all good things come to a end

I ll be leaving the blogging world at end of this month I ve done what I want to read books from more than 52 countries and read over a hundred books in a year ,I m losing blog readers so decide to go out on a high rather than carry on so last review will hopefully be 2666 on 31 december  thanks stu

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mel u
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 14:24:37

    I am sorry to see you closing down your blog-I enjoyed your posts and hope you will reopen your blog when the time is right for you

    Reply

  2. The Book Whisperer
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 14:41:31

    What, again?

    Stu, I’ll be sorry to see you go if you do decide to leave us. I really enjoy your posts and have added a fair few books to my wish list from reading your reviews. How do you know you are losing readers? I always read your posts (I subscribe to your blog) but I don’t always get the time to comment. I’d be sad to see you go and I think a lot of others would too.

    My advice – do it for yourself not for others. Do it to keep a record of what you read and your thoughts – you might be glad you did in years to come. Readers will come and go – they do on all blogs – but your record of books is something for you. Think about it, Stu?🙂

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 14:41:34

    This is bad news. I do wish you well and hope you keep talking about books on Twitter. At the very least.

    Reply

  4. Rise
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 14:53:36

    Stu, sorry to hear this. Your blog is one I follow avidly. I may not be commenting as much as I can but your posts are usually starred items in my feed reader so that I can always come back to them.

    Reply

  5. Rise
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 14:58:29

    Stu, I’m sorry to hear this. Your blog is one I follow avidly. Your posts are usually starred items in my feed reader so that I can always come back to them. I appreciate your dedication to world lit in these pages.

    Reply

  6. Kelly
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 15:07:16

    I have really loved reading your blog. The books you read are quite different than what’s reviewed on other blogs. I can honestly say I look forward to your reviews more than probably any other blog. I’m sure you thought a lot about your decision, and wish you all the best for the future🙂

    Reply

  7. reviewsbylola
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 15:11:11

    We’ll be sad to see you go Stu!

    Reply

  8. Kevin Faulkner
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 15:44:52

    Just look upon blogging as an electronic record of what you’re read, Stu. Don’t be disappointed and give up. What were you hoping to achieve?
    I was hitting 80 -100 visits earlier this year and am now down to 40 daily but it doesn’t bother my vanity anymore.

    It’s keeping your hand in writing active that matters, besides look at the appreciative feedback you’ve instantly received. Read The Book Whisperer’s wise words carefully again.

    There are 14 million people currently blogging world-wide, they all change the world just a little in their own modest way. It’s better to blog infrequently and share your insights with others than not at all . But at the end of the day, its your choice Stu.

    Reply

  9. Richard
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 15:46:58

    Since I think about quitting all the time, Stu, I understand your decision–and yet I selfishly hope you’ll reconsider carrying on for a while longer. I enjoy your blog so very much, and it seems like you have a lot of other dedicated readers from my perspective across the pond. In any event, best of luck with whatever you eventually decide. I hope we can stay in touch regardless.

    Reply

  10. JoV
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 16:45:12

    Listen to Book Whisperer and Kevin, Stu, the blog is your e-record of your reading, and you should do it for yourself first before anything else. Do blog now and again, you don’t have to close it down. I have been making notes on great recommendations from your blog and we don’t want to lose you in Read-A-Myth Challenge.

    Hope you change your mind.

    Reply

  11. Emily Jane
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 17:24:11

    Aw, I’ll miss your blog if you go, Stu😦

    Reply

  12. amymckie
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 18:05:49

    So sorry to hear that you will be leaving Stu – I’ll miss you and your blog😦

    Reply

  13. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 19:36:14

    A lot of people read and do not comment. I personally have only about three regular commenters (or even two). But I meet a lot of people who say ‘I have been reading your blog and you doing great’ etc…

    Reply

  14. chasing bawa
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 19:43:02

    I think you’ve got a wonderful blog that introduces readers to a wide variety of books they wouldn’t come across normally (for me anyway!) It’s often difficult for me to comment on blogs every day, and even if I don’t, I still read them. It’ll be sad to see you go, but I hope you won’t shut it down completely and that you will occasionally come back and blog. As everyone says, it’s not about the readers so much as for yourself.

    Reply

  15. Tony
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 21:30:29

    Don’t be too hasty, whatever you do. Whether you decide to continue or not, make sure you keep the blog intact – and keep in touch on Twitter🙂

    Reply

  16. bythefirelight
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 21:53:13

    Sorry to hear it, but I can understand. It does get tiresome to work on the blog and having few readers never helps inspire one. Good luck on future endeavors.

    Reply

  17. pburt
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 23:33:41

    I pop in now and then and I am always glad I do because I find you have a unique voice. But one must do what one must – I just hope that you can find a way to make it work for you so we don’t lose you completely.

    Reply

  18. Heather
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 03:30:13

    i have enjoyed visiting here and reading your reviews. YOu read such an interesting assortment of books, most of which are new to me. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences and thoughts with me. Hope that you will make the occasional post in the future.

    Reply

  19. Damian Grounds
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 07:45:32

    It would be sad to see you go Stu. But do it for you, not because of the amount of people visiting your blog may have gone down.

    Reply

  20. iamamro
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 07:58:15

    Oh dear! Stu, I do hope you’ll reconsider. I’m terrible at leaving comments but I do read and appreciate your posts.

    I hope that you certainly won’t leave twitter too. It’s people like you that make it such a great way to interact.

    You’ve done such a great job on here and built up a great following on Twitter, many of who will miss you terribly.

    Reply

  21. Louise
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 11:30:39

    Don’t go, Stu! Maybe you can make a new goal? I would be sad not to read your blog. It doesn’t have to always be about books, or as often as you’ve done in the past, but just the occasional thought or update. Take care. Please know that we listen when you speak.

    Reply

  22. parrish
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 20:08:58

    Hi Stu, I’m guessing this is a done deal, as you’ve posted on it, but I’m supposing there’s no need to delete “Winstonsdad”, that way if things change, you find a new goal etc. You’ll be ready to go. If this is finito, best of luck, with you’re next aim.
    All the best, Gary.

    Reply

  23. Aarti
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 03:13:36

    Oh, no! I’ll be sorry to see you go, too, Stu. I am sorry you are losing blog readers. I think I have been losing a lot, too, now that I am not writing as often. But I can honestly say that though I rarely comment here, I do find your blog one of the most interesting as you often read and review books I’d never come across myself, and I really value that.

    Reply

  24. Jessica
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 11:41:18

    If you do go then I’d like to thank you for recommending Notes from the Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I asked on twitter if anyone knew of any Russian novels under 300 pages to get for my husband for christmas. I ended up getting the House of the Dead in the end but you pointed me in the right direction and I am sure he’ll love it.

    Reply

  25. maphead
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 05:21:46

    Dude, please don’t go !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
