of Costaguana by Juan Gabriel Vasquez; translated by Anne McLean (Bloomsbury), Spanish
  • Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck; translated by Susan Bernofsky (Portobello Books), German
  • Lovetown by Michal Witkowski; translated by W Martin (Portobello Books), Polish
  • Gargling with Tar by Jachym Topol; translated by David Short (Portobello Books), Czech
  • The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk; translated by Maureen Freely (Faber), Turkish
  • Dark Matter by Juli Zeh; translated by Christine Lo (Harvill Secker), German
  • I Curse the River of Time by Per Petterson; translated by Charlotte Barslund with Per Petterson (Harvill Secker), Norweigan
  • Villain by Shuichi Yoshida; translated by Philip Gabriel (Harvill Secker), Japanese
  • The Journey of Anders Sparrman by Per Wastberg; translated by Tom Geddes (Granta), Swedish

This year’s longlist .from book trust .

well I ve only read two ,some othes I have mentioned on other post .I ve two more hopefully winging there way in the post to me.Hope read some more if time .

What do you make of the list ?

what was your favourite translation last year ?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:43:19

    I have only read two. I enjoyed Red April and loved Beside the Sea. I’ve got my fingers crossed for Beside the Sea, but I hope I can read a few more from this list soon – The Visitation is calling to me very strongly now.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Hill
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 07:18:08

    I admired Beside The Sea, Stu, but given its bleak subject matter, it’s not a book to ‘enjoy’. However I really liked The Museum of Innocence, but I know that Pamuk isn’t everyone’s ‘cup of tea’. See my review http://anzlitlovers.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/the-museum-of-innocence-by-orhan-pamuk/
    I must read I Curse the River of Time, I’ve had it on my shelf ever since it first came out here in Oz.

    Reply

  3. kiss a cloud
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 07:26:30

    I haven’t read any one of them but thank you for the list, Stu. I like keeping lists of translated books for a rainy day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
