That was the month that was Jan 2014

20140202-142508.jpg

Well I got 2014 off with a bang I managed to review 19 books on the blog which is the most I have acheived for a couple of years  and I  have read 16 books also my best ever start for a year .So I decide it is about time I brought back the month end round up posts  .A great start here is what I read in January -

  1. the art and craft of approaching your head of department to submit a request for a raise by Georges Perec france
  2. The confusion of young Törless by Robert Musil Austria
  3. Naomi by Jun’ichirō Tanizaki Japan
  4. Pietr the Latvian by Georges Simenon Belgian
  5. Miruna ,a tale by  Bogdan Suceavă Romanian
  6. The restaurant of love regained by Ito Ogawa Japan
  7. Zenith Hotel by Oscar Coop – Phane france (review in march )
  8. The people in the photo by Helene Gestern france (review in feb)
  9. The lonely hearts club by Raul Nunez argentina
  10. The last day of a condemned man by Victor Hugo France
  11. Botchan by Natsume Soseki Japan
  12. The space between us by Zoya Pipzad Iran
  13. The infatuations  by Javier Marias spain
  14. The castle of whispers by Carole Martinez France
  15. The front seat passenger by Pascal Garnier france
  16. Crumbs by Miha Mazzini  Slovenia

As you see a real mix but with French novels and Japanese to the fore .I think the real gem of the month is Zenith Hotel a book that comes out in march but one that I read and instantly called the best book I had read for a long time .I enjoyed taking part in Tony’s January in Japan event again .

Books read 2014 to date – 16

Countries read from – 9

Next month – Well Pushkin press fortnight is at the end of the month I have a couple I read last year to review for that and also halfway through a couple on my kindle .I’ve a new French crime series to start .

What were your highlights for January ?

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 15:08:15

    Some great books there Stu. My book of January is probably Life: A User’s Manual by Georges Perec.

    Reply

  2. Madame Vauquer
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 15:49:42

    My January highlight has to be Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. It totally blew me away. Next was an oldie, Chesterton’s The Man Who Was Thursday which was also rather mind-boggling, lol.

    Reply

  3. WordsAndPeace
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 22:42:16

    wow, 16 books is great, but 19 reviewed is pure awesome according to my standards! I struggle a lot to find time to review, though taking now lots of notes as I read help.
    And with these French books, you might be interested in joining my reading challenge, you can sign in any time [here: http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/12/08/books-on-france-2014-reading-challenge/%5D and or my Books on France weekly meme – a new post with the link will be posted tomorrow actually – http://wordsandpeace.com/category/i-love-france-2/%5D

    Reply

  4. Guy Savage
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 01:32:27

    A great start to the year, Stu…

    Reply

  5. kissacloud
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 03:16:32

    That’s amazing, Stu! And it seems like most of the ones you read are really good ones. I only read one book in January! Keep it up!

    Reply

  6. Lisa Hill
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 07:58:31

    Wow, well done Stu, I can’t keep up!

    Reply

  7. BookerTalk
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 08:25:03

    Your one month equates to about three of mine :). I’ll have to add some of these to my wish list.

    Reply

  8. MarinaSofia
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 08:57:28

    An amazing start to the year, Stu – hope you manage to keep up the good work!

    Reply

  9. acommonreaderuk
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 07:55:09

    Hi Stu. I apologise for my absence for the last few months but this charity website I’ve been building has taken up 95% of my computer time.

    You have done incredibly well to read so many books in January. Particularly when some of them have been so challenging. Without any doubt my highlight was Tim Pears’ new book In the Light of the Morning but I also enjoyed Pushkin Press Barcelona Shadows by Marc Pastor.

    Reply

  10. farmlanebooks
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 14:41:12

    What a fantastic selection of books! I look forward to Pushkin fortnight :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,934 other followers

