novella reading weekend

simon over at stuck in books is planning to read novellas over the weekend of 4 and 5th of december .Well I ve decide to join in I ve a number of novellas waiting to be read .

here are some -

Well thats them from top left -

The lover by Margurite Duras ,she was part of the noveau roman movement considered a french classic and was made into a film .

Incidents at the shrine by Ben Okri ,not strictly a novella a coillection of stories but love Okri !

A funny dirty little war by Osvaldo Soriano ,Argentina book set during the Peron era a violent book with a dark humour it says .

Danglin Man by Saul Bellow ,a reread need to put some Bellow on the blog and his debut be a great place to start .

The doctors dilema by George Bernard Shaw a story /play bit lkike bellow need to get Shaw on the blog he is such a important writer and one I think is dwindling in power at moment .

Glory Vladimir Nabokov ,a early book by Nabokov he wrote in Russian originally set just after the Russian revolution ,set in england .

Abba Abba by Anthony Burgess ,a reread belli and Keats meet in rome Burgess imagines the influence Belli may have had if the two meet also includes some of Giuseppe Gioacchino Belli poems translated by Burgess .

Summer book ny Tove Jansson ,I read the winter book this summer so the summert book in winter seems a great idea ,loved the winter book and have simon of inside books to thank as we swapped our seasons .

The Pearl by John Steinbeck a fishermans tale about a man that finds a great pearl but it ends in sorrow .

Words by John Paul Sartre ,set in provincial france Sartre reflects on his childhood .and his fathers death .

Good morning ,midnight by Jean Rhys ,set in the 30′s in Paris ,follows a young women as she seeks independence .

The blind owl by Sadeq Hedayat ,Iranian classic full of symbolism and dreams and a little disjointed .

The Ninth wave by Russell Celyn Jones ,this may be left not sure it is the second part of the Mabinogion series modern retelling of the welsh myth this may be left as want use either this or the new books 3 and 4 for the reading the myth challenge .

Notes from the underground by Fydor Dostoyevesky ,russian classic a book about descending into madness .

Hotel du lac by Antia Brookner ,picked this up on a whim it seemed a unlikely booker winner set in a hotel follows a writer visit to hotel near lake Geneva .

Prater Violet by Christopher Isherwood ,a present from Simon at inside books I love isherwood this follows a man working on a film .

thats it I will hope to read atleast four other the weekend .Any one else joining in ?

do you have a favourite novella ?

 

 

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire (Paperback Reader)
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 14:18:10

    I have read The Lover, Hotel du Lac, The Summer Book and Notes from the Underground; I wouldn’t say that any of them were outstanding favourites.

    I’ll be interested in your thoughts on Good Morning, Midnight; I love Rhys but haven’t read that one yet (have same copy).

    My favourite novellas: The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark, The Loved One by Evelyn Waugh, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel García Márquez, The Visitor by Maeve Brennan and The Blue Fox by Sjón.

    Reply

  2. Iris
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 14:35:08

    Haven’t read any of these (as always), but I will be looking forward to your thoughts. And a novella weekend seems a great idea. I will be busy writing an essay that weekend, otherwise I would’ve joined, I think.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 14:41:42

      It is hope simon does it again I was lucky to be off any way so have time to read and have a lot stacked up to read other than these but these were near the top ,all the best stu

      Reply

  3. Simon (Savidge Reads)
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 16:11:57

    Wow, what a wonderful selection you have chosen Stu. Many that I havent heard of and a few, like Hotel Du Lac, which I have loved.

    As for a favourite novella? I would say The Drivers Seat by Muriel Spark.

    Reply

  4. amymckie
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 20:48:10

    Lots of great books there Stu, especially Okri :) Happy reading!

    Reply

  5. Kinna
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 11:28:54

    I think my favorite novellas are those by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Your list looks really good. Looking forward to your thoughts once you’ve finished.

    Reply

  6. Simon T
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 23:45:11

    Hi Stu – so pleased that you’ll be joining me – one of my pile to read next weekend is actually one of those listed above, but I won’t spoil it for you by identifying which ;-)

    I’m really looking forward to it!

    Reply

  7. novelinsights
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:21:32

    I so wish I had a quiet weekend as I’d definitely join in with this. I haven’t read any of these but I would like to read more Dostoyevsky (have read C&P) and more Steinbeck (Mice/Men, Grapes of Wrath) and actually read rather than watch some Shaw (love Pygmalion). Enjoy your novella weekend!!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:25:39

      Thanks hope simon keeps it as a event I think people love novellas when pushed and 3 or 4 over the weekend is fairly easy if have time I love steinbeck ,the pearl is one I ve not read and recently got at book sale ,all the best stu

      Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,323 other followers

