It’s a man’s world too

The year of feminist classics is under way with Ana Amy Iris and  Emily at helm their reviews of classic women’s writing this year  .Well here is the rub guys why don’t us male bloggers do a year of big male writers .Those scary male writers people are scared of Mailer ,Bellow ,Hemingway ,Steinbeck ,Self ,O’Brien,Kerouac ,Burroughs,Xaiver Herbert ,Tim Winton and also the two new peirne titles fit the bill as well  .So if any male bloggers want join and sort out a reading list of a month books that be great .There is great manly writing that is getting less read these days so why don’t we promote them  as well !!!

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Jane
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 19:18:16

    Hey Stu! There’s quite a few big scary male writers out there I’d like to tackle, though I’ve already read quite a few on your list🙂 Haven’t tried Burroughs yet! Just wanna say, though, with all due respect, that participation in our Feminist Classics project is not limited to female bloggers OR authors, and I don’t really believe that men’s writing is or should be read only by men, or even that “men’s fiction” and “women’s fiction” should be categorized as such. I think those categories exist for marketing more than they do for anything else. Anyway, would love to hear your thoughts on Burroughs if you do decide to read something of his!

    Reply

  2. Mee
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 19:31:17

    Can a female blogger join the fun? Lol. I’m currently reading East of Eden by Steinbeck. Would be interested to read Of Mice and Men sometime. Been meaning to read Cloudstreet by Tim Winton too.

    Reply

  3. nymeth
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 21:06:13

    The goal of our project is more to read books that question gender than to read only books by/about women – we did include Mill, after all! Plus I don’t want it to come across as a “no boys allowed” club, as we do very much welcome input from male readers and bloggers. What Emily said, pretty much. Which isn’t to say anything against your own project, of course.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 22:19:52

      you don’t come accross as girls only that isn’t the reason it more promote some scary men writers and maybe maleness a bit ,I have commented and like the look of your current book ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. amymckie
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 21:15:09

    Hey men are allowed in our project Stu, as Ana said we did include Mill and Ibsen after all🙂 In fact, I wish we could get more men participants and authors because we need to remember that feminism isn’t only for the ladies – it is for all of us! That said, your project sounds interesting and much more difficult – all of those authors scare me you are right!!

    Reply

  5. LifetimeReader
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 22:15:07

    Brilliant! Of course the above commentators are totally right that to be feminist, a book need not be written by a woman. Nor should feminist books be read only by women. But the idea of reading the particularly “masculine” books together is a terrific joke and I suspect a very fruitful way to approach them. I’m not going to join this year, but I wish you the best of luck.

    Reply

  6. Rise
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 03:14:23

    Stu, just when I was planning on reading more female writers this year! But of the manly writers you mentioned, Bellow is my favorite. I have Kerouac’s ‘On the Road’ and was planning to read it for some time so I may have to take you up on this.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 13:26:47

      Oh on the road sounds great Rise ,I ll pick that I ve a copy and it must be twenty years since I read it and wonder how my feeling will have changed in twenty years ,all the best stu

      Reply

  7. Heather
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 04:20:14

    I’m picturing guys sitting on the end of the weight bench, barbell in one hand and book in the other.

    Reply

  8. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 10:22:10

    I would join if I get the books. So when you are done I would check the books and see which of them I could get.

    Reply

  9. Bina
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 15:52:16

    Heh, uni makes sure I read enough guy books😀 I’m not a Hemingway fan (except for a moveable feast) but I might join you for Kerouac and O’Brien!🙂

    Reply

  10. Richard
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:38:03

    Not sure I’ll have time to join you, Stu, but I kind of like the idea of supporting ANY reading project that doesn’t add another Jane Austen or Brontë sister review to the blogopshere. I mean, c’mon, enough is enough! Have fun drawing up your list…

    Reply

  11. Kinna
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 05:00:52

    I want to read Bellow. Count me in!

    Reply

  12. Tony
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 10:51:03

    No such thing as a scary writer (although I have read some very scary [bad] writing!).

    Reply

  13. Annabel (gaskella)
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 12:03:14

    Looking forward to seeing your choices. I am not ever bothered about author gender, hoping just for great writing. I hope to tackle some Roth(s) some time soon, and have two Hemingways under my belt already – think I’m a fan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
