Getting old a scare and then hope winston my dog

20140726-113007-41407529.jpg
Well it was all going so well then life jumps up and bites you .So as you all know the blog is called after my wonderful dog winston .So Wednesday night I was out in morning and walked winston we got part way into his walk and his back legs stopped working and he fell on his side ,I panicked and just didn’t know what to do luckily after a few minutes coax he got up and we slowly managed to get home and Winston rested .Now I should gone to vets but as I life hand to mouth every month had no money and my dad who usually helps is in the states for a month I had to wait rest him luckily was off thurs so we spent quiet day but he still need to go and do his business outside so he went ok in the morning but in the evening his leg went just as we just got in the house he panicked ran round jumped on sofa trapped said leg and took over an hour to settle .So to yesterday after winston settled on thurs night he didn’t move I left him as I had to work Friday but amanda had managed to get the morning off as we live some distance from our vets and my brother was only free in evening so I got home from work scared panicky about what the vet would say ,he was so subdued since Thursday but he got up just before we Went we took a short walk his leg seemed better , even behaved in the car which he usually hates and in the vets waiting .Do the door opened and my heart worried the vet looked as best he could as my lively winston isn’t the most people friendly dog outside amanda and I he tends to get over excited or grumbly when touched too much by anyone .So vet said he thought it was probably arthritis and a course of tablets may ease symptoms and see how he goes the joy for me as I thought the worst I mean Winston is ten and half I know he is a good age but he has been very healthy before this a broken leg as a pup was caused by himself running into a hole and last year a cyst on the tail have been the only things that apart from usual dogo things he has been to vet for ,he has a tricky tum but I’ve managed that over the years .So if I take a day or two to come back my head is still in a real twist I don’t cope well with winston being ill he means so much to me and he has helped me in the lowest parts of my life in the past .He has always just been there and apart from Amanda is the second most important thing in my heart .In hindsight I feel bad I missed signs that this was creeping up on him the slow walks upstairs the occasional lie and roll In the grass which he has done always but more in recent month may have been more for the arthritis than for fun as they used to be .Anyway sorry to bore you with my life details but there you go
Ps I do have insurance on winston but I need to pay and then claim back which in hindsight as well maybe was best plan to go with

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 10:57:42

    That’s sad to hear, Stu. Hope Winston’s feeling better soon…

    Reply

  2. sakura
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 11:25:43

    Hope the tablets work and Winston gets better soon.

    Reply

  3. jacquiwine
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 11:34:18

    I’m very sorry to hear this, Stu – very distressing and stressful for you all. I hope Winston’s condition improves soon. Wishing you all the best.

    Reply

  4. Mel u
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 11:34:19

    Hope so much Winston is better.

    Reply

  5. heavenali
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 11:48:39

    Oh poor old Winston. So glad it was nothing too serious and he is getting treatment he needs. I’m not surprised that you felt stressed and worrried. Hope you have a good weekend.

    Reply

  6. Lisa Hill
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 12:08:43

    Well, we love our dogs and it’s not easy when they are unwell because they can’t tell us what’s wrong. They look at us with those great trusting eyes, expecting us to fix whatever is wrong.
    Thank goodness for vets!

    Reply

  7. Caroline
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 12:42:46

    Oh so sad. I know how you feel. Had an emergency vet situation two weeks ago. It’s dreadful. I had a big dog once and they are prone to that type of illness when they get older. Luckily your vet found meds. I wish that he’ll be better soon. And that you’re OK as well.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jul 26, 2014 @ 12:44:22

      Thanks Caroline yes in hindsight should noticed a bit more before it got so bad but he is a big strong dog and they tend to hide pain til it is bad thanks

      Reply

  8. Max Cairnduff
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 13:18:15

    Every best wishes to you and Winston Stu. I’ve had pets most of my life, and they become part of us don’t they? I hope Winston has many years yet. He’s a lucky dog, he lives among people who love him, which is as much as any of us can sensibly wish for and in the end all that really matters.

    Reply

  9. Martha
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 13:34:56

    Good old Winston. It’s not easy growing old. I hope the tablets help ease his pain.

    Reply

  10. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 14:23:36

    I can understand how you feel Stu – we had a Westie called Hamish when I was growing up, lived till 17, but the health scares were so upsetting. You get so attached to dogs, they’re like a part of the family. Glad it seems to be something easily treatable and hope you and Winston have a nice relaxing weekend bonding together!

    Reply

  11. The Resurgent Bookworm
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 14:42:10

    Hope he starts feeling better soon – my best wishes for that. We had a similar scare this year with our dalmatian when his legs suddenly started trembling – vet diagnosed it as an allergic reaction to insect bite and gave him a course of steroids. Luckily he got better but the withdrawal of the steroids made him severely depressed and dull for several days. Anyway hope Winston gets well !

    Reply

  12. heatherdpear
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 14:55:51

    so sorry to hear this. Do some online research for doggie arthritis and see if there are any supplements or herbals that are helpful. I have no idea myself, but a friend of mine swears by herbals for her large pack.

    Reply

  13. Maryom
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 18:00:41

    Glad there’s something they can give him for now. Maybe he’ll need one of those sets of wheels later? A friends’ dog had them and still scampered round the park quite quickly.

    Reply

  14. Brian Joseph
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 18:32:51

    I totally understand Stu as I feel the same way about animals.

    I hope that Winston feels better soon. He clearly has an owner who will take good care of him.

    Reply

  15. Emma
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 20:29:08

    Sorry to hear that Stu. I hope Winston will get better soon.

    Reply

  16. Louise Strecker
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 20:58:31

    I know what you mean! My cat is seventeen and has a bit of arthritis. Our vet recommended some chews (chewable tablets) that help her joints. They have definitely helped. You can hardly notice her limp now. But age has slowed her down. Winston would likely get arthritis in the leg he broke years ago. Makes sense. So glad it’s not something worse!
    It’s heartbreaking to realize we will inevitably lose a beloved pet. I keep reminding myself that it’s my job to help keep my cat comfortable to the end.

    Reply

  17. Bellezza
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 00:10:43

    Oh, dear Stu…my love to Winston and you. I know how much you love him and how much he loves you. Sometimes, it is hard to love this deeply.

    Reply

  18. rochka57
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 00:33:20

    Sick dogs are one of the hardest things to deal with :( You don’t know what’s hurting them or how they’re feeling because they can’t tell you. I’m glad Winston seems to be feeling better. Just remember that every moment you have with him is a moment to cherish. He is so lucky to have 2 people in his life who love is like you and Amanda do! Sending good thoughts to guys.

    Reply

  19. Violet
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 04:28:15

    Sorry to hear about Winston, Stu. It’s so hard when animals get older. I hope the tablets relieve his discomfort. Take care. xo

    Reply

  20. sharkell
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 07:25:27

    Hope Winston gets better soon. A bit of TLC, which you obviously provide, goes a long way…

    Reply

  21. MarinaSofia
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 12:01:28

    Oooh, sorry to hear that. Wishing you and Winston the very, very best.

    Reply

  22. Richard
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 19:53:04

    Stu, sorry to hear about your scare! Hope both he and you and your wife all feel better/less worried soon. All best!

    Reply

  23. naomifrisby
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 07:36:47

    Sorry to hear this, Stu. Hope the tablets ease his pain (and yours).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,838 other followers

