Thomas Bernhard in Person

Well in the run up to Thomas Bernhard week I decide to watch a couple of things on You tube .I always love to place and see the writer as a person .So with my basic schoolboy German I watch these .First is a documentary with Bernhard talking about why he writes .

The next piece was a staging of Letter Bernhard had written over the years to his German Publisher Siegfried Unseld .I beleive these are in process of being translated into in english .

The German paper Die Zeit had this to say about this book

 

»Great cinema, a publisher and his pugnacious author write one another. And themselves. Correspondence as Fight Club.« Florian Illies, Die Zeit

20130529-164953.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brian Joseph
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 14:30:09

    I have not read Thomas Bernhard but I really want to. He sounds like someone whose work I would enjoy. I understand that he is a bit controversial at least in Austria. I look forward to your upcoming commentary Stu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,837 other followers

